We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What Happened???” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 150 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What Happened???”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We've stayed at this resort in 2010 and 2011. We had great experiences back then. For this year, it wasn't as good. Service has certainly changed. We're disappointed. It seems like the staff doesn't know what they're doing or they're not as experienced.
Anyway, we were there for a wedding. We still had a great time despite the little short-comings of the staff.
Some of the decors on the pool has deteriorated.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank SharG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,019
    405
    135
    47
    29
See reviews for
938
1,037
85
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

the room quality, the hotel facility, the dining and the sea view are very good.
The internet is always seamless connected even we we are on the beach.

Comparing with other hotel on the White Beach, we were feeling like we are real VIPs staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank thisisdanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Have to say this resort has made me to refine my best resort around in Asia.

There is nothing I can comment on because everything is perfect so that we don't want to leave.

Shangri-La Boracay is really customer oriented, you could even have the wireless connection on the van to the airport. The food, resort facility, service are fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Mars Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I've traveled in many countries all over the world. This resort is superb! The best I've seen and experienced to-date.
We had our daughter's wedding at the resort - perfect venue! Couldn't ask for more. It was a dream wedding by the beach. The reception at the Sagana ballroom was great. The service is really amazing. After staying in this hotel, it is very hard for me and my family to appreciate other hotels. I recommend this hotel for anyone going to Boracay. You will get the best value for your buck!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Connie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

It was a great experience from the moment we landed at Kalibo airport. We had booked airport transfer on Shangri-La's website and I am glad we did that because the driver received us right at the airport and the ride from Kalibo to Caticlan was comfortable and hassle-free. It took us close to 3 hours to get to Caticlan so if you don't like road trips then flight from Manila to Caticlan should be convenient. I think its easy to get car/bus outside the airport if you don't mind negotiating and are not travelling with the toddlers :-)

The Mabuhay Lounge at the jetty was very good though I didn't quite enjoy the flavour of welcome drink but good service overall. The sun sets early in November so it was almost dark when we arrived at the jetty at around 5:00 PM, the sea was rough and we were taken to the other side of the island (20min drive) from where the speedboat took us to another jetty close to the resort (resort was another 10mins bus ride from there).After air, land and sea travel we finally arrived at the resort.

The reception area is quite good and probably the best part of the resort. The reception staff was polite and friendly. The rooms were spacious and the view from our balcony was outstanding. White sand and clean blue water can make you spend all your day at the beach but there are plenty of other things to do such as visit to White Sand Beach (the resort provide shuttle service), island hopping, sunset cruise etc. We didn't try the resort restaurant during dinner time but breakfast was good with wide variety of tropical fruits. The only shortcoming I think would be their rather limited in-room dining menu but if you don't intend to use in room dining then you will probably love everything about the resort. To top it all, they also have a play area which is quite huge. The staff at play area is very friendly and can keep the kids busy :-)

We also tried the Chi Spa and it was good as well. We had booked airport transfer so everything from the resort checkout to airport check-in was a breeze. The staff at the airport help with check-in which I found quite helpful in otherwise crowded Kalibo airport.

Overall, very satisfied with the stay and would recommend it to family and friends. The only let down (as I mentioned before) was their limited in-room dining menu and I hope they improve that.

So to summarise the whole experience: great service, great location and beautiful private beach.

View from our balcony: http://500px.com/photo/48867500
Sunset @ the beach: http://500px.com/photo/54530190

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

This review is a bit late - we stayed in May 2012 with our two children (3 and 1). We stayed for 3 nights at the end of our holiday in Boracay. We had stayed the first part of our holiday at another resort in White Beach. The Shangri-la is fabulous. The entry is beautiful and the views are wonderful. We had a deluxe seaview room that had ample room with the king bed, a sofa bed for our toddler and a portacot for our 1 year old. The bathroom was huge, the balcony had a great outlook over the gardens, over the pool to the ocean (the room is exactly what you see in the photo on their website). The service was amazing. You are greeted with a friendly hello everywhere. Great service by the pool. There are many places to eat, the buffet was great. They have a free shuttle down to White Beach, so you aren't that far away from the action. After staying down in White Beach for the first part of our holiday, we were happy to stay and use the resorts facilities. The private beach is not as nice as White Beach, but still quite good. We spent most of our time at the pool. The kids club is great. You can pamper yourself with manicures and pedicures, use the CHI spa, it is all here. You will not be disappointed. The speed boat service back to Caticlan is fantastic. We did not get this on the way in as we stayed elsewhere first up. But it beats going through the busy road! Worth the money. Places like this would be far more expensive in Australia!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of November as part of a wedding party, and I can't recommend it enough (if you have that kind of spare change available--we could not have afforded to stay here for that long at full price). The view from our room was stunning, and service was impeccable: everyone was so friendly and helpful! Some of the highlights of our stay:
- breakfast buffet (included in price) is jaw dropping: go hungry
- best mojito I have ever had
- there's a happy hour every day from 5 to 7, and cocktails and draft beer are 2 for 1
- the band performing by the pool during the happy hour takes requests
- there are free activities planned each day: we did the kayaking on Sunday afternoon, and it was fantastic (do not do it if you are hung over or get sea sick)
- we flew into Kalibo (which I would not do again: fly into Caticlan) and had the hotel transfer service to and from the airport, and while spendy, it was worth it: everyone gets their own private van, which is very comfortable and comes with cold water, and you had an attendant to help with luggage both when arriving at the airport AND when departing (such a luxury to have help with the check in!)
- we had dinner at Rima on our last night, and it was delicious and a good value (by Los Angeles standards, anyway): highly recommend

Things to look out for:
- do not order a mimosa at breakfast: they cost USD$20.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Adra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
2.1 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#7 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#2 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Discovery Shores Boracay
1.5 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#27 of 150 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
2.6 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
Address: | Barangay Yapak, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#4 Spa Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa offers a new level of luxury to the beautiful island of Boracay. Marrying luxury and comfort with a reverence for nature, the 12-hectare resort encompasses 219 rooms including 36 villas and suites, comprehensive leisure facilities, 350 meters of secluded beach front and a thriving ecosystem of diverse, even rare, flora and fauna. With two private beachfronts and an infinity pool, the resort offers a myriad of recreational activities. Those looking to soothe weary senses can head over to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La. A variety of dining options of different cuisines is located within the resort. May it be a family holiday or simply a quiet retreat, Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa is the perfect paradise destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Boracay Hotel Boracay
Shangri-La`s Boracay Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Boracay Hotel
Shangri Las Boracay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing