We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rima at Shangri-La's Boracay Resort and Spa

Rima at Shangri-La's Boracay Resort and Spa
Ranked #31 of 295 Restaurants in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Rima is an elegant tree house restaurant offering international cuisine in an intimate location amidst the green in the resort's hilltops. It has been named one of the Philippines' Best Restaurants by the Philippine Tatler four years in a row. Dress code: Resort chic, no flip flops.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We ordered the seared tuna, squid ink risotto, pan fried grouper, the kurobuta and prosciutto pizza for the kids. We all thought it was average, plus it was really hot in the restaurant, not a single breeze! Better head on to the strips of restos along white beach and get your money's worth on seafood :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank oh_sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    41
    16
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We expected more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great atmosphere, good service but we didn't like the food and it was over priced. We paid 100 usd each which is quite a lot for Philippines.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“quite good italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

expensive but good. it is in the wonderful Shangri La Hotel in Boracay. The location is off the center. Therefore transportation is not quite easy. However it can be worth if you are ready to spend some good money.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelihOdemis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Views, Ambience and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were fortunate to be seated both times next to the window with a spectacular view. Once we chose from the menu and once the chef tried a new menu selection on us. We were delighted with our own choices and with the 4 Course surprise we had 3 amazing dishes one good dish and one that failed because we are not fans of smoked meats. We will return.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PoolBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Above-average food by Boracay standards. Otherwise, quite dull.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I for one have had a very tough time with the food in Boracay. It's not for the faint if heart...or stomach. The food at Rima was a nice change from the vile standard you would find elsewhere on the island.

Though we were not staying at the hotel, we decided We decided to eat at Rima. It was quite a hassle to get there: tricycle from Station 3, van once in the grounds of the hotel, and finally a buggy from the reception to the restaurant. The food was good by Boracay standards, but definitely not spectacular. Comparing to restaurants in most other cities I've lived in/visited, I would rate it as standard, at best.

We ended up paying just under 100 USD per person - shocking for the Philippines. Definitely not worth it considering the hassle of getting to and from the hotel.

Staff were wonderful though, very sweet & attentive.

All said and done, I would go again. Just to have a decent meal in a place where eating good food is not an easy thing.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beirut29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rima at Shangri-La's Boracay Resort and Spa also viewed

 

Been to Rima at Shangri-La's Boracay Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing