We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pay for anything extra”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Palms of Boracay
Ranked #126 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“pay for anything extra”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hotel is in good state, clean large rooms. Staff is friendly. Yet:

They are way too greedy:

Trip to hotel arranged by hotel costs 1500 peso/person, while the tour operator who transports you would charge 350 peso/person

Breakfast is included, right? Every other day rather than the buffet there's a la carte. You can pick exactly 1 thing. Want something elese: pay for it.

Want an extra pillow: pay for it.

Want an extra bed: pay for it. Which is logical, but then the bed you are getting is like sleeping on the ground.

There's no internet in the guestrooms. The free internet only works in the lobbu and is slow.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Olav L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie G, Manager at The Palms of Boracay, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Ms. Olavia,

Chiefly, on behalf of the entire team of THE PALMS OF BORACAY, our sincerest apology for the inconvenience. Our team is now working on the best ways to further improve our services, these shall never happen again and rest assured that all department team will be thoroughly informed and trained to provide excellent hospitality experience.

Thank you so much for your feedback. Highly appreciate it.

THE PALMS OF BORACAY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    12
    10
    5
    11
See reviews for
13
17
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Location
The location of the hotel is decent despite not being on the beach. It is near station 1 and only 2 minutes walk down to a beautiful stretch of the beach. However, the hotel does not have any sun-beds on the beach (despite somewhat misleading pictures on its website…). Initially we were told that they have an agreement with another hotel, but turned out the agreement had expired. This meant we had difficulties finding available sun-beds despite asking at several of the hotels located on the beach. The days we did get sun-beds we were charged from PHP200 to PHP1,200 (include food & drink) depending on the hotel that had availability.

Breakfast
Decent choice of breakfasts (English, American, Korean etc.) and decent buffet selection on the days buffet was prepared. However, the food could have been better e.g. got served frozen (literally) salmon together with scrambled eggs.

Amenities
Overall, the property could benefit from a little care e.g. at our end of the building there were no outdoor lights so had to stumble our way in the dark. Pool area looked nice but not used by any of the guests during our stay.

Room
The studio suites are spacious, however the brown feature wall combined with dark furniture makes the rooms darker than they should. Rooms on the ground floor with no view other than the opposing brick wall are especially dark. It is also worth noting that the view from most of the rooms will be either a small quarry or the construction site opposite (see attached pictures) with the exception of the more expensive 2/3 bedroom suites overlooking the pool area.

We were allocated a room at the far end of the old building would definitely suggest you avoid at all costs. It was nigh impossible to get a decent night’s sleep due to lots of roosters (!). Their cock-a-doodle-doo would wake us several times a night from 3am to 8am.

No safe in the studio suite rooms.

Service
The staff is very friendly but could be more professional as enquiries made were not followed up. Also, it feels as if the hotel is overrun by staff and at times it felt as if we were in a holiday camp for teenagers (Example; techno music or karaoke during breakfast…really?).

There is an hourly shuttle service from and to D’Mall, which is very handy.

Overall
I would suggest you opt for a hotel located directly on the beach if you can.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hobokahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie G, Manager at The Palms of Boracay, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi,

Chiefly, on behalf of the entire team of THE PALMS OF BORACAY, our sincerest apology for the inconvenience. Our team is now working on the best ways to further improve our services, these shall never happen again and rest assured that all department team will be thoroughly informed and trained to provide excellent hospitality experience.

We value all your suggestions and reviews and these will certainly help us improve our products and services.

Thank you so much for your feedback. Highly appreciate it.

THE PALMS OF BORACAY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I don't understand some of the other reviews! The Palms is at the Boat Station 1 part of the beach and as such is a peaceful place to stay. The hotel itself is up a little road just off the beach and it takes only two minutes to walk down to the wonderful beach.

The hotel is a well designed boutique-style place, tastefully designed and tranquil. It has a pool which is great. The lack of parasols is a drawback though; that sun is strong! The restaurant is right by the pool, so cocktails and food are available constantly.

The food itself is ok but not special. The complimentary breakfast is fine but the menu is limited. The fruit on offer lacked variety and flavour. Cocktails, lunches etc are generally good, but it seems to depend on which chef or waiter is on duty.

The hotel room was excellent. Spacious, clean and well decorated. The bath was plastic and spoilt the look but this is a small point.

Staff are delightful and this is a really positive part of the place.

Any negative points I've made are really only minor considerations. It's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors don't have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie G, Manager at The Palms of Boracay, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Ms. Julie, Thank you so much . Highly appreciate your great review. I will personally share this to all the team today. On behalf of the The Palms of Boracay team, we are very grateful that you had a wonderful time with us. We hope to see you again on your next Boracay visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Palms of Boracay is a great place to stay if you're looking for a hotel that is not crowded and would like to have some privacy away from the hoards of people in the mainstream area of station 2. The hotel design in itself is inspired by Mindanao Culture in the Philippines, which gives you the feeling of seeing and being in the locality unlike some hotels which are constructed w/ very little thought and consideration in terms of culture.The staff are friendly and accommodating.

Finally, the rooms have nice interior fixtures and furniture. They have lcd tv. Although not all rooms have a view of the beach, you can always access by foot.

All in all, the palms of boracay is one of my top 10 hotels to stay in boracay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leydelossantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePalmsofBoracay, Owner at The Palms of Boracay, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you very much. Appreciate your great comment. Glad you had a wonderful experience at The Palms of Boracay. Please do not hesitate to contact us anytime marketing@palmsboracay.com for other concerns and suggestions. We will definitely do our best to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The property was not as it was promised ! It was horribly far from the station -1... The Scotty to it costs a bomb every time u want to use it. Rooms were not as they were meant to be. The free wi-fi is only available for use in the small lobby, only 5 seats available. You have to wait your turn to even find a seat to sit !

Room Tip: Choose something which says its at station 2 or if u want quietist use and stay away from the crowd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManjuJain780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePalmsofBoracay, Owner at The Palms of Boracay, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Our sincerest apology rest-assure that the management will take immediate actions and improve our services. Please email our marketing department marketing@palmsboracay.com for us to give you constant updates. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boracay hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I visited the hotel in February 2012, it was part of my honeymoon with my wife. In total we had 14 flights around asia covering 7 countries including

Philipenes (Manila, Kalibo, Boracay)
Thailand (Bangkok, Pucket, Chang Mai)
Malaysia (Kuala Lumpa)
Indonesia (Bali)
Honk Kong
Macau
Vietnam (Hanoi, Ha Long)
India (Delhi, Punjab, Rajasthan, Goa)

I would as a place say that boracay is the best beach I have ever been to in all my years of travelling, I haven’t seen all the beaches in the world but is the best one I have seen from the around 30 countries I have visited in my lifetime.

The water at Boracay is so shallow, that you can walk long distances into the sea and the water just comes to your waste height, sit on the beach and watch the day pass holding one of the excellent fruit shakes that seem to be made everywhere.

Well as for the hotel what more can I say, its bliss, the hotel is new with all modern fittings, the food at the restaurant lovely, and the hotel is at the quite end of the island.

I prefer to be at the quite end of the island and when I want to have a bit of fun or go out, either take the 1hrly FREE minibus down to D Mall in station 2, or get a tricycle down to Deli Papa in station 3. I liked the fact the hotel is hidden away, it mend after a hard day of shopping around the mall at D mall, or going out to the clubs I could relax in comfort away from the noise.

The hotel has massive studio apartments, they are around 42m2, that’s a lot bigger than most other places I looked at, and for me space is king.

Regards

Harry

PS. I have attached a few pictures of the hotel I took from my room, a picture says a 1000 words.

Room Tip: I would suggest to book room 118 or rooms directly above it, its close to the lobby and has a view t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePalmsofBoracay, Owner at The Palms of Boracay, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you very much. Appreciate your great comment. Glad you had a wonderful experience at The Palms of Boracay. Please do not hesitate to contact us anytime marketing@palmsboracay.com for other concerns and suggestions. We will definitely do our best to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The hotel is beautiful, offering a great location in a quiet area of Boracay. The rooms are very spacious (studio) and trully comfortable.

Highlights are:

- Staff: everyone that works in the hotel is amazingly friendly and very professional. I really had a good time talking to the drivers and servers, they were awesome!

- Restaurant: the food is very good, I actually didn’t want to go anywhere else to risk, cause they had it all: local and international good food.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrefranchini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePalmsofBoracay, Owner at The Palms of Boracay, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Greetings from The Palms of Boracay. Thank you so much for your feedback and review. Appreciate it. Please email our marketing department marketing@palmsboracay.com for us to give you regular updates. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.3 mi away
White House Beach Resort
White House Beach Resort
#50 of 145 in Boracay
272 reviews
0.9 mi away
Patio Pacific Boracay
Patio Pacific Boracay
#52 of 145 in Boracay
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Two Seasons Boracay Resort
Two Seasons Boracay Resort
#33 of 145 in Boracay
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
#19 of 145 in Boracay
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador in Paradise Resort
0.3 mi away
Residencia Boracay
Residencia Boracay
#54 of 145 in Boracay
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms of Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms of Boracay

Property: The Palms of Boracay
Address: Sinagpa Street, Station 1, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms of Boracay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms of Boracay was designed by leading Philippine architect Therese Yupangco and her inspiration was the province of Mindanao. This can be seen in the wonderful architectural features of the roof and the colour schemes and also in the original and antique art work and craft examples that are showcased in the rooms, corridors and lounges.We have taken this theme further and in The Palms of Boracay has created a hotel that truly showcases the best of Filipino hospitality and culture. Our values can be seen reflected in the logo which is ancient Alibata script for the word "Welcome" -"Mabuhay". The Palms of Boracay aims to always have spirit and connect with its community, to care about the environment, to promote Philippine culture, to provide an authentic experience and to be exceptional in service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Palms of Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Of Boracay Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing