We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet”
Review of Zoe Mei Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zoe Mei Resort
Ranked #116 of 221 Boracay B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peace and Quiet”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in the middle of monsoon season. Going for a third time in Boracay, this place takes you away from all the noise from the white beach from Stations 1 - 3. We were lucky to be booked here after getting hit by strong winds combined with fine sand along the white beach. Zoe Mei is actually located on the other side of Boracay, which is spared from all the gushing wind+sand. And we had all the beach by ourselves, thanks to all the people on the other side partying. We even had our lunch served right there on the beach. It was a steep walk from the resort to the beach, so strong legs are needed for that. Yes, it's also a struggle to travel from the resort going down to the shops, restos, but the resort provides transportation. Expect rough roads though on the way up or down. The staff were all so nice to us, it was a good memory staying there. This place is perfect for those who want to be away from all the noise and partying, without the frills.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yanni_ow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoemeiresort, Front Office Manager at Zoe Mei Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your good feedback.We highly appreciate your feedback and we are glad to hear that you had an awesome experience with our Resort and services.Your complimentary comments were an inspiration to the staff. Certainly this is one of the reason why it is self gratifying to work in the hospitality industry. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I would like to stress that the staff were really very nice!
Still, I honestly do not think the Zoe Mei is worth the high ratings others are giving it - but it's perspective I guess.

The Zoe Mei is far from the centre of town - the first sign of trouble was when we arrived at the port and the tricycle-taxis refused to take us there as they could not take the hill on the route. We drove far enough from the centre such that the road quality really dropped-off nearer the hotel, dodging pot-holes and craters, and we were covered in dust by the time we got there.

The hotel is really quite simple. The staff were very pleasant and helpful to the extent of their capabilities. For example, they loaned us beach towels for free whenever we asked and accommodated a few other seemingly uncommon requests
The food in the restaurant was not good: one lunch I ordered steak and chips and got very dry beef cuts that looked more like a reheated shish kebab and no chips, but after waiting a while and asking I was told they ran out of potatoes so there were no chips; on one day the Chop Suey had no meat in it, the next day it had pork in it; a friend ordered a fish dish and got quarter of a fish not big enough to cover a slice of bread.
Also communicating with the restaurant staff was a bit difficult at times - if any of your group have special dietary needs, it is well worth preparing some information in the local language to give to the chef.

The rooms were clean and spacious, however the A/C units were very loud and the lighter sleepers could not sleep through the noise. Also if there are smokers outside, including those smoking outside the next room, the A/C units will suck in the smoke and the room will smell accordingly.

There is no pool - there is a beach less than 5 minutes away, but a pool and a beach are very different: no waves, no salt , no sand.
Coming back to this beach, there may not be a lot of people but if you like chickens, goats and mange dogs, this is the beach for you - you might seriously consider getting rabies-jabs.
It is still a bit dirty as you get the boat-trippers stopping off to lunch at the beach huts so there is a noticeable amount of litter.

There is a free shuttle service into/from town on a set schedule, which is convenient for day activities, but if you want to party till the early hours you have to pay for transportation.
That said, one of the hotel drivers was very accommodating and came to get us whenever we called from wherever we called.

Overall, quite disappointing. I could not recommend the Zoe Mei to a friend

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrenBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoemeiresort, Front Office Manager at Zoe Mei Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback.We highly appreciate your feedback .Rest assured that we will constantly improve our property and service to be able to serve you better. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

All the staff are really friendly and nice. Happy ,warm and simple. The location is a little bit far but that's why it is really quiet, and we can fully rest. Especially the shuttle bus service is very convenient, the resort offer one free trip per room per day, you can take the bust to D-mall or other places. Also the price is affordable for students. We are satisfied and had an awesome time here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pei_pei_tsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoemeiresort, Front Office Manager at Zoe Mei Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your good feedback.We highly appreciate your feedback and we are glad to hear that you had an awesome experience with our Resort and services. Rest assured that we will constantly improve our property and service to be able to serve you better. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were a group of 9 families to stay at Zoe Mei Resort hotel, on jan 7-10, 2013, and I tell ya! It was a hoot and very exciting events...The staff were very accommodating, and very much on hand to your needs, what more can you ask for. I'm very glad and honored to have met the owner of the establishment, very much on hand and very welcoming to your needs, thank you, we've appreciated your most hospitality...This Resorts is calming and very appreciative, away from the hassle and bussle from the downtown noise, if you want a valuable night and calming invironment this is for you..if you want the hassle ang bussle of the noise and crowd, stay at white beach..dont come and complained because its away from the party harty...the road is under constructions with a ruff road, but the hotel do offer after hours transportation for a minimal cost if yo decide to stay out late at night...do your research, and it will keep you from complaining later..I was joking and said we were at the jungle of tarzan and jane..but its worth it..the hotel has its own beach facilities..whatever you need they well provide for you..Love the staff, and the stablishments..Thanks..DRA AND DR. ZOE MEI RESORTS..WE LOVE YOU, we're the group of people who love to sing Video K, thanks for the complimentary wine..on our last stay..we greatly appreciated your most welcoming gratitude....

Room Tip: must walk up the stares, hope u have good knees..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prenene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoemeiresort, Front Office Manager at Zoe Mei Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Your complimentary comments were an inspiration to the staff. Certainly this is one of the reason why it is self gratifying to work in the hospitality industry. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here in 2013 New Year eve - could not think of a better option. Two reasons, which make this hotel stand out - friendly and caring staff and quiet location with few people per square mile of beach (which is hard to imagine after seeing overcrowded White Beach).

During our stay, we've seen couple of visitors, who were dissatisfied by hotel (mainly by distant location, Spartan room design) - but you should keep in mind, that you always get what you pay for (especially, on Boracay), so, if you are not a target customer of nearby Shangri-La ( mind almost 10x difference in price), just relax and enjoy sea, beautiful nature and nice people around, without focusing on resort interior designs and other tiny issues, which are present in each and every hotel.

Biggest issue of this resort is the road under construction, which you would have to use if you plan to go to White beach and back every day - but after your first ride on a tricycle it look's like a piece of adventure. Another small issue - poor selection of food ( OK for breakfast, but NOK of lunch and dinner), which is solved by travelling to D'Mall surroundings, using free shuttle bus (goes to D'Mall and back several times per day, starting from 9:00)

Conclusion: if your objective is to have a good rest in secluded place, enjoying clean beach & sea, far away from crowds and non-stop parties - Zoe Mei seems to be more, than a good option.

Room Tip: You'd better go for Junior suite or suite on a second floor - it's quiter there ( there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexeich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoemeiresort, Front Office Manager at Zoe Mei Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your good feedback.We highly appreciate your feedback and we are glad to hear that you had a favorable experience with our Resort and services. Rest assured that we will constantly improve our property and service to be able to serve you better.We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuhan, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Beautiful scenery & silent location, it's a resort fit for family & friends trip. The beach is under several stairs which hide in an shy corner. Free minibus to Dmall, you don't need to worry the crowd tuk-tuk. Food there served with low price.Staffs are very very friendly, their smile are unforgettable。

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank liyiran882003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khon Kaen, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were a family of 6 and stayed 1 night in the dorm room for 6 people. The hotel was FAR from everything. The hotel shuttle to D'Mall only runs about every 4 hours. Your only choice for food is the hotel restaurant which was average at best. We moved to the Boracay Pito Huts for our other 3 nights in Boracay and were very happy we moved. Our room was not well maintained. We've stayed in hostels that looked better than this. Cold water showers. WiFi did not work in the rooms. Would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aalvendia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.0 mi away
Moreno's Lodging Boracay
Moreno's Lodging Boracay
#117 of 167 in Boracay
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Almafada Villa
#64 of 167 in Boracay
2 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bianca's Garden Apartments
Bianca's Garden Apartments
#94 of 221 in Boracay
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Salidos Place Resort
Salidos Place Resort
#32 of 167 in Boracay
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Lola's Lodge
#68 of 221 in Boracay
12 reviews
2.0 mi away
Panorama Sunrise Resort
Panorama Sunrise Resort
#98 of 221 in Boracay
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoe Mei Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoe Mei Resort

Property: Zoe Mei Resort
Address: Ilig-Iligan | Barangay Yapak, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 221 B&Bs / Inns in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zoe Mei Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zoe Mei Resort is situated atop a hill, its a 5-minute walk down the steps from the private beach in Boracay’s Ilig Iligan. The resort boasts accommodation with a balcony, offering mountain, sea and garden views.Zoe Mei Resort boasts of its luxury suites, deluxe rooms for couples and dormitory style accommodations. It has a spacious conference room, internet room and spacious living and dining facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zoe Mei Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing