We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, but basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boracay Huts Beach Resort
Ranked #130 of 227 Boracay B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have to admit to being pretty disappointed when we arrived at Angol Point. The original hut we were given was dark, damp and falling apart. Luckily, we were moved to one at the front of the property which, although also pretty run down, has the beach right in front of it. The location is great if you want to avoid the hussle of Station 2. And the staff were very polite and cleaned the hut every day.
Overall, it is a pretty unique type of accommodation (compared to what we noticed around the island) and it was quiet. Maybe just a little overpriced.
(More disappointing was the state of 'White' Beach - full of green algae/seaweed. I can only hope it was seasonal)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank DrMarc034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 31 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

As it was said in the previous reviews, the territory of the hotel is wide. The half of it is smarten up. The second half is a typical Philippine house, unorganized, with some outbuildings like a chicken cube and debris. These two halves are not separated from each other, so you feel being in a Philippine village. There is a lawn in front of guest bungalows and several cute dogs feel free to walk there what is lovely. But the dogs are also free to leave their poo on the lawn what is much less attractive.

The bungalows look good from the distance. Thatched roof, big veranda with a hammock and a couple of cane chairs. But the closer you come the more obvious become the signs of degradation.

The inside is a total disaster. The room is big but dark and dusty, with black stains on the walls, possibly from leaks (I had no will to explore the origin of those stains). A rusted fan on a dusty stand. The mattress on the bed is thin, not springy, and I could fill a bed base with my every move. What was on the top of the mattress I cannot call a bed sheet, because it was a bed sheet many years ago, but now it is a threadbare piece of fabric which exposes the mattress more than covers it.

The bathroom is small and gloomy, with old stained basin and bowl. Small dirty window. Electrical water heater on the cracked wall. No place to put a toothbrush or a shower gel. But I would not dare to leave my toothbrush there, I was even afraid to touch anything, because all looked filthy. And one more, the door to the bathroom did not close.

This hotel might be a lovely place to stay because of the quiet wide beachfront location, but only after a total renovation. It is unfair to charge 3000 php per night for the accommodation in its current state (and it is a room only, they do not provide breakfast only a cup of tea or coffee in the morning). It is also misleading as makes to assume that the hotel is in a good condition when in reality it is fully rundown.

I could not stay there and we checked out after few hours. During these hours we walked along the Station 3 beachfront hotels and found much more comfortable and better equipped accommodations for a smaller price. Finally we moved to nearby Marzon Beach Resort to a fantastic room with breakfast included for only 3800 php per night.

We also had to pay for the whole booked period, as the owner said "it does not matter that the hotel is not fully booked, we kept a room for you". It was the last point of our unpleasant experience with Angol Point Beach Resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Naulana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our staying in Angol Point Beach resort was full of positive impressions. Great location, each hut has huge terrace overlooking the sea. Very friendly stuff and the owner who is always ready to help you with anything. Our daughter has asma, and our nebulizer did not work with Phillipinean electricity. But the owner let us use the one, which he bought for the kids of his stuff.
Rooms are very simple, but we had great retreat from civilization. If you are not looking for Shangli-la style vacation, Angol point could be good choice. The coconut tree forest which surrounds hut is wonderful. Everynight bat-fox visited us and eat fruits. Great eco experience! Rooms and furniture a bit dated, but it was OK for us. So, great people, nice view and location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Игорь К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

we stayed a total of 5 nights at Angol in November 2011 and were very satisfied of our stay..Arriving in boracay, we soon noticed that not a lot of hotels (even the top end) have actual see view or offer a lot of space..Most of them are not really wide at the beach path (are cramped onto one another), but are rather build in the back, set away from the sea..Angol is completely the opposite as it the grounds are almost 60 meters wide and has an absolutely lovely garden filled with coconut trees. 8 cottages are on the grounds, all with (at least partial) sea view, and all with a lot of space..Our outside terrace area was absolutely huge with a hangmat, 2 relax chairs and 2 normal chairs and a table (where free coffee/tea is served in the morning). Here you can relax and unwind, even let a rainy day (like we had one) pass by enjoyning a good book. also inside the bungalow we had a lot of space to hang our clothes, the bed was nice and the (stone) bathroom was very decent. and all this for just PHP 1500 a night! so why does not everybody come here than? there are offocurse some reasons :
inside the room don't expect anyhing in terms of amenities : there's no tv, safe, airco and not even hot water
parts of the room were,well, dirty..our fan had probably been there since the beginning and was never cleaned and our curtains had a lot of stains on them.. this probabky offsets some people who come to check out the rooms, but we didn't mind as the bed and the bedlinnen were really clean..
We do feel that with just a little work the (unbelievably sympathic) owner could pimp these bungalows up and charge the double of what they do right now..
But in the meantime just come here to enjoy the tranquility of station 3 (note that you are a good 25-30 min walk away from the centre of the action at station 2 which is however 'infested' by chinese/korean buffet style restaurants) and enjoy the beautiful gardens and sunsets out front !

Room Tip: i think all rooms are equally ok..as they are all set around the garden and offer view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michalinho13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I'm a frequent visitor to Boracay, I've stayed at this beautiful beachfront place again and again.
Just only 8 native style cottages are set in a large tropical garden with coconut trees. From the
big veranda which is a stone throw from the shoreline one can enjoy the fresh see breeze and the stunning views of Boracay's beach. As it is an Ecotourism resort, there is no air-con and no Tv in the cottages.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BertCNX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This guesthouse offers more than comfort and a great bang for your buck. The manager, a friendly native, lived in the States for 15 years and thus has perfect English. His bungalows are some of the closest, if not the closest ,to the beach and offer an eco-friendly environment. Yes, this means as no air-conditioning or hot water. Now, I may be a picky traveler at times and probably would have immediately ruled this place out based on these factors alone while pre-departure browsing, BUT I'm so glad that I didn't. We stepped into the bungalow with a view of only beach and ocean, coupled with a great price, and were sold. The lack of airconditioning is of little importance as the temperatures drop at night (remember we were even there during the warmest time) and I often found myself cuddled under the blanket. The cold water showers are quite refreshing after a long day of beach and diving. Furthermore, the rooms are so spacious, equipped with an outdoor eating area and a hammock. In the mornings you are served coffee or tea and they greet you with a fresh coconut upon arrival. Beach chairs are free. The location is ideal. You're away from the noise of station 2 and in walking distance of the rest of White Beach. And if you're a dog lover, you'll never be able to say "no" to the place. If I returned to Boracay, I would DEFINITELY return to Angol Point.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

i have nothing but good things to say about this guest house. considering that their was such little information online about the guest house, i felt almost obligated to sign up with tripadvisor so that i could write up a review. my girlfriend and i stayed at the "eco-friendly" guest house for a total of five nights. the owner of the guest house lived in america for approximately 10 years and speaks fantastic english. anything you need, he will get it for you in a heartbeat. all rooms have free wireless internet, clean beds made every day, a bathroom (it is eco-friendly, so cold water only), a hammock and table with two chairs on the porch, and receive free coffee/tea every morning. we stayed in guest house #1 which has a fantastic view looking overlooking the beach that is quiet and very peaceful (no major bars are located nearby). the owner also has several dogs/puppies which are very friendly as well as some other farm animals on his piece of land. i would highly recommend anyone to stay here. best decision we made while in boracay.

Room Tip: i do not have any tips from staying at this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.2 mi away
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
#12 of 148 in Boracay
869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#45 of 148 in Boracay
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boracay Pito Huts
Boracay Pito Huts
#13 of 177 in Boracay
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Pilar Beach Resort
Casa Pilar Beach Resort
#25 of 177 in Boracay
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
CocoLoco Boracay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boracay Huts Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boracay Huts Beach Resort

Address: | Beachfront Station 3 Ambulong, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines (Formerly Angol Point Beach Resort by Sheridan Villas)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Boracay
Price Range: $32 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Boracay Huts Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Boracay Huts Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing