We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort in boracay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 147 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best resort in boracay”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel is very clean. The rooms are spacious and very tidy. The service is excellent. The employees are very helpful, very friendly and very respectful. They are very attentive to all your needs. They have a nice swimming pool. And a nice semi private beach. The hotel is fully booked but you don't feel cramped and crowded in the hotel. Even if the hotel is fully booked but service is still excellent. They have an adventure zone for your kids. (very very nice play area). A very very memorable experience. Great job shangrila boracay!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovely082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,086
    414
    137
    52
    32
See reviews for
976
1,070
87
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bulacan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Bathrooms area deceiving in the picture(Aging needs renovation).Discovery Shores much better.Staff more accomodating to foreigbers than locals.Housekeeping seems to rush you on checkout time. Few activities.




  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Vitgilio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We were supposed to stay at the Shangri La Boracay for six nights but we had cut our stay short due to Super-typhoon Hiyan opting not to stay and weather the storm.

We were staying in a private one bedroom villa with infinity pool and garden. Our butler Julius was phenomenal - answered our every need and took great care of us.

Most notable in this hotel is service. Always friendly, always helpful and the only exception is Scotty's dive centre which we understood is a third party operator.

Food is also first class in all the various restaurants and eating venues as well as the in room breakfast. We were very lucky to book the private in room barbecue and had a phenomenal chef Allan and waiter. The food was exceptional and so was the service.

The spa is also well appointed however we found being presented with the bill prior to the treatment as awkward and the staff also had to be begged to provide us with treatment underwear. They appeared to want us to have the treatment naked which we were not up too.

The rooms themselves are actually rather average and showing their age with certain elements worn out such as the shower heads and controls. We had issues with the air conditioning being unbelievably noisy on our first night and this disturbed our sleep. We addressed this with our butler and they sent a team to change the kit in the room. This made the situation better but not perfect. The manager did offer to change a villa which I checked out but it had the same issue. It is a matter of age, probably all the equipment by now is reaching the end of its operational life and requires replacement.

The beach itself is pristine and beautiful and the service of drinks, fresh coconuts and food is also top notch. It is a great amenity to have two beaches one of which is entirely private for the hotel which is unique in Boracay.

There are really only two negative points which affect this hotel.

1. Scotty's dive centre. We have booked several water recreations and were disappointed with the staff in the centre and particularly Joy who was not joyful at all. First and foremost the biggest misrepresentation is that none of the activities actually start at the hotel. They all involve being taken to a different location on the island by car or a broken up boat. We eventually became so worried with the performance of the centre that we actually cancelled our diving. This was because when we rented jet skis we were taken to a zone 15 minutes away from the hotel where we hired our jet ski on a floating platform. We were told we can only drive between three orange markers as the other zone belonged to a different company and that goggles which are essential are extra charge and can only be paid cash which we didn't have having gone in swimsuits only. We were also made to sign away our life in waivers and told the Jet Skis are not insured. This experience made us cancel all our other activities save for local boat sailing which we were told is a must. Even that did not start in the hotel and activities always started late with staff asking us repetitively to take a sit and wait which was highly annoying. So avoid the centre if you can. A suggestion for the hotel management is to sack this 3rd party and run their own operation like many other island resorts to ensure that the service in the dive centre activities matches that of the hotel.

2. While Conde Nest and other magazines tell you otherwise the Philippines is still a 3rd world country and this is apparent the second you get our of the resorts enclave. The journey from Manilla to the hotel was unbelievably long, cumbersome, dangerous and unreliable. We flew into Manila from Hong Kong with Philippines airlines. While their business class looked like it was designed and built in the 90s and it probably was with old cathode Ray tube TVs in the ceiling the service and food was 1st class so we had high hopes.

However, upon arriving in Manila we understood the party is over... The airport is cumbersome and badly signed- we had one hour to make our connection to Boracay Airport, aka Godefredo International. The connection between the terminals cannot be done internally so you have to take a shuttle bus between the terminals. The terminals are so far apart that it took 30 minutes to manage the traffic and and the bus driver even asked for money even though the sign says Free Transfer. Be prepared that nothing in the Philippines is free- they feel free to scam you and ask for your money at every corner especially at the airport.

When we finally arrived to the PAL Express terminal we were told our flight had left an hour earlier then on our ticket schedule as Boracay Airport does not have lights and lending depends on sun set and weather. After endless arguing we were told we can fly to Kaliboo international which is 2 hours drive away from the hotels boat transfer terminal... We agreed and this flight was also 90 minutes delayed. We told the hotel of our changed plans and timings and they ensured staff waited for us with a private air conditioned car when we arrived at Kaliboo to take us to the hotel. The whole exercise had wasted a day of our holiday and while not at fault of the hotel neither Kaliboo nor Boracay airport deserve the word international. They are basically each a runway with a single metal shack serving as a terminal.

The road from Kaliboo to the boat terminal is the scariest one we have ever been on and even if flying from Boracay airport directly you have to take the 15-20 minute boat transfer to the hotel.

Thus the whole journey is very cumbersome and is only advised if you are planning to stay for enough nights to make the trouble worth it.





Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank gadir80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My partner and I had booked a tree house villa but, whether because of damage from Typhoon Yolanda or divine intervention, Assistant Manager Oberoi upgraded us to the glorious 2800 square foot One Bedroom Villa with Pool for our 4 night stay. This gorgeous Villa #7 is built high on a hill and overlooks the dazzling blue sea and the pearly white beach, all framed by dense emerald green tropical vegetation. The back patio to the Villa, which faces this astounding view, opens up into a private infinity pool where we swam sans suits as we drank in the unreal vista. When finished, we buzzed our butler who obligingly delivered to us our lunch and a bottle of white wine on his golf cart. Overall, a really fantastic place and a lovely staff.

We ordered our complementary breakfast to our room every morning, except the morning of our departure. We loved the made-to-order breakfast delivered to the room, but the breakfast buffet was definitely worth experiencing as well. We were very happy with the food at Shangri-La, which is fortunate because it is at least a 20 minute journey by shuttle outside of the resort if we wanted to eat elsewhere.

I thought the 2 beaches for Shangri-La guests were superb. There were lounge chairs with umbrellas set up for the guests, and stewards attended to the guests' orders for food and beverages.

We have no complaints with the butlers or the staff at Shangri-La, but it did see to me that the resort was short-handed. I assumed this was a result of the typhoon and earthquake the Philippines experienced shortly before our arrival. It is easy to image that many would want to go home and check on their families.

This is one the most lovely resorts I have ever visited, both as to its natural surroundings and as to its manmade architecture, amenities and service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Went back to the Philippines for a wedding and stayed at my favorite resort in the Island. I guess being that it's my 3rd time, there are certain expectations. My first two stay at the resort was unforgettable. Unfortunately I think the resort is not able to maintain that standards.

Our first night was at the Loft Garden Villa. I was so excited to try this villa.
My favorite in my previous experience staying at the One Bedroom Villa was having your own Butler. Unfortunately the butler did not met our expectations. It took awhile for her to deliver our request. I guess not completely her fault as she does not have her own buggie and the villa was far from the lobby. The most annoying thing was they did our turn down service but kept the living room messy. The glasses, cups, towels weren't replenished. I had to call late night to request for these things so we will be set the next morning.

The villa itself was beautiful. It was great to see the sunrise and sunset at your own privacy.

I moved to a Deluxe room the next 3 nights that I was staying at the resort. My air conditioning was leaking. I would go back in my room around 3pm and it's still not clean, i had to instruct them to make sure to clean it.

They used to give out water bottles but because they are being eco friendly they now use a reusable water bottle however I am still not use to the water in the Island. I find there's a certain taste to it. but if you request they will give you a bottled water so thank god. I barely had time to leave the resort to go to Dmall so am so happy they still provided this one upon special request.

The good side, the breakfast / food has improved. I enjoyed their breakfast very well. The arroz caldo was delicious.

The staff- some were awesome. gave the extra mile and outstanding. but you can't expect all of them to be like that.

The concierge screwed up our flight information but it also has to do with Philippine airlines however we were relayed wrong information so i don't know which one of them was telling the truth.

anyways my recent experience with Shangri-la will be forgotten as I prefer to keep my 2nd experience in my memory.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StellaStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

had a great time here,
Boracay the place, ShangriLa the resort, staff, amenities, spa, beach, food, everything is 7*,
the best place we have been so far,
wish had more days here...
thank you for the wonderful time...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank AJ2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

By sharing that we have visited many luxurious resorts already in our life on many countries, this one was one of the best. Location, respect of privacy, level of hospitality, quality of restaurant, all was outstanding. Especially the main restaurant Rima, and the breakfast buffet was amazing... By considering the disadvantage by locating in an island, it is remarkable to be able to provide such variety of menu every day. We stayed in the sea suite, room was big enough, amenity was fantastic, terrace with day bed & bubble bathtub was of course perfect for us. Though the access is not easy, flights usually delays for several hours, it is worth to stretch legs to go there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Satoshi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
2.0 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#6 of 147 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#2 of 147 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#28 of 147 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
1.2 mi away
Discovery Shores Boracay
2.3 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
Address: | Barangay Yapak, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#3 Spa Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa offers a new level of luxury to the beautiful island of Boracay. Marrying luxury and comfort with a reverence for nature, the 12-hectare resort encompasses 219 rooms including 36 villas and suites, comprehensive leisure facilities, 350 meters of secluded beach front and a thriving ecosystem of diverse, even rare, flora and fauna. With two private beachfronts and an infinity pool, the resort offers a myriad of recreational activities. Those looking to soothe weary senses can head over to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La. A variety of dining options of different cuisines is located within the resort. May it be a family holiday or simply a quiet retreat, Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa is the perfect paradise destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TravelUp, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Boracay Hotel Boracay
Shangri-La`s Boracay Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Boracay Hotel
Shangri Las Boracay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing