We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!”
Review of Argonauta Boracay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Argonauta Boracay
Ranked #26 of 148 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This hotel is the perfect choice if you are looking for something other than the white beach party scene. We flew into Kalibo and were greeted with a van just for us that took us across the island to a boat where Raymond was waiting to show us the rest of the way to the hotel. It was completely stress free compared to other travelers around us that had to figure it out for themselves.
When we finally got to the hotel, it was perfect. The staff is awesome to say the least. Their goal was to make us comfortable in any way they could. Paul even set up a Pastor to come to the hotel for my wife and I to renew our vows. The setting is perfect for a getaway. Quiet, peacefull, beautiful. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and they all offer uniqueness. I don't think there is a bad choice o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeffTarabochia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 254 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

My wife and two girls (5 and 8) stayed at Argonauta for 3 nights and 4 days. It was great from the beginning. I was having difficult time booking flights from Manila to Caticlan and Paul stepped in and booked it, paid for it, and sent me flight information. Paul and his staff were top notch! They were extremely friendly and cordial throughout the entire stay. They provided beach toys, restaurant recommendations, daily activity set up, and pickup/drop off to beaches. The room was nice and quite, had large bathroom. Views from the resort is absolutely amazing and there is a small beach, secluded beach you can access but the path to it is a little scary at first since you go through undeveloped sections. Couple of things we didn't like about the place was the detached/distant swimming pools. Not too accessible for kids and required some hiking on steep stairs. The food quality for lunch and dinner can improve and need more variety. All in all, extremely friendly, great place for large family since they have 2 ~ 3 bedroom villas. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice and quite resort!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for water view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

It is first important to note that The Argonauta is NOT a beach front resort, and is in fact a 10-15 minute ride to either of the popular beaches. What this place offers is a quiet hideaway, hidden in a small village located in the higher-end, mountainous region of the island, away from the bustle of White Beach. Yet the shopping & beach destinations are only a short car ride away, and they will arrange transportation there day and night. Getting back to the villa requires catching a tricycle ride (24/7) that will run only 100-150 PHP. Total travel time from the airport to the Argonauta is about 45 minutes. Those looking for an oceanfront stay right on White Beach or Bulabog Beach should look elsewhere. That being said:
Our first family trip to Boracay was a great success by and large due to Paul Henares and the professional staff at The Argonauta. We opted for the larger, two-story, 3 bedroom villa to accommodate our group. The guest house was tastefully appointed with modern electronics and high-end bathroom and kitchen fixtures. One full bathroom for each bedroom! The common areas & spacious bedrooms all offered large picture windows (The master and 2nd bedroom had sliding doors & a private terrace) to take in the beautiful ocean view that was made possible by the villa's high vantage point on the mountaintop. Also accessible was a large, private rooftop that offered the most impressive view off all.
As for the staff, they were genuinely warm & friendly and were quick to respond to virtually any request with efficiency and discretion. We soon felt at home due to the privacy and comfort that this attractive facility provided. Paul himself was a kind gentleman, and made us feel welcome and assured that the he & the friendly people of The Argonauta were there for us, and they were. Breakfast each morning in their small cafe was solid and was served and presented with a personal touch, adding to the effect of being at home while away on holiday.
One of the best features of all: When compared to current rates for a stay at an equally luxurious resort in The United States, the value just can't be beat at The Argonauta.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Argonauta is a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle. I went with friends for a quick weekend get-away from Manila to relax and recharge. The resort and its staff were excellent, the accommodations, food, ambiance and service were all excellent.

The rooms are spacious with a warm and homey feel. It's a quick ride via the resort shuttle over to the main white beach, so we found it convenient to lounge in the resort when feeling lazy and quickly hop over to white beach for the more traditional Boracay experience.

If anything could be improved, it was the location which is some distance from the main beach. But for families or long-staying tourists who are not bent on spending a lot of time on the main white beach, the location would be perfect.

Kudos to Paul, Raymond, Mary Gay and rest of the staff for the warm hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tintin_suarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Paul and his staff are awesome.We booked a trip over the Chinese New Year and it was also my birthday and it was great.Paul and his staff also had a cake made for me .My family two adults and two teenage sons stayed in the three bedroom villa(Villa 12) and it was beautiful with beautiful views.Paul and his staff arranged for transportation to and from the Kalibo airport for us and also we had transporation to the white beach area just about anytime during the day and just a 10 minute drive.We had access to the Balinghai beach and they also serve food .Breakfast is very good .Very comfortable and home like setting and also had internet.If you ever need anything or have a question the staff are willing to help or answer your question.If you love a very quite and relaxing place to stay this is it or if you stay on white beach area the clubs and bars do not close until 7 a.m.We will definately be back to Boracay and we will stay at Argonauta again.

Room Tip: If you don't mind climbing up and down stairs.Rooms have A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here two weeks over Christmas and New Year 2011 and loved it. Our room was large, homely and very comfortable and quiet, with a large balcony. Every morning we would make the short walk down to Balinghai beach for a swim before breakfast overlooking to ocean. The location is a 10 min ride from downtown but free shuttle bus is provided 24/7. We loved being outside the hustle and bustle of downtown.

Another main reason this place deserves full 5 stars is the management and the staff. Paul and Steff are wonderful hosts. They really made us feel at home and were very helpful with recommendations and advice. What is more, for Christmas eve, they invited all guests to join them for a party where they supplied an entire roast pig, according to local custom. What a wonderful gesture!

I could go on, we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We had room 1 facing east (into the surrounding garden), so although we had no ocean view, we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BebedainRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My family of 2 adults and 2 kids (6, 2) stayed at the Argonauta for 6 nights over Christmas 2011. We had a fantastic time! This hotel marries the best of a bed and breakfast with a boutique hotel. The staff is very helpful and happy, the grounds are beautiful and safe, and Paul and Stephanie are amazing hosts. The free breakfast is delicious. We joined our friends, 2 other families, and really enjoyed having the common areas to share. The dining area is large and homely. Joined with the covered patio, and rooftop patio, the common areas were perfect for adults to congregate while kids played near by. We stayed in the Premium room one night, which was very spacious and has a superb balcony with ocean view. The remainder of time we stayed in Apt 8. Getting up and down the stairs with a 2 year old was tough, but helped me burn off the extra calories from all the great food. The apt. is awesome. We cooked with everything we needed on hand. We were also able to use the common kitchen. If you are traveling with friends, it is great to have them take the adjacent Apt 7 as you can all get together on the large balconies. The shuttle is always ready when you want an excursion. Argonauta organized a superb picnic on Private Puka Beach, and helped us gather everything for a memorable sunset grill on the rooftop patio. We had a fun time taking the buggies around the island. We enjoyed the pool, and we walked down to the little Argonauta beach which is quaint and adventurous. We took the shuttle to White Beach for a couple days where it is easy to find lounge chairs and shade for a reasonable amount of food and drinks. Argonauta is a great place to stay if you want a varied vacation that lets you tuk tuk passed all the White Beach mayhem, enjoy serene sunsets on a cliffside hotel with friends and family, enjoy dinner in or take out, and have access to great local knowledge about activities which you can conveniently add to your itinerary. Best wishes to everyone at Argonauta! Thanks for a memorable Christmas 2011.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tania E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.3 mi away
Nami Resort
Nami Resort
#39 of 148 in Boracay
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artista Beach Villas
Artista Beach Villas
#60 of 148 in Boracay
224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Savoy Hotel Boracay Newcoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#11 of 148 in Boracay
821 reviews
0.8 mi away
Discovery Shores Boracay
0.7 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#2 of 148 in Boracay
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonauta Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonauta Boracay

Address: 272 Balinghai Road | Hagdan, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 148 Hotels in Boracay
Price Range: $106 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Argonauta Boracay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argonauta Boracay is an extraordinary place to experience the best of both worlds in scenic Boracay Island. It is a quiet and private boutique hotel in a tropical garden, where guests can enjoy the serenity of nature just a short ride from the world-famous White Beach of the Philippines’ premier tourist destination. Our hillside location overlooks the quiet Punta Bunga Bay to the West and offers you magnificent ocean views, colorful sunsets and starlit night skies from the privacy of a personal veranda, roof deck or garden, ideal for any memorable occasion. Our comfortable hotel rooms, modern apartments and villas are suitable for couples, families or groups. Our personalized service can arrange for private catered getaways, sunset cruises, boat trips, diving or kite boarding lessons and equipment. If there is any other activity you may pleasure, we will seek to arrange those for you. Argonauta Boracay offers a variety of accommodations and settings for every need: Rooms in the main villa with several verandas and gardens Apartments with 2 bedrooms, lounge, kitchen area, veranda and roof deck. Villas with 3 bedrooms, lounge, kitchen, veranda, garden and roof deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Argonauta Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing