We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Respite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 147 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Little Respite”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

After a long and harrowing 2012 my family decided to take a break and splurge a bit but because of work restraints we couldn't all go out of the country so we decided to book at the Shangri-La in Boracay, which was a Christmas gift/surprise for us from our parents, LUCKY as it has been quite a while since this has happened. Anyway the resort has its own transfer from the airport in Caticlan and for those wonderful 3 nights and 4 days I decided to forget the world and its was well worth whatever my parents spent. I would spend my own money to go back here any day as it isn't very crowded and you feel the exclusivity of the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayEmTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,048
    409
    137
    50
    31
See reviews for
956
1,051
86
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel has it all. From great location, great things to do, amazing kids club etc. Most of all very friendly and competent staff. The hotel management team also cares for individual holiday makers and make sure that everything is alright.
One of the best hotels and holidays we have had in the last 10 years.

Room Tip: All rooms nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed in Discovery Suites before and also liked it as it is located right on the main stretch of white sand beach. However, I still feel that Shangri-la Boracay is more comparable to the nice resorts in Bali, Hawaii and Phuket (i.e., Westin, Sheraton, Grand Hyatt). It is well landscaped and very private.

Service at the Chi can be better. I'm not sure if it is because we were the last guests for the day. I was not satisfied with the treatment, attitude and ambiance. Had better experiences in other Chi's.

The check-in and waiting staff do their best to please you. Concierge even contacted someone at D'Mall to physically make a restaurant reservation for us when they couldn't get through their phone line. Buffet breakfast is extensive and dining areas are nice. The health club looks nice as well. If you are coming with children, you will enjoy Shangri-la.

At the beach, you can see school of fishes. They call them "rock fish". Water is murkier and beach is not fine white sand. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Go to the beach early if you want to have a lounge chair. The beach front is small for this size pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimitheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is truly one of the most outstanding resorts in the world with 5 star services. Pick up at the Catican airport was smooth and a quick drive to the resort's private secured lounge at the boat terminal where refreshments were served. Upon arrival at the resort's jetty, the buggy took us directly to our room. Check-in was done inside our room.

We stayed at the loft villa (#28) which included a plunge pool downstairs with an outdoor shower and fantastic ocean and sunset views. A living room, a small kitchen and a 1/2 bath were downstairs. Kitchen was equipped with a Nespresso machine, teas and complimentary soft drinks fully stocked in the fridge. Fresh fruits served and restocked everyday as well. Bedroom was upstairs with a walk-in closet and a deck. Bathroom was especially spacious with wonderful ocean and mountain view, double sinks, a separate shower and toilet. Fully stocked bathroom amenities, L'Occitane toiletries and warm and fragrance towels. Beach sandals, slippers, bathrobes (even kid size) and a small beach bag were provided. Butler service was included. Lucel, our butler, went out all the way to make sure our stays were comfortable and gave us a cell phone to call in case of any needs. In-room wi- fi is also complimentary.

The villa is built into a mountain so you need a buggy to get around. The buggy service could be slow so if it is going to be annoying every time you want to pop back into your room from the beach or do not want to wait around, I would suggest rooms closer to the resort buildings.

We dined in our room often. Room service was always prompt which was extra impressive knowing they had to get it to our villa up those hills in a buggy. Food arrived warm, tasty and well-presented. The resort has extensive menu for kids and those with food allergies which I've not seen often in other top rated resorts.

Breakfast was heaven with a variety of spread. With International flavors, there are stations for egg, waffle, noodles, fresh juice, and even a kids buffet station. Staff was very attentive at breakfast, coffee cups were never emptied, dishes collected and napkins folded once walked away for another round of food.

The resort offers many complimentary activities for kids. Kid's adventure zone with big slides, game room with ping pong table, billards, video games (with a charge), air hockey and basketball arcades. However, they do not

the resort offers a shuttle van on the hour to and from D'Mall and the famous White Sand Beach. My only concern is the shuttle service is not exclusive for the use of resort guests. I have noticed many outside guests using the shuttle to and from the resort, thus make the space very limited and competitive.

Check out was efficient inside our villa. We had a very early flight departure so our butler took our breakfast orders the day prior so we could have breakfast in our room at 5am before checking out. We were escorted all the way to the airport terminal after checking-in to our flights. Shangri-La also has a small private lounge at the airport where you can wait for your flight.

We have stayed in some of the most luxuries hotels worldwide and this resort stands out. The ambience is fantastic away from the hustle and bustle of touristy Boracay downtown. Both adults and kids have a lot to do. It is pricey but they do not nickel and dime you as you already paid a high price on accommodation. Definitely worth every penny.

Room Tip: Choose rooms or villas closer to the resort's main building if you do not wish to wait for buggy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfonorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife, young son and I stayed in Boracay for 3 nights prior to a business trip to Manila. It was so hard to leave this amazing resort not only because it's a wonderful piece of heaven but more so because of the outstanding level of service. Everyone was always attentive about our young child, making us feel at ease and truly looked after. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights and didn't leave the resort once. If you want a romantic getaway then this is it.
Ate at every restaurant and would struggle to find fault with anything. Breakfast buffet will blow your mind.
Pool is amazing with enough cabanas and hideaways to escape if there are any families in residence.
Sunset cocktails on the beach or on the hill area a must.
Day spa is expensive but heavenly.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the good reviews it got in tripadvisor.
I am really not fussy as you see in my other reviews but this was not as we had hoped for.
The good things are: the transfer from airport to hotel is very well organized, their welcome center is great. Our villa balani was outstanding and very well equipped, but I guess at 1200 euro per night one can expect that. The hotel is beautiful and the 2 beaches are Devine. Guests are a nice mixture of nationalities.. Staff is friendly. Food in rima and all Italian options are good,I think the f and b manager is Italian.
Kids club and staff were nice and professional
Spa was fantastic
Now comes the big list of cons:
The worst thing is the incapable service provided by almost everyone of the staff. Almost every order has to said 2 or three times. Breakfast order to the room never came complete. Service at the beach is a nightmare. Everyone seems to be willing and ins friendly but the system of ordering is too confused or I don't know. No order arrived on time, and I saw other guests at the beach complaining aswell about the unprofessional and very slow arrival of food. Even the general manager wanted to send us a few options of transfers to Manila to the room and it failed to ever arrive. If you travel to this resort you have to organize yourself, don't try to reach the concierge, other they don't pick up the phone or they want to call you back. It could be just too manly guests that they can't handle, but again if you pay the price we did you expect everything to run very smooth.
Food also did not rock I must say. Lobster in sirena tasted old,orange juice was empty and not refilled before bfast was over, ran out of oranges! Variety of Buffett in main restaurant was poor, taste of the things was good though.
Lounges at the beach were not enough, we had to fight every day to find to lounges with an umbrella. Just too much hassle!
We will not return!
Disappointed of this stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ninasch1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
2.1 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#6 of 147 in Boracay
671 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#2 of 147 in Boracay
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Discovery Shores Boracay
1.4 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#28 of 147 in Boracay
1,394 reviews
2.3 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
Address: | Barangay Yapak, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#4 Spa Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa offers a new level of luxury to the beautiful island of Boracay. Marrying luxury and comfort with a reverence for nature, the 12-hectare resort encompasses 219 rooms including 36 villas and suites, comprehensive leisure facilities, 350 meters of secluded beach front and a thriving ecosystem of diverse, even rare, flora and fauna. With two private beachfronts and an infinity pool, the resort offers a myriad of recreational activities. Those looking to soothe weary senses can head over to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La. A variety of dining options of different cuisines is located within the resort. May it be a family holiday or simply a quiet retreat, Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa is the perfect paradise destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Boracay Hotel Boracay
Shangri-La`s Boracay Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Boracay Hotel
Shangri Las Boracay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing