We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views, Ambience and Food”

Rima at Shangri-La's Boracay Resort and Spa
Ranked #26 of 307 Restaurants in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Rima is an elegant tree house restaurant offering international cuisine in an intimate location amidst the green in the resort's hilltops. It has been named one of the Philippines' Best Restaurants by the Philippine Tatler four years in a row. Dress code: Resort chic, no flip flops.
Greater Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Views, Ambience and Food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were fortunate to be seated both times next to the window with a spectacular view. Once we chose from the menu and once the chef tried a new menu selection on us. We were delighted with our own choices and with the 4 Course surprise we had 3 amazing dishes one good dish and one that failed because we are not fans of smoked meats. We will return.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PoolBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    43
    16
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Above-average food by Boracay standards. Otherwise, quite dull.”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I for one have had a very tough time with the food in Boracay. It's not for the faint if heart...or stomach. The food at Rima was a nice change from the vile standard you would find elsewhere on the island.

Though we were not staying at the hotel, we decided We decided to eat at Rima. It was quite a hassle to get there: tricycle from Station 3, van once in the grounds of the hotel, and finally a buggy from the reception to the restaurant. The food was good by Boracay standards, but definitely not spectacular. Comparing to restaurants in most other cities I've lived in/visited, I would rate it as standard, at best.

We ended up paying just under 100 USD per person - shocking for the Philippines. Definitely not worth it considering the hassle of getting to and from the hotel.

Staff were wonderful though, very sweet & attentive.

All said and done, I would go again. Just to have a decent meal in a place where eating good food is not an easy thing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beirut29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“romantic place”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

great Italian food. wonderful starter bread selection. place is a bit dark but its kinda romantic. amazing service.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Requeijão S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting, disappointing food, shambolic service”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Wonderful setting but very disappointing food and shambolic service. Not worth the money.  Indigo at discovery shores and the restaurant at the ambassador both offered superior food and service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Ontario CANADA
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful places to eat in Boracay, but pricey!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I were on vacation in Boracay recently. I wanted to stay at the ShangriLa Resort because that is rated #1 by TA, and the photos from the hotel web site were lovely. I didn't want to pay $550/night for a garden view room or $650/night for a seaview, so we stayed somewhere else, #3 choice on TA.
We decided to eat once here to see what the resort is like. RIMA is their Italian restaurant set in a tree top setting. It is simply beautiful with indoor and outdoor dining options. The whole space is opened up and looks very airy and chic. The venue is so high up on the hillside you need a driver and buggy to get up there from reception. Take the hotel shuttle from D Mall to avoid a cab fare.
The service is top notch and the menu eclectic with meat and fish and vegetarian choices. You can also choose risotto, pasta and pizza if you like. It is dark here after 530 PM and so we can't see any of the lovely views to the sea, and the room is extremely dark, lit only by the candle on the dining table.
We ordered crusted tuna for my wife, grilled grouper fish for me, two garden salads, and a tiramisu desert. That with two iced drinks and a small bottle of water came out to $110US, 10% SC added in automatically. The food was delicious and presented in the highest quality. The entrees were also of large quantity as well as quality. You probably don't need to order desert because RIMA throws in free cookies and truffles at the end of your dinner- a nice touch!
Nothing compares to RIMA in Boracay. In my books it is the best place on the island for that special occasion.
We also had a quick look at the hotel lobby, bar area etc. The whole place is simply wonderful. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr Andy S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rima at Shangri-La's Boracay Resort and Spa also viewed

 
Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 

Been to Rima at Shangri-La's Boracay Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing