We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Romero de Boracay
Ranked #66 of 226 Boracay B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Location is good and convenient. Mart is just beside the hostel and beach is just nearby. If you would like to buy any medicine, the shop is just along the way, on ur right- which helps our friends a lot. Variety of foods and activites along the hostel. Staff was very helpful expecially James & Jesh. They are so kind and arrange the things for us nicely - includes gave us more blanket as our friend is sick, arranging tuk tuk, house keeping, air cond servicing. Well Done James & Jesh ... I will be comin back again..Just wait ya :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 2, 2013

Hello,

This is James Front Office Supervisor of Villa Romero De Boracay Hotel.



Your good review touched our heart, it inspires us to keep on holding to our commitment of rendering excellent customer service.

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Villa Romero de Boracay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 153 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

Me and my frens (9) stayed there for 4 nights,as tis is our first time in boracay, was warmly welcome by staff with a mini briefing about boracay and facilities available. As tis is not a hotel and is very much cheaper (dun compare wif a hotel, if you have d money Jz stay in one) you''ll get free WIFI, free refilled drinking water (which save a lot), free usage of kitchen equipments, and most importantly friendly staff ever ready to assist. We had check in to 4 different rooms, 1 of the room is a bit small and smells bt d rest are good, spacious n nice. 1 of my frens room aircond is not working at nite and immediately they change them to another room n fix d aircond d next day. You''ll need to request for room cleaning or else they''ll wouldn't b any as they might think that u need privacy in ur room. The location is as good, you don't need to walk too far away for anything. There's a mini market 2 doors away. Restaurant and Talipapa (where u can get cheaper souvenirs, shirt, handmade accessories) Jz nearby. Cheap beers (about USD $1),you can buy seafood like lobster, big prawns, oysters, crabs n etc in 'd Talipapa' n ask to cook for you in restaurant nearby (of course they charge). There's also a small hawker stall selling pizza rite outside Villa Romero, so if u r really tired or lazy Jz order one from them. There r many water sports around, bt dun forget to bargain you may get better deal. Few places u must visit Crystal cove another island nearby ( jz like Bali), rent a tricycle for bout 4 hours and ask them to bring you around d island, in Mt Luho for Boracay view, Puka beach and many more. There's also a place where u can c ppl doin Parachute surfing ( I can't remember d name). Many oth places that u can take some beautiful pic. Overall is a wonderful trip for us and hope to get b bk soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeautifulBoracay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 2, 2013

Hello,

This is James Front Office Supervisor of Villa Romero De Boracay Hotel.



Your good review touched our heart, it inspires us to keep on holding to our commitment of rendering excellent customer service.

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Although we only had a short visit, my family and I had a great stay at Villa Romero. Located just a few steps away from the beach, we slept comfortably and had all we needed with the basic amenities. The staff was super friendly and incredibly helpful in showing us the various restaurants, shops and activities available in Boracay. We were fortunate enough to get to know the employees and glad to make new friends :)

Overall, great place for the price and exceptionally staffed! Definitely going back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann_Bailey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 2, 2013

Hello,

This is James Front Office Supervisor of Villa Romero De Boracay Hotel.



a billion thanks for your little effort of making such wonderful feedback for our hotel, we promise to keep on treating you as a member of our hotel family.

maraming salamat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great location, only a few paces from the beach but accommodation is average at best. Yes, not at all expensive for Boracay but would suggest spending a bit more. Sleeping here is fine although it is fairly noisy but you wouldn't want to spend a lot of time here, better to be out and about.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank OurmaninHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

With all the great reviews about Villa Romero on www.agoda.com and www.tripadvisor.com I thought it was a sure bet staying @ this hotel. This was a big mistake. Upon checking in @12noon presenting the Agoda hotel voucher the front staff said the room wasn't ready but they put the luggage in their office and was told to come back @ 1p.m.. Went out to lunch with my girlfriend and returned to VIlla Romero. I booked a Deluxe room and they put us in a tiny Standard room on the 3rd floor. I went back downstairs to complain the room was to small and their website advertises deluxe rooms with balcony so they transfer us to a bigger room with balcony on 2nd floor. The room quality is very dated @ best. Hotels in Boracay are very over priced compared to the rest of the Philippines. We'll be spending our future vacations in Cebu where @ the same price we will be getting alot better quality hotel with free breakfast buffet, pool, and night life.

Room Tip: Beware of the cheap airline promo fares to Catliclan cause they will get you on your luggage. Our lu...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cblt08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 2, 2013

Hello,

This is James Front Office Supervisor of Villa Romero De Boracay Hotel.



apologies for all your concern with our hotel, here at our hotel we never promise the guest with high-end facilities but a total satisfaction by the services that we give, we treasure every bad or good comments of every guest that's why we can't be mad with this review rather give solutions and improve our rooms and maintain our excellent service to each and every guest.

Thank you so much. for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

we've been there for 2days ... a very nice place to stay and its our first time... really enjoy and the best experienced ever...people there were good especially when i met a new friend James Florentino. and we are planning to go back there next month!

Room Tip: choose a good room with a hot and cold shower...!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dimple05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The 4 and 5 star reviews for this place are absolutely crazy. Maybe like the most penny-pinching backpacker might want to stay here, but anyone else is really going to be let down by this dirty, run down hotel. Really, when you think about your beautiful beach vacation, you don't want to come back to a place like this at the end of the day. Please spend a few more dollars and book yourself something less depressing.

When we first were shown our room, I was surprised because there were 3 beds in it for just my wife and I. I'd booked the 2 bed room because the reviews said it was the best of the room types here. We were soon to find out that (as late check-ins) we were put into the room no one else wanted rather than the one we booked and paid for months ago.

First of all, despite what Agoda says, there is NO wifi in the rooms. You can use it in the lobby, but only if you're lucky. "Try again later, sir" was the response I got when it wouldn't work the first time. I stopped asking after that.

In our room, I walked straight to the patio doors to open them and check out the view from our balcony. Except the patio doors didn't open.. they overlook the staircase that everyone walks up and down to get to their room. Yes, the window overlooks the staircase INSIDE the hotel! You know how soundproof a window is, right? All night long we heard people walking up and down the stairs- at one point a loud group even started banging on the window. Also, since people need to see their way upstairs, there were bright lights on in the stairwell, lighting up our room all night long. Oh yeah, and the hotel offers massage services, and they said they could arrange for a foot massage in our room. We thought that might be a nice pick-me-up before bed, so we ordered one. An hour later and it was 11:00pm and still no word on the massage, so my wife went downstairs to check. 10 more minutes, they said. 20 minutes later I went down and told them to forget it, we were tired and went to bed.

The next morning we found that the shower head was totally broken, and held together by a tied up plastic bag (you'd have to be blind not to see this- why don't they replace something like this???!! Costs $10!) and the toilet hardly flushed. Then I found that there'd been an ant infestation overnight and the third (unused) bed with our suitcases on it was crawling in little bugs. They'd found the gummy bears we'd snacked on on the plane.

The hotel promised they'd move us to our correct room type. They said the people were still in our room, but check-out time was 1pm so they'd move us then. At 4:30 we came back and they still hadn't prepared the room! 10 minutes, they said, so we sat in the lobby waiting. 20 minutes later WE had to approach THEM to ask if it was ready yet. And it was.

And with the new room came a whole new set of problems. Mosquitoes in the room. A GIANT FLYING COCKROACH in the room. When I sprayed poison on it and it ran all over our pillows and blankets, I asked for new ones and had to change them myself. The sheets, no matter which ones they give you, are all stained. The towel rod in the bathroom is hanging down, held only on one end by one screw (why not fix it??). The shower curtain is stained with (what I hope is) rust and mold ($2 for a new curtain- why not replace it??). The bed sheets are being held down by hundreds of tacks. Yes, tacks. And since this is stupid, and not what tacks are for, they are constantly coming loose and falling straight up on the ground all ready for you to step on them. The bathroom is always wet and dripping water (I live in Asia, this is NOT normal, despite what another review said). The ceiling is covered in cobwebs and stains. The floor is dirty and the corners of the room are stained orange and full of dirt. Too many spiders.

On the fourth night WE had to ask the staff to please clean our room. Can you imagine? We had to ask! No garbage change in 4 days. No new toilet paper, towels or sheets!!

Lastly, I have to mention the noise. The new room was horrible for noise too. The hotel is right on an alley that connects the beachfront to the main road. There aren't many of these, so motorbikes are constantly driving up and down from sunrise to sunset. It's so noisy! People yelling and screaming, kids hanging around out front playing music until midnight, some vendor guy yelling "AAAAAA OOOOOO" every morning starting at 6am, construction both across from us and to the left of us. It's horrible. Can't wait to be done with vacation so I can get some sleep!

Some people have said this place is great because of the location. Tip: EVERY hotel is close to the beach. Boracay is not built up beyond the beachfront and the main road 5 minutes behind it. Unless you book some random hotel in the hills, your location will be just as good as at Villa Romero.

Don't bother.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eatsvegetables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.3 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#53 of 146 in Boracay
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#44 of 146 in Boracay
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arwana Hotel & Restaurant
Arwana Hotel & Restaurant
#121 of 146 in Boracay
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
MNL Boracay Beach Hostel
MNL Boracay Beach Hostel
#3 of 174 in Boracay
270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boracay Actopia Resort
Boracay Actopia Resort
#136 of 226 in Boracay
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Patrick's Home Boracay
Patrick's Home Boracay
#169 of 226 in Boracay
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Romero de Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Romero de Boracay

Address: Station 3, Manoc Manoc, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Boracay
Price Range: $13 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Romero de Boracay 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Romero Boracay is a 25 room hotel located just a few steps from the front beach of Boracay Island. Each room has a different theme to give a different experience to holiday seekers and travellers. Each room will surely give the guests a unique holiday experience in one of the best beaches in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Villa Romero de Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Romero Boracay Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing