We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic View and Relaxing Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cohiba Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cohiba Villas
Ranked #7 of 165 Specialty Lodging in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Sarawak
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic View and Relaxing Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The view from the room is very relaxing and the rooms bedding is ok also. There is free shuttle to the D'mall every hour till mid night. The food at the cafe is also quite nice although not the most delicious. Just the swimming pool need to clean more often. Overall the staffs here is very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEng2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    97
    30
    13
    6
See reviews for
100
54
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The villa is a little out of the place, so it can be good or bad depending on how you see it!
But traveling from the villa to town isnt hard, the villa provides transportation to the town and back at every hour interval. The van departs sharply! So be sure to get to the waiting spot early.

I like every part of the hotel, from cleanliness to its tranquility.

The only part that I HATE the most is the CLIMB!!!!!!
The villa is located on the hill top, therefore the rooms and the reception counter are built on different level so each time, you are going out of the villa, you are required to walk uphill to the reception counter, and that is indeed the tedious part!

We threw two parties during our stay with the villa.
One by the pool side, another in our room.

All our guests love the scenery and it is not hard for our guests to locate the villa.
All motorcycle taxi, know the hotel.

If you are someone who loves to soak by the pool, all by yourself, this villa is perfect for you.
During our stay, we (three of us) basically dominates the whole pool to ourselves. Only occasionally we have other hotel guests, to join us at the pool. But most of the time, we are all by ourselves.

I absolutely love the exclusivity of this hotel.

The pictures that the hotel advertised are TRUE to the core!
What you see on the pictures are what you get in real life!

Another thing of the villa is the SPACE in the room. We got ourselves a 3bedroom apartment, and gosh I tell you, the space we occupied, is HUGE!!! And I am not kidding you!

The room amenities are quite well equipped. Except it has no washing machines. The room comes with free wifi and an ipod/iphone dock.

All the three bedrooms have fresh linen everyday.
During the day, every part of the room can receive ample sunlight and that is something I totally adore! The yang energy is so powerful that, each morning you feel so recharged.

The wind at night is very very very strong so leave nothing at balcony, be warned!

Room Tip: Three bedroom apartment is HUGE love the space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james5577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Cohiba Villas is one of those unexpected treasures you'll find in the Island of Boracay. We stayed there for 4 nights and each night was really pleasant. We got a two-bedroom villa just beyond the hotel entrance.

The view of our balcony was priceless! We woke up to the view and tranquility of the Bulabog beach. We opted to stay at this side of Boracay to have a relaxing vaction this time around and avoid the madness happening in white beach. The wifi in our room (for free!) has reliable connection to the Internet which is a really good inclusion to the almost perfect room. Beds were huge! The master bedroom's bathroom even has a jacuzzi in it although we never got around in using it because of electrical/mechanical problems. Bedroom number 2 does not have a bathroom (it was outside the bedroom) and 2nd bathroom only had basic fixtures and looked rather normal--just toilet, shower and a wash basin. Complimentary bathroom soaps/shampoos are pretty basic as well.

The hotel has hourly shuttles to and from D'Mall. Earliest shuttle leaves the hotel at 8am (last trip departs D'Mall at 12am), which I think could do better since travelers would like to make most of their holidays. It takes about 10-15 minutes for shuttles to get to D'Mall. Their infinity pool was really nice. It's big and really pretty although the climb down to the pool would be too much for old people. The hotel, generally, is designed very well and it makes you feel like you're in a luxury resort somewhere in the Caribbean. The staff weren't the friendliest of people but they were alright. We didn't need them much anyway. The kitchen in our villa was beautiful. There's even an oven so we made baked clams while we were there. We preferred to just cook lunch and dinner in our villa instead of going to restaurants since food in Boracay can be a bit pricey. Hotel transfers, when booked directly at them, can be a little more expensive, so I suggest you make these arrangements with Southwest Travels instead.

The hotel charges around 5USD for special shuttles (any time, anywhere within the island) since regular commute would not do because of its location (up the mountains). We paid around 195USD/night (through myboracayguide.com) for our 2-bedroom villa which was value for money!

All in all, we had a very pleasant stay at Cohiba Villas and we're sure to return!

Room Tip: Request for a room with a view of the beach since some rooms do not have them. Also, hotel does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eggpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotabato City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

After a 5 days stay at Monaco Suites, we decided to try other resorts. I chose Cohiba villas based from looking at their website and from the reviews.
A private van of our previous resort graciously took us to Cohiba. Upon arrival, 2 staff were eating snack at the entrance, gave us a glance and continued eating. I had to call one guy to inform them that we are an arriving guests. We checked in and were given a 2 bedroom villa that is close to the pool, after a few minutes stay we felt that it was freaklin' hot in the living room area, so we called the front desk to inform them. After some discussions, we were given a better villa which has an air conditioned living room. We opted to stay as we have paid cash for our 4 nights stay.
There is no bathroom amenities except for a very small soap. No complimentary bottled water.
Three days before our departure, i requested the front desk for a transfer from the resort to the airport which is 600php/pax. So i was assured that every thing is already arranged. On our
departure day ( 530am). The female staff on duty, is trying to arrange with the driver on duty our transfer. To our dismay, the driver refused to take us to the airport, for the reason that he has other guests to take to the airport, and he wanted us to take the same van with them so he can save one trip. We had a flight to catch at 730am so i told them we should leave at once.
The front desk officer and the driver were discussing in front of us in their native dialect which i can understand. We were really disappointed thinking that this hotel charges 260usd/night, has poor service.
I recommend that the staff be subjected to seminars/ trainings on how to run a resort. The front desk needs renovation and remodelling.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a/c in the living room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ma teresa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

the room is very nice with three bed rooms and nice view outside. it is so big and the people in that hotel provide a nice service. it has bus to the S2 every hour so we fill very convenite. we will stay that hotel again in next year when we come

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZHU J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was pleasant. Very large one bedroom suite. No view. The room was clean but rather stark... no furnishings or artwork to complement the surrounding beauty of Boracay. If the room was a little more "welcoming", we probably would have spent more time in it. Did appreciate the free shuttle service to and from DMall.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WhiteKnight0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had 2 days here,in the Suite C.The view from windows is sooooooo great,the swimming pool is great too,we love it so much.And when it comes to the night,the whole villa become quite and serene.The only thing anonying us is the location,a little far from Dmall,though it has scheduled bus to there.And for the price,it's a little expensive for us,so we just spent 2 days there.If I go Boracay again,I'd like to live in there for another 2 days.Hope you can give me a great discount,haha.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liu_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.5 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#27 of 150 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
7Stones Boracay Suites
7Stones Boracay Suites
#25 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nigi Nigi Too Beach Resort
Nigi Nigi Too Beach Resort
#11 of 165 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cohiba Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cohiba Villas

Property: Cohiba Villas
Address: Bolabog | Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 165 Specialty Lodging in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cohiba Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Cohiba Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cohiba Villas Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing