We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Boracay, by far!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Boracay, by far!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We recently spent a week in Boracay for our honeymoon, and stayed at 2 hotels. Shangri-La was definitely a big splurge for us, but it was well worth the money. It is far and away the nicest hotel in Boracay - we also stayed at the second most expensive hotel on the island, and it was simply not at all comparable to the Shangri-La. The entire staff was wonderful, attentive and accomdating throughout our stay. Our Personal Butler, Vicente, was the nicest person in the world, and we loved having him around!!

Pros
- If you can, splurge for a Treetop Villa. We got a gorgeous villa at the very top of the hill, which offered a beautiful view of the beach, and a gorgeous sunset! The villa is a bit more expensive that tne regular room, but well worth it. It also had a great sitting porch and jacuzzi - which was filled for us (along with rose petals) every night in celebration of our honeymoon.
- Little extras - the staff brought us a number of little extras throughout our stay, including cookies and chocolates, which was a nice surprise at the end of a long day.
- Free breakfast every morning was delicious - the variety was great.
- Sunset bar - we would definitely recommend watching sunset and having a cocktail in one of the private tables. It was a great experience and the cocktail list was very expansive.
- Checking-in was a breeze. The Shangri-La met us at the airport, whisked us away on a boat, and we by-passed reception, and were instead taken right to our villa.

Cons
- Make some extra time to get around -given all of the hiills, you need to call for buggy service to go anywhere. It's a bit windy....but the great views at the top of the hill make up for the extra travel time.
- The food was definitely pricey, but there were a lot of great options. Drinks were overpriced, as well. If you want a less expensive dinner, you are better off visiting Stations 1-3 at the other end of Boracay.
- You are definitely a bit removed from everything by staying at the Shangri-La. We definitely enjoyed the privacy of a quiet hotel, but some people might way to stay at Station 2 or 3 if they want more action.

Room Tip: Select a tree top villa, and ask for one at the very top of the hill for the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nycgirl2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,159
    423
    143
    52
    35
See reviews for
1,014
1,102
89
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have been to many Shangri-La's but this one in Boracay is definitely rated very high. The service is true five star quality and the villas are just fantastic. As a family of four, we enjoyed the facilities and the foods. We loved our experience at this Shangri-La. The staff were so accommodating!!!!!!! Two big thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank HKfamiky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Fantastic, flawless service. Truly outstanding. A perfect balance of friendliness, attentiveness, without being over the top.

The Villa was stunning and the views amazing.

Due to the time of year, it did rain - would definitely recommend in the dryer months. Considering the weather though, still an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I believe it's better you experience it rather than me talking about it. The rooms are great, the views are beautiful, you have your own private beach, the staff is very friendly and respectful and most of all it is after all a SHANGRI-LA...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank MJNC712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

this is my second time to be in Boracay shangrila this year. Most the people ( staff ) , that I meet during my first stay ( May ) , where able to recognize me immediately and welcome me back like a family. ( which is nice ) . book a pool villa but was given a upgrade to a HUGE VILLA with a terrific view .
But their are couple things that need to corrected.
1. need to call couple time inquire my luggage , which arrive after an hour .
2. when we are about to take a afternoon nap, I notice white sands in the bed considering we haven't left the room ever since we check in nor been to the beach.
3. when we requested a buggy to bring us the rest. , the buggy driver arrive a bit early , and I ask him to pls wait for 5 minutes bec my wife is still in the bathroom. but when we went out for the buggy it was no where to be found , and we were left standing in the rain ( luckily their is umbrella in the villa ) . Need to call Mr Lee again to inform him about the buggy service. ( I wish the buggy driver has the courtesy to inform or call me , that he need to leave immediately )
4. the beach is great except for foul weather and strong wave which make swimming difficult . 'due to the habagat which I heard start from june to oct( not fault of boracay shang , blame it to mother nature ).

except for couple minor discomfort , overall we have a great overnight stay and if we have long weekend Boracay shangrila is my priority list for vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

For our second stay at Shangri-La Boracay and we stayed in the same Loft Villa as before on request since it’s right at the top of the resort on a boundary with a native forest and feels like we are the only ones in the hotel. Observing the other room options we think this is the best to go for – private and with infinity pool to ourselves with very elevated views of the bay. Magic

And the hot outdoor shower with Victoria falls level of water pressure is so amazing you just cannot leave it.

As with our first visit, all the staff was lovely and frequently went out of their way to accommodate anything we needed or wanted.

Being such a wonderful place – when something does go wrong it stands out more.

Both days we spent on the beach we couldn’t get any drink service – we were down the right hand end of the lounge chairs area and seems that was too far for the staff to serve to. The poor towel attendant ended up going to get someone to come to us. It also seems to take strangely a long time, again both days, to settle the bill and sign off at the beach bar. Perhaps the supervisors were off those days. Small thing really - we could have got off our butt's and got them ourselves.

We discovered the Seafood Platter at Sirena, the resort's signature seafood restaurant, and went back on our last night for another one. Yummy! Seems like everyone orders it as well – hardly seems any need for any other menu items of which there are plenty. My mouth waters just recalling it.

However the experience in Rima which is their high end resort restaurant was less enjoyable. I am sure that when they wrote Truffle on the menu they forgot the word “oil” because everything reaked of Truffle and that can I am sure only come from heavy handed use of Truffle oil rather than the real thing which is far more subtle. I even overheard same comment from table next to us. High end Italian does not mean oceans of Truffle Oil!

So food was a bit of hit and miss – but otherwise totally relaxing and enjoyable. We are sure to come back again sometime.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Simply one word 'Excellent'. The entire experience right from the dock where a speedbaot picks you up & to the end is simply Amazing. Service is world class & you must try the private dinner at the beach. One of the finest properties I have ever visited.

Room Tip: Eyes closed, can choose any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danish431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
2.9 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Discovery Shores Boracay
1.2 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#2 of 146 in Boracay
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#26 of 146 in Boracay
1,512 reviews
2.3 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#6 of 146 in Boracay
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
Address: | Barangay Yapak, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#3 Spa Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa offers a new level of luxury to the beautiful island of Boracay. Marrying luxury and comfort with a reverence for nature, the 12-hectare resort encompasses 219 rooms including 36 villas and suites, comprehensive leisure facilities, 350 meters of secluded beach front and a thriving ecosystem of diverse, even rare, flora and fauna. With two private beachfronts and an infinity pool, the resort offers a myriad of recreational activities. Those looking to soothe weary senses can head over to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La. A variety of dining options of different cuisines is located within the resort. May it be a family holiday or simply a quiet retreat, Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa is the perfect paradise destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Prestigia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Boracay Hotel Boracay
Shangri-La`s Boracay Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Boracay Hotel
Shangri Las Boracay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing