We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“unique, friendly, a fantastic view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spider House Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spider House Resort
Ranked #43 of 146 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“unique, friendly, a fantastic view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Spider House is one of the most unique resorts I've ever stayed in. My in-laws, husband, baby and I all stayed there for five days and we loved our room. It was big enough to hang out in with plenty of room for the baby to run around, and we loved how it was totally open to the ocean and the sky on one side. Waking up to the sun streaming in was one of the best experiences I've had in any hotel. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and the owner, Alan, was a great resource on the where, when, and how much of Boracay. The food was good - a bit pricey compared to local joints but cheaper than the other resorts around. And the location at the end of the beach made it just secluded enough to feel like our own paradise without making it impossible to leave. Diniwid Beach is a much nicer place to stay than White Beach, as it isn't nearly as over-developed. If you want to do Boracay without feeling like your in the resort mecca of the Philippines, stay at the Spider House.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolandrea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    106
    40
    38
    22
See reviews for
43
214
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

A friend and I had the privilege of spending 8 days here over New Year 2013. Wow- it was amazing! I have been to a number of beautiful places in the world, but none can rival the beauty of Boracay.

Spider House is an experience in itself. It boasts the best views on the island and a friendly welcoming atmosphere, not to mention really really good food. Alan and his team really made us feel like part of the family.You could easliy spend your whole holiday lazing on the deck here. The water surrounding Spider House is crystal clear and warm and was my favourite swimming spot on the island. It is a short walk or tricycle ride to the rest of the island and a perfect base for exploring.

The food - OMG I gained at least 2kgs from the chocolate and mango pancakes! The kitchen was really accommodating and happy to deviate from the menu upon request. Don't be in a hurry for your food. Good food takes time - sit back and enjoy the deck while you wait.

Spider House is not your average hotel - all built from bamboo and wood with the sound of ghekos calling (no spiders). There is no airconditioning, so if luxury is your thing, this is not the place for you! I have seen reviews that have compared Spider House to camping - this is a myth, although I concede that you need to be a little adventurous to fully appreciate its quirky nature. We booked a suite which was very spacious with a sensational view which made up for the fact that facilities are basic (no television but you can stay connected with free wifi) Warning - the bamboo walls are thin and sound travels, so be prepared to get to know your neighbours well :)

I travelled with a friend, but would be very comfortable going back alone. It is very condusive to meeting fellow travellers without being creepy.

Would I go back? In a heatbeat - next time I'll stay an extra week though...

Room Tip: All the rooms have amazing views. The suites are really good value for money and give you a bit of e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bynH1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Very nice location, for those who don't like the crowded places as on the main white beach.
Rooms are nice but need to get some reparations here or there, by long rain, there are some leakages which can lead to wet clothes in the wardrobe.
Everything is made of bamboo and natural materials which is nice but the noice isolation is poor, especially when you book the suite 3 direclty over the bar and kitchen: the music level is a bit too high in the evening, especially if you travel with children (if not, I guess this would be ok...) and the smell of the cooking is a bit annoying because it reaches exactly up to the room.
For young people with no kids, I bet it is very nice!

Room Tip: not the ones direcltly above the bar/kitchen/lobby (too noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CschHk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent 3 days here with my husband, starting our trip round Phillippines. It was wonderful beginning, despite the fact we found Boracay island owercrowded and noisy, this was the highlight. Based on the quiet part of the island, close to nice Puka beach, I can fully recommend the place to people who like non-traditional way of accomodation, close to the sea and sand, listening to the waves, feeling the fresh breeze during the night. Very nice staff, friendly and comfortable bar, just great!

Room Tip: We hade room 4 with perfect view, just above the sea. The only issue was with toilet, which was rath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jana6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

It’s been a while since my stay at the Spiderhouse, but I still miss it daily! The house looks like a wonderful place, but in reality it’s even more amazing! If you appreciate authenticity, why confine yourself to a resort when you can experience the real Boracay in this RobinsonCrusoe-style home surrounded by nature. You’ll meet some great people and friendly geckos during your stay. The friendly and attentive staff, Alan and his kids, will make you feel at home at the moment you set foot in the house. Allan is the perfect host! Coming to Boracay since the 80s, he knows the island by the back of his hand. He will guide through the ultimate Boracayexperience. Kiteboarding, diving, snorkeling, sailing (they have a sailboat), dancing, hikingtrips.. You can get advice for any of your wishes.

They have their own restaurant and bar. Fresh ingredients used in delightful dishes. You gotta try the fish teriyaki wrap with a mixed fruit shake while enjoying the fantastic view. After lunch, take a nice dive, cause you’re only one step away from the crystal clear blue water! A stairway from the house takes right into refreshment. One thing, bring earplugs if you’re a light sleeper.

Diniwid beach can be a bit busy during the day, but never ever as busy as the other beaches on the island. It’s very easy to go around to different locations. 10min ride from White Beach where you can kiteboard or get lessons. You can take a nice 30min walk along the coastline to the shops and markets. A bit to busy and commercial for me. I was happy to go back to my little paradise at the end of the day. You realize you’ve got everything you need right at the Spiderhouse!

Experience the quietness in the mornings till noon and after 23h. They understand that these moments are supposed to be peaceful, so you can enjoy the true tropical island. Listen to the water bouncing against the rocks. At night listening to the cracking sailboat that seems to have a life of is own. And off course the great sunsets with perfect loungy music, a good conversation and a delicious mmmangoshake to go along.
This was a very unique experience! Allan, Zoe and Shane, Thank you so much for sharing your little paradise!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yentl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great location, rooms, food, and staff sums it up
20 min walk in powder sand to D mall or 5 min trike ride..... still quiet at night but close enough to the action... booking next chritmas! Glad to write a review of this place..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamtg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorzow, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

It's all about the atmosphere! The view is truly amazing and Alan(the owner) and all the people working there are charming. You can jump directly to the sea from the bar.
Diniwid and Nocel I really miss you! The best place to be in Boracay.
Don't forget to visit Red Pirates.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott_Lynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
2.2 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Nami Resort
Nami Resort
#35 of 146 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#27 of 146 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Artista Beach Villas
Artista Beach Villas
#52 of 146 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spider House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spider House Resort

Property: Spider House Resort
Address: Diniwid Beach, Aklan Province, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Spider House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dive straight into the sea from our beachfront treehouse. Nestled on Diniwid Beach in Boracay and built literally over the sea. The Spider House enjoys a prime location, surrounded by clear waters and dazzling sunsets every night. All of our rooms are built in the traditional Filipino style with thatched roofs, using mainly bamboo and wood. They are spacious and come equipped with a fan and private balcony. Best of all are the views. There is a double bed in each room providing simple, comfortable accommodation for up to two people. Our Superior Rooms have their own private bathroom and shower with hot water in the rooms. We have free WiFi around the house so you can always keep in touch with the outside world and when you want to go swimming, you don’t have to go to the beach…the beach comes to you !!!Enjoy the various water activities like diving, snorkeling, sailing and kite surfing. Our terrace is ideal to relax and enjoy Boracay's tropical climate. The Spider House - a truly unique accommodation in a magical location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Spider House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spider House Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing