We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“great hotel, but not at the beach front” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henann Lagoon Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Henann Lagoon Resort
Ranked #9 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“great hotel, but not at the beach front”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The rooms are clean, well-maintained and spacious, most of which come with 2 double beds. The hotel environs is very meticulously maintained (for instance, hallway sand ashtrays are cleaned and stamped with the hotel's shell logo everyday).

The hotel pool is world class, and is one of the biggest attractions of this hotel (as well as the other Regency hotel by the beach).

Food and service is average. The breakfast buffet is tasty and plentiful enough, but don't expect something memorable since it's just the usual bacon, eggs and sausages everyday. The hotel staff are friendly and attentive enough, but not hospitable, welcoming or enthusiastic.

The hotel's location is an issue -- it's not by the beach front. You can either take a 2- to 3-minute walk to the beach front or a one-minute ride on a shuttle. It's an almost imperceptible inconvenience, and plenty of hotel patrons actually consider it a plus since it makes the hotel quieter compared some other beachfront hotels. But if what you're looking for is action the second you step out of your hotel, this isn't for you.

Another thing about the location is that while it's a very short walk to the beachfront (not even five minutes, the hotel's owner emphasized to us one time over breakfast), you'd have to walk through typical Philippine alleys. It's not dangerous or anything, but you will have to deal with tricycles (motorized pedicabs), trisikads (ordinary, bike-powered pedicabs), cars, dust, water puddles and the like, all under the heat of our tropical Philippine sun. It may be a shot walk, but it's not necessarily pleasant.

Overall, I consider this hotel excellent. I stay here with my wife and kids every year when we go to Boracay for New Year celebrations (although I must admit my wife and I are considering staying at El Centro next time -- kind of hard walking to the beach with three very young kids, one of whom has autism).

Room Tip: They're a bit pricier, but we always go for the rooms by the pool. We just jump right in with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pacang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    169
    34
    6
    7
See reviews for
141
169
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I were walking along the Main Road on Boracay Island when we passed by the Regency Lagoon Resort and decided to check it out.

We found out that they had a dinner buffet for PhP 495+ [doesn't include 21% tax] and 50% off on their cocktails. We ordered Chi-chi which was an amazing cocktail - the pineapple and coconut cream mix was luscious.

We stayed for dinner and sat next to the pool area. The service is excellent and the buffet selection was really good.

If you should find yourself in Boracay Island, this is a great place to have dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I've been to boracay several times, and I must say this is the best resort I've been to that is very near Station 2.

LOCATION
The resort is located on the small main road around 100 to 200 meters away parallel to the beach front, You can just do a quick 5 minute walk, or use the resort's free golf cart shuttle service to their sister property, the Boracay Regency. I am not a big fan of staying on the beach front (crowded, noisy, overdeveloped), so the Regency lagoon's location is perfect.

The "talipapa" market is also only a block away, so you can do your "pasalubong" shopping there.

POOL
The pool is HUGE! It's like you have your own private oasis, and you will not want to leave the resort anymore.

ROOMS
The rooms are big and spacious. We got the 2nd floor room with a view of the pool. Amenities are top notch.

FOOD
We loved the breakfast buffet. The provide a wide assortment of choices, and the restaurant is located poolside so the ambiance is priceless.

VALUE FOR MONEY
This resort is cheaper compared to their beachfront property - Boracay Regency. We saved around P2000 per person by simply choosing the Regency Lagoon.

Room Tip: Try to get the 1st floor rooms with balconies that open directly to the pool. Its like you have your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank changky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This place is amazing. From the moment you arrive at the airport, you can already relax because they will take care of everything. They have their own van and their own speed boat to reach the island. From there, they will pick you up in another van then drive you to the hotel.

I was a bit surprised when we arrived that the picture of the room, pool and resort that we see on their website is exactly what you will get and experience once you're there. The rooms were very clean, the view from the balcony was great and most of all, the food was really good. It was quite far from the beach but that was fine because they have a golf cart shuttle that you can take any time (until 10 pm). This resort really had a service with a smile. For all the staff that was on their shift during my stay, my hat is off to you guys!

I highly highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brettfuzzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

It has to be one of the most satisfying stays I have ever had in any hotel globally. This hotel is 5 mins walking distance from White Beach and meets all requirements of a potential Boracay reveller. They have a lovely swimming pool and the staff is extremely friendly and courteous. The chef remembered what I had ordered a day earlier for breakfast. That's what I call really personalised service... The rooms are clean, airy and spacious with a lovely balcony overlooking the pool.
2 things that didn't work for me - No free wifi in the room and poor selection of breakfast set for vegetarians. For a non vegetarian - i enjoyed my ham and cheese omelet :)
I will stay here again If I come back to Boracay

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Prajit_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united states
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel simply went beyond meeting my expectations. The transfer was hassle free and very quick via the hotel's speed boat. Check in was a breeze. We were even accompanied by the receptionist named Keevin to our room and gave us helpful infos about the hotel and the island. Service was very personalized, I may say. The housekeeping, gym, pool and cafe staff were all very polite, courteous and very attentive to your needs specifically a waiter named Marnel who seemed to be very hardworking. Breakfast buffet was delicious and had a variety of food to choose from catering to the taste of different nationalities. I got the chance to see the different room types and I'd say they are all well designed. The hotel can boast of it's very beautiful and vast pool! The gym would be better if it was bigger with more equipments. Regency Lagoon is a service oriented hotel that aims to please it's guests and was successful in doing so during my kinda long vacation in Boracay. I am one pleased and satisfied guest who will definitely be back! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Request for a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived a little early and were given welcome drinks and asked to wait poolside. There's wifi but only in the lobby.
Pro's
* Great shuttle golf carts that drop you off regency near the beach.
* There's a small shop with just about anything you could need.
Cons:
* A/C for our superior room was noisy and loud.
* bathroom with no windows
* no beachview

Room Tip: Higher floors are recommended because all rooms have pool views and may be quite see-through if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antonyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.4 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#5 of 145 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
0.9 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Henann Garden Resort
Henann Garden Resort
#12 of 145 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
0.4 mi away
Discovery Shores Boracay
Discovery Shores Boracay
#2 of 145 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henann Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henann Lagoon Resort

Property: Henann Lagoon Resort
Address: Station 2, Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines (Formerly Regency Lagoon Resort)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Henann Lagoon Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Henann Lagoon Resort aims to provide affordable luxury and privacy in the comforts of its 221 well-appointed rooms and suites. Managed by Henann Group of Resorts, the same management with Boracay Regency Beach Resort and Spa and Henann Garden Resort, guests are assured of value for money accommodations, world-class facilities, and impeccable hospitality. The resort is home to a 1,200 square meter lagoon-shaped pool that features a sunken pool bar. All rooms feature a private balcony that promises a magnificent view of the pool's crystalline blue water. Guests can also experience international cuisine in a unique poolside setting at Lagoon Cafe. The resort also has a modern fitness center, convenience store, business center, resort-wide Wi-Fi access (charge) and free shuttle to the beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Henann Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Lagoon Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing