We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trully a gem!”
Review of Boracay Gems

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boracay Gems
Ranked #46 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Boracay
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Trully a gem!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Three of us stayed in Ruby villa for 3 nights. We arrived early and the villa was not ready. Once we were back from lunch, our villa was all ready to be occupied. It has 2 rooms, a living hall equipped with sound system and a large TV, a kitchen with cooking facilities - stove, pots and pans, cutleries and plates and a fridge. However, there is only 1 toilet and there was no bathtub. Each villa has direct access to Bulabog beach. It's the perfect location for sunrise and is away from all the noise coming from pubs and bars.

Boracay Gems is located next to 7 Stones. where you can hop over to utilise their sundeck chairs or hammock. It is just 5 minutes walking distance from D Mall and whola, the White Beach. Wifi works perfectly in the villa and the selection of TV channels were great. Housekeeping will service the villa on a daily basis.

We cooked our own breakfast. We bought eggs, luncheon meat, milk and yoghurt from the convenient shop.

However, Bulabog beach is not really fantastic. The sand feels a little muddy although the water is clear. Not really suitable for swimming. Be mindful when you use the safebox in the room. It does not run on electricity but AA batteries. If the batteries dries up, you may be in trouble.

Room Tip: Choose the room with jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BudgetPaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Two of us stayed at Jade Executive Villa while my two other friends stayed at Opal Deluxe Villa for 3 nights.

-It is only 5 minutes walk from D Mall. There is a really delicious chicken stall nearby at the junction just right next to the open pool table stall place.
-Booked transfer from the Southwest Tour Boracay and the person led us the way to Boracay Gems.
-We were given some discount because the Jacuzzi has broken down. Also, they changed the light bulbs for us instantly when some lights weren't working.
-Really awesome and nice receptionist! She greeted us with huge smiles each time we came back to the villa.
-The villa is exactly like what it is shown on the website.
-Kitchen is fully equipped.
-Only few steps away from the beach! And it is a really windy place to stay in because it is the place for kite boarding.
-Love the balcony where you can sit in and enjoy the sea view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TryMyBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

You can trust the professional pictures.

We got an upgrade, so we stayed in the Jade Villa. Jinky (the receptionist/manager) gave us a warm welcome. She was able to get the villa ready well before we arrived so check-in time was like--5 minutes.

PROS:
- All the villas have their own cute little gate that has direct access to the beach. Boracay Gems has a sort of gate house that has someone keeping watch well into the wee hours of the morning.
- Friendly staff and very accommodating. They didn't have an intercom system or anything but they were available no matter what time of the day we hollered for help.
- Right in front of the watersports stuff... Convenient since it really wiped us out and we needed to take a quick break/nap/beer before plunging back into the water. So I guess if you're looking to spend more time scuba-diving and kitesurfing, this is the best side of the island for you.
- The WIFI connection was good. My boyfriend had to work for one whole day, and had no problems with the connection.
- NO NOISE. :) Just the sound of the waves crashing against the shore.
- There are only 4 units--so the staff-to-guest ratio is efficient enough.

CONS:
- No room service or free breakfast, though each villa does have its own kitchen if you like cooking your own grub. We had to hop over to the hotel next door where our friends were staying, to avail of the buffet breakfast. It cost us Php550 each, and filled us up very nicely. There were other breakfast spots along that beach too that costs around Php120 a meal.
- Located at the back beach--if you're into partying, foodtripping and instant gratification, but not really that much of a walker, consider that this place is a 4-5minute walk from the main road. Rent a bike or a scooter.

Room Tip: When we were there, it was during the lean season and therefore the local government's best time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAnnah Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Very decent place to stay, I had the cheapest room and it was alright. Located on the quiet side of Boracay but still very short walking distance from the Action.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelvietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

For our short Boracay vacation, we loved staying at Boracay Gems. It is perfectly located in Bulabog beach. I liked this side of the island because it is not crowded, and still the necessities are nearby. Staying in Boracay Gems is definitely getting your money's worth because the beach is literally just a few steps from your villa. In the mornings, I love lazying on the couches in front of the villa, and watch the morning sun and the busy tourists and locals do about their business. The villas are really furnished, complete with ref, microwave oven, stove, plate sets - you can actually buy the good seafoods from d'talipapa and cook in the villa, just like home! The villas are clean, the bedroom and the bathroom are furnished with your needs, the staffs are very friendly and attentive to your needs. I particularly loved the breakfast they serve, because they are not only delicious but the servings are very generous as well. And I have to give plus points to the hotel's security, they are on guard 24/7, you dont have to worry about anything! And when it was time to leave, I was aching because I didnt want to leave, I was about to call it home. :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VineVanguardia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.6 mi away
Aloha Boracay Hotel
Aloha Boracay Hotel
#48 of 145 in Boracay
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Boracay Apartelle
Club Boracay Apartelle
#51 of 169 in Boracay
3 reviews
0.4 mi away
LuxeView Hotel
LuxeView Hotel
#43 of 222 in Boracay
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Levantin
Levantin
#18 of 222 in Boracay
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aissatou Beach Resort
Aissatou Beach Resort
#19 of 222 in Boracay
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palassa Private Residences
Palassa Private Residences
#24 of 222 in Boracay
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boracay Gems? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boracay Gems

Property: Boracay Gems
Address: Road 1A, Bulabog Beach, Aklan Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boracay Gems 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boracay Gems is a 4-star luxury beachfront boutique resort located in Bulabog Beach, the eastern side of Boracay Island which becomes a kiteboarding and windsurfing paradise during the Amihan season. During the Habagat season when winds come from the west, Bulabog Beach becomes a haven for those who seek peace and tranquility from the bustling White Beach. It only takes a 10-minute walk to reach D'Mall and 15 minutes to White Beach and its beachfront nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boracay Gems reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing