We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unique experience to be had”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spider House Resort
Ranked #44 of 147 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“unique experience to be had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Getting to the spider house & the entrance gives away that this is going to be a unique experience! Tucked at the end of Diniwid Beach, it is still only a cheap short ride by trike back to the hustle and bustle of station 2 or about a 30 minute walk along the pristine White Beach, no matter what the tide.... Staying at the Spider House was a perfect experience for both myself and 3 children (ranging in age from 26 - 17)...Sleeping without windows & being lulled to sleep by the water that laps beneath the cafe/bar is perfect. Mosquito nets and in-room fans are a perfect combination. Each room is very unique & sunset on the deck is a must. I gave the swimming pool the full 5 star rating as all you have to do is climb down the stairs from the cafe/bar or jump in if the tide is high straight into the ocean - can't imagine a better pool to be honest! Staying at the Spider House felt like being welcomed into someones home. We spent 8 blissful days there. Thank you to Paul, JR, Carol, Carlo, Wid & the other staff that made our stay so enjoyable & also for welcoming the additional 50 guests we brought in for an amazing feast one night(pre arranged of course)

Room Tip: I saw 4 different styles of rooms - suite(mine) sunset room - truly unique for a couple, room 1 &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandi1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    113
    41
    38
    26
See reviews for
45
221
39
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We really like that the entrance gave a really adventurous feeling- just like a pirate cave hole. Upon our arrival we got a complimentary drink each (with alcohol options). The room that we stayed in was one of three superior suites with a built in shower room and a kitchen area. Our view was the peak of the resort. I looked over the ocean and water. At the main restaurant, it was a very chilled spot. We even asked 8 of our friends that were staying in high class Boracay resorts to visit us and they loved Spiderhouse! They even tried something that I dared not to.... dove into the ocean on the dock! Overall, the staff were very friendly- from the front desk to the F&B department to house keeping and bells. They were all very helpful and kept a smiling face.

Room Tip: If you want the best rooms; its got to be one of the three Superior suites with an inside bathroom/t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Staff are nice, especially for the receptionist, Ms. Na. She help us to book activities with a good rate.

Very beatiful view, especially for the sun set..Very nature, you will be even waked up by singing bird in the morning if you stay in the sun set room (the room with big balcony, at the sun set deck)

The only thing that people may concern is the location. It takes around 100 peso from Spider House to D'Mall by tricycle.

Room Tip: Room 7 has the best view! Need to bring shampoo and shower as they provide brush, tooth paste and to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Spider house is a great experience! fantastic view on a beautiful bay from the bar / restaurant and great spot for sunset. We stayed in a 'superior' Treehouse room which was like staying in a hut in the trees. You just need to know what to expect: a basic bamboo room & bathroom, with no windows aside for bamboo blinds. If you don't mind, no questions, book it and live the experience!
Good value for money for Boracay. Location has advantages & drawbacks: located in a nice and quiet bay away from the buzz, but a bit far away if you want to have diner and drinks close to the action of white beach (but you can walk to station 2 in around 30min on white beach or take a tuk tuk).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebSingap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I absolutely adore Spider House - everyone needs to experience this place at least ONCE. My husband and I were here for 2 nights, which I felt was just nice. We had the Bamboo Twin because the smaller rooms were all booked. It was just the two of us and we had a HUGE room to ourselves, which was great.

The first night we arrived, the room took a little getting used to. It's very open, but there was no seabreeze nor air-con and Spider House was running on a generator which meant that the heater and one ceiling fan were out. It left us with a short stand up fan, which fell off the table in the middle of the night and gave me a fright. The mozzies are plenty too, so you have to sleep under the mosquito net, which was only provided for one bed. There was another lounge bed in the room, but it seemed pretty dirty - pillow covers were stained with makeup, and the linen made our bodies itch. We were in Room 4, and on the second night we could hear the loud music from the Diniwid beach-side bars stretch till late. That was a bummer, but thank goodness we were all wrung out from parasailing and slept shortly after 11pm.

But! The view made up for everything! It was spectacular, since we're hanging off a cliff's side, it was an unblocked view of the sea. When the sun set, the sky just exploded with color. On the second night the seabreeze was so whippy that we didn't need the fan and just slept - it felt like we were sleeping out in the open. There's a floating platform anchored a few metres out; you can jump off the deck at the bar and swim out to it. The view from the bar was the best, we could not stop taking pictures every time the light changed.

The configuration of Spider House was very interesting, but has narrow stairs you will be required to maneuver around in. That could be an issue for some people. We had free breakfast that came with our room, and it was GREAT. Take the Filipino breakfast over Continental. The food served at Spider House's bar was up to standard - not amazing, but it's good. We tried their sushi boat, temaki, special Spider House sashimi salad, wedges and chocobanana shake. All good. We also ordered bacon pasta and a pork adobo roll for takeaway when we checked out. Both were good, though eaten 4 hours later.

Michelle, at the front desk, was very proficient in English and a great help. We had a minor panic attack when we realized we might not have enough pesos for our Kalibo airport terminal fee (it's 500 pesos/pax for international flights) and she was trying her best to confirm how much we needed for the terminal fee. We had to leave before she could get a confirmation, but we really appreciated her attitude and service. Thanks Michelle! :D

I would definitely return, and recommend this place to all my friends who are heading to Boracay. Selamat!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mochafrapppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Spider house is a beautiful one of a kind resort located on a cliff near Diniwid beach.
It's very rustic and has a hippie vibe to it.I had booked a superior room,which was quite big, had 2 beds and 2 extra lounge beds.No windows, just the open view of the ocean and Diniwid beach.It was mid-January,so it was quite cool and some would not even need a fan in the room.Food/Breakfast was excellent and the staff was very warm.I stayed on white beach for 3 days and 3 days in Spider house, and it was very serene.
You go to spider house for an experience and not for 5star luxury.
You do see many insects and the floor is little noisy,you can also hear other guests in their rooms, but that didn't really kill our experience.
Sitting on the deck,drinking buko [coconut water] and mango shake,overlooking the turquoise water and taking a refreshing dip in the ocean.....what more can one want?
It was a WOW experience for my Wife and I,will surely return to Spider house again.
They should have complimentary breakfast, that is the one thing I didn't like.

Room Tip: Book a superior room/suite, it's very spacious,excellent views and not very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FTP86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Spider House is one of the most relaxing and scenic places I have ever stayed. If you don't want to be in the middle of the Boracay tourist jungle, prefer somewhere chilled and with the ocean right out front then this is the place.
It's not 5 star on the normal scale (if you're fussy about your bathrooms this not the right venue) but is 5 star for atmosphere, service, relaxing vibe and that beautiful view!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
0.1 mi away
Artista Beach Villas
Artista Beach Villas
#60 of 147 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.4 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nami Resort
Nami Resort
#35 of 147 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#28 of 147 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lingganay Boracay Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spider House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spider House Resort

Property: Spider House Resort
Address: Diniwid Beach, Aklan Province, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Spider House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dive straight into the sea from our beachfront treehouse. Nestled on Diniwid Beach in Boracay and built literally over the sea. The Spider House enjoys a prime location, surrounded by clear waters and dazzling sunsets every night. All of our rooms are built in the traditional Filipino style with thatched roofs, using mainly bamboo and wood. They are spacious and come equipped with a fan and private balcony. Best of all are the views. There is a double bed in each room providing simple, comfortable accommodation for up to two people. Our Superior Rooms have their own private bathroom and shower with hot water in the rooms. We have free WiFi around the house so you can always keep in touch with the outside world and when you want to go swimming, you don’t have to go to the beach…the beach comes to you !!!Enjoy the various water activities like diving, snorkeling, sailing and kite surfing. Our terrace is ideal to relax and enjoy Boracay's tropical climate. The Spider House - a truly unique accommodation in a magical location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spider House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spider House Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing