We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Short of Excellent”
Review of Astoria Boracay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astoria Boracay
Ranked #3 of 152 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Can't say anything bad about the hotel's architecture and design. It is a beautiful structure. The rooms are big with comfortable queen-sized beds. All rooms have a "calm" vibe. My room had a 4-seater dining table and mini-kitchen complete with microwave oven. No full-length mirror but the 2 mirrors (room and bathroom) were more than adequate. The bathrooms are large with a tub and a chic shower head. All rooms have a view of the pool. The restaurant is light and airy with very interesting fish-themed decor. Everything is clean and well-thought out.

Their staff is wonderful! Their manager, Ms. Joy, the F & B manager and the head waiter were all super efficient and went the extra step to satisfy clients. Everyone is helpful and polite. They even helped out magnificently when told that we needed an emergency cake because one of our party was celebrating a birthday.

However, in spite of its location in Station 1, it is in the noisy and people-filled part of Station 1 (aka near Station 2). This hotel is ok for a business meeting I guess, but not for a couples vacation. The food was ok but not consistent. There were some buffet spreads that were super delicious but there were some that were just ok. To their credit, there was no bad buffet. I must say though that their coffee was not good.

The beach is not visible from the rooms but can be seen from the restaurant. The beachfront is wide, however, because of the time of the year (monsoon time), there was the obligatory wind barrier that just ruined the view and the experience. Of course this is no fault of the hotel. It just ruined the overall experience.

The rates are a little high but for the size of the room, I guess they are justifiable. This is not a hotel for the budget traveler. It looks posh, it feels posh and one gets what he pays for.

All in all, the experience was positive. But since I am a coffee addict, their coffee really destroyed it for me. Good thing Starbucks was just a few steps away. Would I go back? Definite maybe.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplepinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 859 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed in Astoria for 3 days with friends last September 2012. The place is really clean and the staff are quick to reply to your needs. The location though isn't great; they say that they're in Station 1 but it feels closer to Station 2 where it's a bit crowded and the beach front isn't great. If you're looking for a quiet place to stay I'd suggest another place. But if you want to be closer to the action then Astoria would be good enough.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Gabriel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

It was my first time in Boracay with bestfriend and we have had a great time. Activities were fun but what makes it better is starting it with buffet breakfast :) There were variety of food to choose from and really yummy. And at the end of each day, though tired, we were comfortably relaxing in our room :) I love their room :) I enjoyed their swimming pool :) All in all experience in Astoria is EXCELLENT from delicious food, accommodating staff, amenities, service and all. I wish I can still go back :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mhalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The beauty of Astoria Boracay's design is very relaxing. It's elegant and very cozy. Guest population is ideal, not very crowded. They have nightly bands playing so that's interesting. Internet access is superb and free (yeah, even inside the room! So that's perfect!). Service of the staff is not as good as I was expecting but the hotel manager is great. This property is also very well located. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aishadizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

There is nothing else you'll look for when in Astoria Boracay...
Some disturbing incident made us miss our dinner reservations and I was fuming mad but alas - F&B Manager for Astoria - Ed Cordova came to the rescue and made a way for us to have our desired by the sea dinner with succulent fresh seafood grilled to perfection. With the excellent service by the staff - even the dinner roll was extraordinarily delicious...
The fire dance performance was special too...
Ed even graced us by our table to see how we were before getting lost in the endless sea of people and concerns he still had to attend to... Next time I go to Boracay... It'll be Astoria Boracay for me - even my daughters aged 2 and 4 will surely have a blast. When you chance to drop by anytime soon - look for Ed Cordova and he'll take care of you!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ton2aguilardelirious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Astoria was definitely a nice place to stay in Boracay. The resort was very clean with a cool modern design. Our room was nice and large as well. I thought the location was good too. It was within walking distance of most things like shopping. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms could've used more towels and toilet paper. There was also constant construction going on while we were there. We had a room on the second floor so it wasn't as noticeable as it would've been had we stayed on the first floor.

The food in the restaurant was okay, not great. I thought it was overpriced compared to the many other places to eat in the area. We had a great waiter for breakfast. However, for dinner the wait staff was very, very slow. I'd recommend eating elsewhere at least for dinner.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Astoria.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SantaM0nicaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I was planning my first trip to Boracay and was totally confused as to where to stay. Some suggested Station 1 (S1) and some Station 2 (S2). Some said S1 has the best beach sand and others said S1 is too boaring. Some said S2 is very busy and can get conjusted.
Finally, after reading several reviews, I decided to stay at Astoria with my family. We booked three rooms for 5 nights.
This was one of the best decisions I ever made with regards to my travel.
From the time we landed Caticlan airport, Astoria's manager - Mr. ROBBY MIJARES was in touch with me. I felt so good when I received his call. He guided me at every step till we reached Asotria. Other staff namely - Mr. DWANE SOMBERO and Ms. SHAREE MAY YSULAT were extremely friendly. They made our stay extraordinarily comfortable. It felt like home, away from home. They were always available to help, with a smile, regardless of the time of day.
Astoria is located at the perfect spot - between S1 and S2.
We couldnt have chosen a better place. During our 6 days stay, we roamed around entire beach and realized we chose the best hotel :)
Everytime I go back to Boracay, I am staying at Astoria.
Highly recommendable.

Munish Mahajan

Room Tip: We had a room on ground floor (next to pool) and 2 rooms on first floor. All were extremely nice, sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MUNISH M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1 mi away
Astoria Current
Astoria Current
#2 of 152 in Boracay
679 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#7 of 152 in Boracay
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Discovery Shores Boracay
0.7 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#4 of 152 in Boracay
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Boracay

Address: Station 1 | Malay, Aklan, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: $132 - $572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Astoria Boracay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious contemporary resort sits on a 3,500 square meter beachfront prime location. Conveniently situated on the island's Station 1, it offers guests an ideal retreat on the world famous White Beach, within close proximity to shopping, popular restaurants and the hottest bars and lounges. The resort's 71 sound proof and non-smoking rooms and suites provide the perfect island setting, with an inspiring tropical atmosphere ideal for romantic getaways or lively nightlife activities. Astoria Boracay's spacious accommodations are all modern and stylishly designed with a local twist and range from 26-50 square meters that offer private balconies or terrace views, individual climate control air-conditioning, 32" LCD TV, DVD player, complimentary internet access, personal refrigerator, electronic room safe, telephone and voice mail, tea and coffee making facilities and complete bathroom amenities. The resort offers it's unique Tropical Free-Style Cuisine and Fresh Catch of The Day at White Cafe, it's own al fresco restaurant and coffee shop. Relax, unwind and catch the breathtaking views at the end of the day at Vibe, providing the perfect ending to a day of activities with your favorite drink in hand. There are function rooms for social events, beach weddings and parties, corporate meetings and launches. In-room dining is also available at Astoria Boracay. Together with the beautifully landscaped gardens and unique cocoon loungers, guests can also enjoy the resort's 22-metre long swimming pool and laze on their wonderful crescent or submerged pool loungers. Astoria's Guest Service Agents can book reservations for all guests wanting to sample water sports activities (banana boat rides, jet skiing, wind surfing, snorkeling, kite-boarding, sailing, scuba diving and courses) island tours, trekking, hiking and local tours. The resort is currently fully accredited by the Philippine Department of Tourism and enjoys a AAA rating (equivalent to 5 star category). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Astoria Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Boracay Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing