We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Boracay Gems - Jade Villa”
Review of Boracay Gems

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boracay Gems
Ranked #54 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Boracay
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Boracay Gems Jade Villa is a beach front property at Bulabog beach that has a fantastic sunrise view. Located on the other Side of Station 1 , 2 and Station 3.
Getting from Bulabog Beach to Boracay Station 1 and 2 would take more or less than 15 minutes. D’ Mall at around 8 to 10 minutes. Jade villa is a very decent place to stay at located on the quiet and peaceful side of Boracay yet just a few minutes from all the necessities you would require from restaurants to local stores, pharmacies, market place, groceries and bars.
My fiancé and myself loved the place, I was sceptical at first but i soon changed my mind and was satisfied with our stay however it could have been better.

Cons:
- The Jacuzzi was not working. In a previous review it was mentioned that it was out of order, had a conversation with the manager regarding the issue. I was then assured that it would be functional upon our arrival. 2 months later upon arriving Jacuzzi was not functional and the manager was not answering my calls. Talked with the person at the office but he pretty much didn’t have any authority to do anything about it.

- Backdoor/ fence has broken locks that has direct access on the entire quarters. Connected by the stairs leading towards the Onyx room which can over see the shower room that doesn’t have any curtains nor blinds to cover your privacy, wherein you can also be seen at the balcony of the 7 stones resort that is just at the adjoining side

- No specific time for room service and at one point while we were at the living room watching TV 3 people suddenly opened our door without knocking or checking if we were inside imagine our surprise and there surprise the other 2 scurried away the other one grabbed the light switch. They were not carrying any cleaning equipments nor towel replacements. (the people were the 3 hired help managing the office). (explained tha they were there to switch on the outside lights...all three of them..)

- The beach front is not crowded with people however it is crowded with boats especially at night time.

Pros:
- Having a beautiful, wonderful and lovely person whom you cherish, adore and love
beside you on the duration of your stay. Nothing beats that.. = ]

Room Tip: - check if jacuzzi is working before booking at Jade's villa. and double check upon arrival with...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Delfin Fernando A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Boracay Gems
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 38 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

I booked the onyx room on Agoda. In the website, the pictures of the room are awesome, it shows that the room has a beach view, a balcony, a kitchen and a bedroom. But when my two friends and I arrived the hotel, we felt devastated. There is no balcony, no kitchen, the bathroom is incredibly small. The room is in the attic! and of course there is a beach view, through the little dirty window which is behind the bed! The air conditioning is noisy and with a terrible smell like smelly feet.

We complaint the problem to the receptionist and showed the pictures on the website to her. She told us the pictures are of the Ruby room but not the Onyx one, but she can't change room for us even there's no one staying in the Ruby room, but we can pay another several hundred RMB to upgrade. Then she said it's the problem of agoda but not them. Jesus Christ they are who provided the pictures in the first place!

Then we called agoda and luckily they fixed the problem. But when I checked recently on the website, the pictures of the Onxy room remain the same. I don't know how many people have been cheated and how many will be. I just want to write this review to warn the other tourist, you should think it over when you choose the hotel. But to be honest, the ruby room is nice. However the air conditioner of the room is still poor, the air comes out of it smells like someone is peeing....

Also one more thing, even though the boracay gems and the 7 stones are of the same boss, don't believe the "boracay gems guests can use the swimming poor of 7 stones" crap.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank liqueur619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Boracay gems is a pretty small beachfront property that is peaceful and has fantastic view of the sunrise. It's located right next to 7Stones resort. However, it has no facilities. No pool or cafe but wifi is available in the rooms. Contrary to some of the past reviews, guests are not or no longer allowed to use the pool at 7Stones, even if you patronize the pool bar. But the 7th Note cafe serves up pretty good food. There was a security person who sits outside the front office till wee hours but there is no staff after 8pm.

We stayed at the ocean view studio, Onyx room, which was just right for 2pax. Not sure if it happens to other hotels along this side of the island, but the electricity supply fluctuates throughout the day so we had blackouts during showers and aircon keeps getting turned on and off. Other than that and the Mosquitos that bothered us, it's location and room was pretty decent for the price. It's about 6-8mins walk across the island to D'mall.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank pamcyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

A bit of a strange set-up, in that Seven Stones resort is conjoined with Boracay Gems (same owners but leased out?), with a couple of the rooms actually on the corner of Seven Stones (101A & B) & the rest as villas around the corner & overlooking Bulabog beach.

Overall, rooms are very spacious & certainly value for money. In our Opal Villa we had 3 Samsung TV's with surround sound...none of which every got switched on. Whilst it can definitely accommodate 2 couples with a bedroom upstairs & downstairs, there was only one shower. Three of our friends stayed at 101A & B, with the latter being a larger living area etc. with jacuzzi bath, but only one bed.

Some oddities were the lack of towels & normal shower commodities; that one of our lounge window (if blinds raised) looked straight into the small managment office & that there appears to be a bit of confusion all round as to whether guests of Boracay Gems can use the Seven Stones pool.

I was personally told on two occasions that I wasn't allowed to by a surly security/lifeguard/gardener, but then when I insisted I was & that we also had friends in 101A & B (part of Seven Stones, but booked through Boracay Gems) - he left us alone. However, the swim-up barmen & restaurant staff couldn't be more enthusiastic to see us & happily served us/took our money.

Resort is right on the beach, which is great. However, due to the wind/season, lots of boats were moored here & not particularly nice for any swimming - while on White Beach, about 10mins walk across the island, it was often blowing a gale, with tumultuous seas. So while we booked this resort for direct beach access & kitesurfing, it was actually held over on White Beach, at the far end of Zone 3.

The weather is now changing though, so the kitesurfing will move back to Bulabog Beach, the boats will move away & White Beach will calm down & be much cleaner with offshore winds etc.

Close to this resort & on the initial alleys toward White Beach is a small restaurant called Munchies. Six of us ate/drank here & were surprised with how good the food/service/price was - so would thoroughly recommend it.

For more upmarket, can suggest the Lemon Cafe in D'Mall (try the Eggs Benedict) & for Filipino fusion dinner on White Beach, you must try Mesa. A bit pricier, but the food is great, as is the Dos Mestizos spanish place a bit further down, close to the Police station.

For divers, I can suggest Calypso Divers - very professional & good value at 1600 peso for a fun dive with equipment. Seriously wanted to see the Camia shipwreck, but conditions only allowed that on our final day, only 5hrs before flying.

For anyone wanting to mail postcards, the post office is right at the end of Zone 1 on White Beach & a bit of a trek. However, there's a large tourist centre between Zones 2 & 3 that have all the facilities.

Great place with great friends, had a wonderful time & we'd all love to come again (except when there are a gazillion tourists at the height of the seasion & you get asked every 2 metres whether you want a boat trip/island hopping). Oh & if you're into pearls (does anybody under 70 from UK/US?) - there's plenty of those being offered as well....though I think they'd have better luck trying to sell sunscreen & water!

Room Tip: The rooms are different/not uniform, so choose the one that suits you/your family
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Family trip with 6 adults and 1 child for 4 days.We Stayed on Ruby villa.Room was ideal for family because of 2 rooms and a kitchen.The villa was exactly located on the seaside with a cozy view of Boracay sunrise while having your breakfast.
Be carefull with the rate,website rate was lower than the actual rate.Hotel staff was approachable and friendly.Wifi was free but totally useless for the rest of our stay, need to ask the staff to reset the wifi every time we need to connect the internet.Staff insisting it's due to the weather, but what's surprising is we can connect to the wifi of nearby hotel.Villa had only 1 bathroom and not ideal for more than 4 guest.Bathroom sink was clogged when we arrived and attended by staff itself the next day.Window on upper room can't close fully and open for mosquitoes and other insects.Informed the staff regarding the matter but it was not attended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I can't imagine I'm writing this review when I'm suppose to enjoy my holiday now!
Pearl is located at 7 Stones instead. It is an adjoining room 101A to 101B. When we first step foot into the compound, it was so nice. Can tell that it was kind of neglected as it was dusty but the house keeping did a decent job the next day to clean up the room. We were then told that we can use the pool at 7 Stones which was a bonus! But when we wanted to get a towel at the bar the staff just told us off that we were different. Meaning not managed by 7 Stones and therefore can't use their towels but still allow to use the pool. Why such arrangement?We were totally treated like second class!
And then now laying on the bed, I felt like screaming at my neighbor next door (Rm101A)! They are blasting the music away, talking and laughing so loudly and worst of all, smoking!!! Come on... It's a non smoking room!! The adjoining rooms have really thin walls and the door is slightly dented thus smell and sound can really penetrate through. Last few days were fine as they only checked in this afternoon. Can't complain to 7 Stones now as its not under their management. Can't complain to Boracay Gems too as their reception closed at 8pm. Luckily it's our last night here and we don't have to put up with this for another day. Hope no one has to go through what we went through.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peridotitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Three of us stayed in Ruby villa for 3 nights. We arrived early and the villa was not ready. Once we were back from lunch, our villa was all ready to be occupied. It has 2 rooms, a living hall equipped with sound system and a large TV, a kitchen with cooking facilities - stove, pots and pans, cutleries and plates and a fridge. However, there is only 1 toilet and there was no bathtub. Each villa has direct access to Bulabog beach. It's the perfect location for sunrise and is away from all the noise coming from pubs and bars.

Boracay Gems is located next to 7 Stones. where you can hop over to utilise their sundeck chairs or hammock. It is just 5 minutes walking distance from D Mall and whola, the White Beach. Wifi works perfectly in the villa and the selection of TV channels were great. Housekeeping will service the villa on a daily basis.

We cooked our own breakfast. We bought eggs, luncheon meat, milk and yoghurt from the convenient shop.

However, Bulabog beach is not really fantastic. The sand feels a little muddy although the water is clear. Not really suitable for swimming. Be mindful when you use the safebox in the room. It does not run on electricity but AA batteries. If the batteries dries up, you may be in trouble.

Room Tip: Choose the room with jacuzzi.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BudgetPaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
Club Boracay Apartelle
Club Boracay Apartelle
#50 of 175 in Boracay
3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reef Retreat Resort
Reef Retreat Resort
#23 of 226 in Boracay
149 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sundown Beach Studios
Sundown Beach Studios
#31 of 175 in Boracay
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Calypso Beach & Dive Resort
1.1 mi away
Boracay Beach Houses
Boracay Beach Houses
#26 of 175 in Boracay
49 reviews
0.9 mi away
DiveGurus Boracay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boracay Gems? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boracay Gems

Address: Road 1A, Bulabog Beach, Malay, Aklan Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Boracay
Price Range: $42 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boracay Gems 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boracay Gems is a 4-star luxury beachfront boutique resort located in Bulabog Beach, the eastern side of Boracay Island which becomes a kiteboarding and windsurfing paradise during the Amihan season. During the Habagat season when winds come from the west, Bulabog Beach becomes a haven for those who seek peace and tranquility from the bustling White Beach. It only takes a 10-minute walk to reach D'Mall and 15 minutes to White Beach and its beachfront nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boracay Gems reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing