We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite and nice (if booking is ok)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Bayou Bungalows
Ranked #30 of 223 Boracay B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quite and nice (if booking is ok)”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nice and clean budget bungalows near Bulabog beach and 5min walk to White Beach. Good breakfast and frendly staff...

BUT: We booked bungalow for 4nights 2months before our trip and when we arrived they tried to accomodate us in a room, which was terrible (like prison cell) . They tried to convice us that that was our booking, but we booked bungalow not a room.. after a while they told us that they had no bungalow available, they dobel booked next 2days. We refused to go to others and pay twice as much, so at the end they agreed to pay difference for 2 nights at some other place. It was ok, but room smelled strange and we couldt wait to change.. We stayed there for 2 nights, and retured to Blue Bayau for 2 last nights.

Boracay is nice, has beautiful beach but can be to crowded. If you want quiter place and total relaxation go to El Nido! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBayouBulabog, Owner at Blue Bayou Bungalows, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your honest review. Please accept our sincere apology for this situation which happened due to an overbooking. We have since taken measures to ensure that this situation does no longer happen. If you book a bungalow you will get a bungalow. Further, we have now upgraded this room with an air-condition unit such that the room is dry now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    28
    10
    8
    1
See reviews for
6
47
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We are a couple with no kids, we stayed 3 nights in an air conditioned bungalow in July.
Located away from the main road and beach noise, it's quiet location in a neighborhood where Filipinos live. Kids go to school in the morning and people go about their daily life.
If anything there's just a rooster crowing in the morning somewhere nearby.
Breakfast was included, it could have been delivered to our bungalow to eat, but we choose to eat in the main area by the kitchen, I had coffee, omelette, bread and fruit.
The bungalow was cleaned every day, if we stayed longer our towels would have been replaced - we had our own beach towels so it wasn't a problem, but if you are wanting daily towel changing (??!) you might want to make a special arrangement.
The bungalow had a safe to store our valuables while at the beach and swimming, which was great.
Our bungalow had a gas burner/cooker, which we used to boil water and make a cup of tea at night (you can buy tea at the supermarket). Their kitchen isn't open at night and after a big day and big meal, at night we sure enjoyed relaxing with a hot drink and reading a book/surfing the net.
The double bed was upstairs and we decided not to use the air conditioning and instead opened the sliding windows on both sides of the room, turned on the fan and a mosquito net over our bed.
My tips would be:
1/ Have a flash light, when its dark its very dark. Remember, vehicle drivers on the road can't see you, there's not always a footpath and roads are often under repair
2/ Take an umbrella, great for both shade and rain when heading back to the bungalows
3/ When heading back to your bungalow from DMall, the route I recommend is: Cross the road,
walk down a road to Munchies (a popular cafe on a corner), turn left and walk down past the Church, turn right and around the corner to Blue Bayou. This gets you off the main road and into the local neighborhood (it's safe)
4/ When checking out, ask they get you a tricycle (taxi). It should cost about 100 to 150 pesos for 2 people to get to the ferry terminal
5/ Learn the word for Thank You and don't be afraid to use it!!
Salamat (sah-LAH-maht)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toomanybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

For the money this can't be beaten in Boracay. Nice and relaxed and within easy walking distance of both beaches. Very helpful staff and love the all day breakfast. The rooms are well built and more than comfortable. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirjust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

It located in the middle of local area, took a while to walk to the main area - White Beach. It was scary walking back after 11pm. It was rainy then there was water ponding just close to the resort so we had to walk carefully if not falling into the water. We came in rainy season so the bungalow was full of humidity and mosquitos. They didn't change the towel for us unless we asked. We saw them hanging the towels/matress covers...etc... on water pond and it looks not like a clean place. Internet wifi was intermittent.Though breakfast was nice.
We had bad experience of losing our money during our stay so I suggest you should put your money carefully in safety box. We went to see police and apparently Boracay is not a safe place, I've met people lost their belongings while leaving it on the beach and went swimming
So careful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janycong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The place was comfortable and surrounded by friendly staff and it was topped by it's caring owners Mr.Hans and Miss Dianne :).Service was amazing, our room was cleaned every single day.By the way we stayed there for 8 days and it felt short :) Breakfast was healthy and delicious.It's a good place if you want to stay a bit away from the noise on the beach.My fiance an I enjoyed there a lot :) thank you so much Blue Bayou :)

Thierry and Mitch

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelen1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2013

poor value for money since the simple room was very basic. Concrete floor, noisy fan, bugs and lizards in the room, hard bed and sheets not clean.
The service was good, the breakfast was great and the location was 10 minutes walk from sta 1.
There are much better options for your money

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

It is what it is, a great budget stay that is a nice get-a-way from the hustle and bustle of white beach. If your a boarder (which I'm not) it's close to the kite action; which was a beach we found just as enjoyable as white beach, it's got a different vibe and so does the Blue Bayou. For most people coming to Boracay this place is not the type of stay their looking for. But if you’re the type who enjoys the simple pleasures of life this is the place for you. White hanging orchids greet you at the entrance and I'm actually someone who enjoys the sound of crowing roosters, but that’s me. Rooms are clean, but basic; we stayed in a fan only room and were always comfortable. Staff was great, breakfast was wonderful, I recommend the pancakes, I found them to be a great way to start your day. There's also a small street side bamboo bar close by called Pow's, great burgers, great people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlohaSmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.0 mi away
Cool Stay Inn
Cool Stay Inn
#111 of 146 in Boracay
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hangin Kite Center & Resort
Hangin Kite Center & Resort
#31 of 223 in Boracay
32 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oasis Resort and Spa
Oasis Resort and Spa
#8 of 223 in Boracay
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
CHILLAX Flashpackers Boracay
1.2 mi away
CocoLoco Boracay Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Ferra Hotel Boracay
Ferra Hotel Boracay
#1 of 223 in Boracay
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bayou Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bayou Bungalows

Property: Blue Bayou Bungalows
Address: Bulabog Road, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Bayou is a cozy home away from home, a perfect place to stay while enjoying the pleasures of tropical paradise, Boracay. Tucked in a lush garden away from the bustle, each freestanding cottage is the perfect combination of modern accommodation and native flair with its loft-bedroom, kitchenette and spacious veranda. The resort is situated an ideal 100 meters away from Asia's best windsurf and kitesurfing spot Bulabog Beach and is only a 5-minute walk away from the island's famed White Beach (Boat Station 1 area). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Blue Bayou Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing