We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern boutique hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The District Boracay
Ranked #7 of 152 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The staff was extremely hospitable and the location was great. I was surprised to see signs of wear and tear in the rooms considering it is still a new hotel. There are some minor construction flaws in the rooms (ie shower floors not properly pitched to drain, bathroom door hinges not secured properly, terrace doors do not lock, etc) that would make me think twice about staying here again as the property ages further. Not a big deal, but just an indication that some construction and design elements were rushed and not well thought out.
We really enjoyed the pool and the complimentary breakfast was nice. We celebrated a friend's birthday during our stay and the hotel generously surprised him with a group song and mini cake. The only other minor comment I have was they claimed we broke a shirt hanger and wanted to charge us for it upon check out. We absolutely did not break it and they finally agreed not to bill us but it did leave us feeling a bit insulted.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank photobean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

675 - 681 of 784 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is on it's soft opening. My husband and i loved the location. The staff were all friendly and nice. We got the deluxe room on the 2nd floor. It's nice and got it's own balcony. They have racks where u can hang your wet swimsuits to dry. Their turnaround service was nice too and left us a nice "sweet dreams" note and treats. The room has a mini fridge that they convert as a mini bar upon request. The shower is nice. They replenish bottled waters everyday. The bed is comfy. They give u lots of pillows and comfy blankets. The toiletries included an insect repelant which is a nice addition.

The hotel is situated right by the beach and you can really enjoy rhe beach anytime of the day. They provide towels for your comfort and they have a tent if u wanna lounge on a shady part of the beach. They transform the tent to a restaurant at around 5pm everyday so guests can also enjoy dining by the beach at night. They have a restaurant on site as well.

They serve buffet breakfast however, the staff still doesn't know or maybe weren't properly trained to take orders. They are very timid! Anyway, they don't know how eggs are done and may confuse people. A server told us they can only do eggs sunny side up and scrambled. So we just chose sunny side up. She then came back asking us if we wanted it runny or well done. My husband wanted his eggs a bit done and mine would be runny. The eggs were served and they were over hard and over medium. I know it's not a big deal but there are differences on how eggs are cooked. Again, just another case of lack of training for their staff. It seems to be a problem anywhere you go in the island. The staff were all courteous and friendly.

I like the little notes and treats they leave on the bedside table during their turnaround service. I think that's a really nice touch.

I have a safety concern though about the hotel. Although, there's an elevator, you can't really use it when u came from the pool or beach and still dripping wet. Their staircases don't have rails or bars. The floors can really get slippery. When they mop the floor, they don't put any wet floor signs. It may be a given that the floors get wet most of the time but putting safety signs may prevent any accidents in the future. Some people can be really careless. The rails are a big thing to be installed. It should be mandatory.

The check out was smooth. No problem at all. Overall, i find the place really beautiful. It's on a very nice location. We are considering to stay here again if ever we'll go back to the island of Boracay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayveecakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

in the middle of white beach... very close to d'mall. We stayed in a premier suite. It has a 2nd level for the bedroom.. I am not comfortable with going up some stairs when you are sleepy.. :).. white beach just in front of the hotel... Loved the experience... will definitely stay here again...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyminodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I checked in to hear for Halloween. The place was real sleek looking everything was brand new. I wish the angled the rooms to face the beach better but other than that it was alright. If you are a tourist this place is perfect because its in the middle of the island. Close to D Mall and Epic and all the clubs but not too far down.

Only thing that sucks that its in the crowded part of the beach. Like i said, if you are a tourists and want to be in the middle of the action, this is the place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pingpongpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed in one of Boracay's newest beachfront resort last July. Got a huge discount. Stayed for 3D/2N. Nice rooms, spacious and clean. We got the second floor room overlooking the pool. Loved the toiletries and the novelty of using coconut scented shampoo, soap etc. appreciated the insect repellent too. Hotel personnel were very accommodating and gracious. Had fun swimming in the pool. Unfortunately we got a room with a connecting door and our next door neighbors were not very quiet ones. The connecting door had a slight clearance, and since the floor was not carpeted, the noise and alarm clock woke me up very early in the morning when I wanted to just sleep. Other than that our stay was very relaxing. the hotel had a very convenient location, and food in their italian restaurant was great albeit pricey.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petunia415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Though construction was still on-going on the other end of our hotel room, service and food were still beyond our expectations. It was obvious that all the staff were well-trained: eye contact with the guest, welcome gesture and a smile on their faces. The welcome drink was so addictive that my husband and I asked for a refill (and no, we were not thirsty). It was a refreshing combination of pandan and calamansi!

Every night, we also received desserts from them. I guess that's also their way of checking if we're enjoying our stay since they're just a new hotel.

Their swimming pools were also clean and not as crowded as the other station 2 resorts. It was also manned by a staff who ensured we had towels and also check on us once in a while.

Our daily breakfast was served in the room with a glass of juice and a cup of warm coffee. Their garlic rice, tapa, longganisa and fresh mangoes compensated for the not-so exceptional drinks.

A few steps from their lobby and you can see the beautiful and clear water of the beach. At night, they set up tents to serve as extension to their fine-dining Italian restaurant, Caruso. We will stay again perhaps after they complete the construction activities.

Room Tip: Ask the reception to give you a room far from the construction activities (like our room which was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The District Boracay is situated right smack in the heart of White Beach, a stone's throw away from D'Mall at Station 2. Certainly the location is an advantage as it puts you very close to a lot of the eating places as well as bars and nightlife that Boracay is famous for. The hotel itself is fairly new and has been nicely designed. It is to my recollection the only hotel I've come across in White Beach that has an airconditioned lobby/reception area. They have a seating area above the lobby where you can sit and watch the sunset though to be honest, their beachfront area itself offers a better view without the airconditioning of course.

My family and I were placed in room 412, which faces west and offers a view of the pool area and a sliver of the beachfront. The room itself had a modern design and the usual amenities such as a flat screen TV and minibar, which was empty though. The wash basin was actually in the room and there were separate shower and toilet stalls. There were two split type airconditioning units and blackout curtains to keep the heat of the afternoon sun at bay. For some reason, there was no in room safe though the hotel made it clear that they were on a soft opening as at the time of our stay so could be among those fixtures that will be added later. The water pressure was rather weak, particularly when you increased the hot water flow. WiFi was available throughout the hotel reaching upto the beach area directly in front of the hotel. Access was via a coupon system you get when you check-in and multiple devices (upto 3 worked in our case) were allowed to use the same access code.

Service was polite but still needs to be improved. They appeared to have a campaign to have staff greet guests while placing their hands to their hearts. I noticed though that some did this while others did not. While the hotel was understandably busy and appeared to be fully booked during our stay, somehow the insistence and constant reminders on the check-in and check-out times does not give guests the relaxing vibe or atmosphere I am sure most people going to Boracay are seeking in the first place. I was (and am sure most seasoned travellers are too) well aware of this info and I just think the situation could be handled better by the reception staff.

The food at the Carusso Restaurant was a mixed bag. Dinner was Italian food (pasta and salad) while for breakfast they served American, Filipino and Italian meal sets. The pasta was okay but the breakfast dishes we had were really nothing special. Particularly for the price, there was certainly better value elsewhere.

Overall I'd consider staying at The District again. It is a good mid-range option in an excellent
location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RRGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.9 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Discovery Shores Boracay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#4 of 152 in Boracay
790 reviews
0.8 mi away
Astoria Current
Astoria Current
#2 of 152 in Boracay
679 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#22 of 152 in Boracay
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The District Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The District Boracay

Address: Station 2, Balabag, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 152 Hotels in Boracay
Price Range: $164 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The District Boracay 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The District Boracay is a boutique beachfront resort located at the center of Boracay island’s Station 2 that offers 48 rooms, a Filipino-Asian restaurant, a lap pool, a conference room, a bar and events roof deck, gym, spa, beach loungers, and its own brand of personalized service. It is the only resort in the island that offers guests the option to enjoy either breakfast or brunch buffet – as part of the standard rates. It is a consistent recipient of (TripAdvisor) Traveller's Choice Award, a recognition it first received on its second year (2014) of operation up to the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The District Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing