We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are some good points” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 150 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Хабаровск, Россия
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“There are some good points”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

There are a lot of good comments about this hotel already. It's true that cleaning is done twice a day (in the evening they come to 'refresh' your room), you can get clean towels and water by the swimming pool and on the beach. And that's all. I'll tell about what can spoil your rest. Firstly, the swimming pool turned into a cheap cafe - OK - everyone needs to earn a living - so when you come to the pool a waiter immediately comes to you asking if you want anynything - which can be quite annoying. People eat and drink in the pool, smoke on the beach - noone reproaches them. Secondly, you begin to understand that all that politeness was a bit like a game - when they come up to you at the end of your trip and ask to fill in a special card to compliment their service to you. You would have done this even without asking (there are special cards in all rooms), so when they approach you - it's a bit unpleasant. Last but not least - breakfast buffet, It IS OVERPRICED. It funny to see slices of pepper in glasses instead of salads, no seafood - ordinary set of scrambled eggs and an omelette. It is NOT what they advertise on the Internet. Actually, you pay quite a lot of money and have a right to expect the best. We can say that only the transfer to and back from the hotel was impeccable. Plus wi-fi connection is fast and free everywhere in the hotel. The toiletry is of excellent quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mJulia903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,019
    405
    135
    47
    29
See reviews for
938
1,037
85
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

From the airport to the resort and back, a hassle-free experience despite the weather. Going an extra mile to make your stay a memorable one which only Shangri-la can offer - a complimentary shuttle to/from church/resort top attend mass on my birthday, a birthday cake and a birthday song during breakfast at the Vintana. A complimentary ice cream cake for my daughters after lunch whilst awaiting for our room to be fixed. Kudos to Shangri-la for a keeping a FUNTASTIC team!

Room Tip: We stayed at Rm 527 Tanawin Villas. Perfect view of the sea and beach and has reasonably-sized veran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Totoy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The most expensive resort in Boracay, but definitely worth that extra in my opinion. Excellent service all the way from arrival to departure. Breakfast was great. Staff was very polite and smiles, smiles everywhere. (A bit awkward at first, but i gradually got use to it)

We stayed in 2 rooms, the first room had a leakage because of the heavy rain, but it was relatively minor. The second room was in between 2 other rooms and it felt not as spacious, and seemed not as clean. But it was very nice nonetheless. Very nice facilities, especially the pool, I love the pool.

A very nice resort overall, I will definitely stay there again if I ever go back to Boracay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Been here twice .Very nice.. the place , the food,..the room... Everything is close to perfect ,that's why its pricey, the smell everywhere. Its beyond i can describe. This is one of the memorable places in my life. The hair conditioner scent i couldn't forget, i told my fiance if we can buy and get one of those, but unfortunately the resort have them exclusively. Why i will find that scent , i will never stop. The massage haven. We will go back , hopefully soon.!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glereg_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Perfect stay. Beautiful surroundings, very nice beach and pool.
Larger than average room and bathroom, all in perfect condition. Breakfast is proberly one of the best you can imagine and cocktails at the beach bar are top quality. Food is in general good and there are several restaurants to choose from, all offering kids-menus.
Gym is state of the art.
For kids the hotel offers a wide range of activities with very caring staff. The kids adventure zone and the entertainment zone offer quite some additional distraction in case of a rainy day. High quality WIFI throughout hotel.
Staff is amazing and probably the best part of this hotel! They made our stay a very pleasant one!

Room Tip: This is quite a large hotel. Figure out the location you desire for your room prior to booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timujaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great experience by just staying in the hotel. No need to go out of the hotel since there are a lot of things to do. Gym was great with complete sauna, shower and jacuzzi facilities. Although food was expensive compared to local Shangrila in Msnila.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ramb645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I debated endlessly whether we should book a trip to boracay during August as I was very concerned about the weather. But nowhere could I find proper guidance as to what we could really expect in terms of conditions, so in the end we decided to take the punt and go.

We would agree with most of the comments from the other reviews. The hotel itself is excellent, with great beach, pools, kids facilities and rooms. Our experience of the transfer on arrival was a disaster, but the return much better. Service in general is very good, but there are gaps.

With regard to what to expect in low season, the weather is crazy. A mix of really strong winds, heavy rain, showers and sun. In our experience there is certainly more cloud than sun. The wind is also a really big factor and closed the beach for several days (though this is not the norm). White beach however was much more calm and is expecially fun for kids during low tide. With that said, we still got enough decent weather for plenty of pool time, and the shuttles to dmall are very useful for when the weather is not great. The weather here in low season seems far more variable than that of phuket, bali etc during their low season.

All in all, we had a really great time and found boracay extremely relaxing. We probaby wouldn't visit in low season again, but will certainly return to the shangrila.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
2.1 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#7 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#2 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Discovery Shores Boracay
1.5 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#27 of 150 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
2.6 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
Address: | Barangay Yapak, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#4 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa offers a new level of luxury to the beautiful island of Boracay. Marrying luxury and comfort with a reverence for nature, the 12-hectare resort encompasses 219 rooms including 36 villas and suites, comprehensive leisure facilities, 350 meters of secluded beach front and a thriving ecosystem of diverse, even rare, flora and fauna. With two private beachfronts and an infinity pool, the resort offers a myriad of recreational activities. Those looking to soothe weary senses can head over to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La. A variety of dining options of different cuisines is located within the resort. May it be a family holiday or simply a quiet retreat, Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa is the perfect paradise destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Boracay Hotel Boracay
Shangri-La`s Boracay Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Boracay Hotel
Shangri Las Boracay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing