We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Pizza on the island”

Da Mario Pizzeria and Ristorante
Ranked #179 of 307 Restaurants in Boracay
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worst Pizza on the island”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Overpriced for 250 Peso small pizza + drink 50 peso for a coke can , + 250 peso for spaghetti carbonra + 50 peso for a sprite can , cost 600 peso , absolutely no Italian spices , tiny pizza crust with nothing on it. Really disappointing ! Ants on the table, old resort!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChiliBuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    13
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Malaga
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Italian pizza”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

My wife had pizza (Pepperoni), and i had Lasagna, and we shared a green salad. The pizza was very good, the salad also, but the lasagna was so/so - no taste at all. You sit "on" the beach in the quite part in the end of the island, and that is nice. We are staying here for a long time, so we will probably go back again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DonaMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Good Pizza, Lackluster Location”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

In the mood for pizza, and down at the quiet southern tip of the island we decided to try Da Mario. When the pizza arrived I was a little tentative, as it looked a whole lot like the pizza they always served on Friday at my school cafeteria. And I was afraid that the sauce would actually be ketchup, as it is in so many places in Asia. Luckily looks are deceiving. It was yummy, as was everything else we ordered. My only complaint is that it has one of the only ugly locations on the beach.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nataliegoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Probably the best pizza in Visayas :))”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Well... also when travelling around the globe I, coming from Naples (the hometown of Pizza), for sure cannot avoid to eat a couple of slices of good quality pizza :)). This pizzeria/restaurant is located alongside Boat Station#3, the most quiet station in Boracay. We had our dinner just having the beach and the sea in front of us, enjoying the colours of a so amazing sunset. Mario, as the large part of italian ppl (like me, hehe), is very friendly and he explained us all ingredients are from Italy. Also the staff is very friendly, and both waitresses & waiters always do their very best to comply with customers'requests. I guess it is a nice restaurant where you can stay just relaxing, and enjoying the island of Boracay. Opssss... I forgot to suggest trying the fruitshakes. LOL :D

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank XXM1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza, grumpy staff”
Reviewed February 25, 2011

This restaurant doesn't seem to get many customers, being at the far end of the beach at Station 3. It's a nice place to eat, with romantic candle lighting right on the beach.

The pizzas here are excellent, thin base and very tasty and reasonably priced too. Tried the risotto which was ok (it needed a lot of seasoning) and a penne pomodoro which also needed a lot of seasoning.

The staff here can be a bit grumpy but are more than willing to cook the food how you request (eg less/more cheese on the pizza, no mushroom etc).

Overall a recommended restaurant.

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Loubbyloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Mario Pizzeria and Ristorante also viewed

Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 
Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 

Been to Da Mario Pizzeria and Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing