We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tree House Beach Resort
Ranked #57 of 227 Boracay B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and it was too long! There are good and bad points about this resort.
The restaurant is really nice, in a treehouse with good food and friendly staff. The section of beach in front of the resort is relatively quiet compared with the rest of White Beach.
The room was awful and really overpriced at p1,350 per night. The room was big but felt empty with only a bed and a fan. The only window was through to the next room with a thin curtain, so you could see and hear everything in the next room. As there was no ventilation the room was very damp and smelt terrible. The shared bathroom was fine and good size. There was good wifi in the restaurant.
We spent 5 months traveling in the Philippines and Boracay was the only place we really didn't like. It's so busy, everywhere is crowded with tourists, we couldn't even see the famous beach because there were so many people on it. We didn't feel the locals were so friendly and welcoming which we had become used to. We felt like we were treated like a walking wallet, all then want to do is get your money. We were constantly bothered by the vendors offering massages, jetski, boat ride, snorkelling, hats, sunglasses, souvenirs, it's relentless, they stand in your way and will try anything to make a sale.
The beach is horribly over developed, it's like Manila on a beach. Every inch of the beach is covered with resorts, restaurants, dive shops and stalls. There is a McDonalds and a Starbucks on the beach, you can get cuisine from all over the world, but might find it difficult to find any local dishes.
Boracay just didn't feel like we were even in the Philippines, it's completely lost its culture, history and identity. It's such a shame as I'm sure it was truly beautiful before the developers took over.
There are so many incredible islands in the Philippines, it's really sad what has become of Boracay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hollies2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 68 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

Only restaurant review:
Avoid the pizza
Avoid the lasagne
Avoid the nudels

Music by karaoke style artist which is very annoying. Very loud until dawn...
Location is very good and service as well but thats about it.
I would not come here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I did not stay at this resort but did eat here on quite a few occasions
Food is mixture of local Filipino & Italian dishes very tasty.. At night time
there is entertainment in the bar local musicians play and sing songs .
its a great place to bring a loved one or great for a family's .
staff are warm and friendly ..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peacfullone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We decided short time in advance, to go to Boracay. We had a room for one night at another place. That place was ok, but we searched for a better place to be. After a few hotels near station 3, we ended up here. The rooms have a nice standard, clean, good location (50m from the beach), and close to the road up to the main road. A little traffic, but no problem. The area was also quiet in the evenings. Great and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flowcat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

If you want cheap accommodation, here you go!
You get the value for your money.

Tree House is just a few steps away from the Beach, but also far away from hot party spots.

The restaurant food, there's nothing really choose from, but there's so many other places you go and eat in the Island.
It depends on your budget, and food preference ( taste,or lack of it)!

Security, Tree House have a night watchman.

The dorm room is cheap, although you get to share it with total stranger.
You could leave your stuffs in a wooden lockers.

I stayed there for 11 days, and I've slept well at night.
Maybe I'm just a heavy sleeper, or my snoring drown out the noise of the nights I've stayed there.
Luckily for me , and the future guests of the dorm room I was alone for almost all the duration of my stay there.

They don't clean the dorm room if it's occupied, trust me been there for almost two weeks.
So the cleanliness of the room, or lack of it would really depend on it's occupants.

The staffs are courteous I guess, and always trying to be friendly to the guests.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lemonscented_rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed in the dorm room at tree house. The front door does not have a lock however there are lockers in the room & it is safe. There is also a security guard in the night time. The location is brilliant, it is 20 metres from the beach and is in a quiet and relaxed area. The food is really good in the restaurant and the staff are really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindsey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The location of this place is good, great for those who want to escape the crowds, and the beachfront bar / restaurant area looks nice. But the rooms are dated and a bit shabby. The first time I stayed, I enjoyed the peace and quiet of the location. But recently, under new management I believe, it is non-stop noise, from morning till night. Even at breakfast time, thumping disco is being played at their restaurant area and it is very off-putting. Every night, overly loud, karaoke style live music is blaring out till all hours. This is not why people stay in the Angol area. If I want this noise pollution I'd stay in station 2. The food is bland and tasteless and even though ordered from their other restaurant almost next door you have to pay a hefty 'delivery fee' to eat there on top of the already high price. If the rooms were upgraded a bit and the noise toned down, the place still has much potential. The dorm rooms are very affordable for backpackers. The staff are generally friendly, especially Fred, who always has a smile and hello.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sirenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
Sundown Beach Studios
Sundown Beach Studios
#29 of 177 in Boracay
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hey Jude South Beach
Hey Jude South Beach
#19 of 227 in Boracay
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roy's Rendezvous
Roy's Rendezvous
#67 of 227 in Boracay
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Rose Pike at Boracay
The Rose Pike at Boracay
#110 of 227 in Boracay
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
812 Angol Boracay
812 Angol Boracay
#32 of 177 in Boracay
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
357 Boracay
357 Boracay
#48 of 148 in Boracay
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree House Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree House Beach Resort

Address: Angol, Manoc-Manoc, Malay, Aklan Province, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Boracay
Price Range: $28 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tree House Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tree House Beach Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing