We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five days in Shangri-la”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Five days in Shangri-la”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is the first time i have stayed in this property, the only thing the makes this a five star hotel is the people they are friendly willing to help and the food, I feel the security is an over kill too much security around makes me feel safe but questioning the safety of the property, will something go wrong if all the security is not around, what i hate about this property is the Beach poor quality feels like man made sand is not soft like in station one, long wait to get to D mall or even your own Villa. Rooms are not properly insulated from Noise so sleep quality is low, food is excellent at Seryna. 5 stars for the People & Food, 2-3 stars for Transportation, Room and Beach Quality

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Henson_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,137
    421
    139
    52
    35
See reviews for
1,001
1,094
88
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My expectations were high. The property was nice - private beach, large pool area, good restaurant options. The rooms were mediocre - clean and inclusive of what you need, but not particularly stylish or special. The buffet breakfast had many options with good quality, but had the ambiance of a group-tour restaurant stop. The staff were friendly (especially in the restaurant) but could use customer service training. During our five night stay, we ran into a few problems. Air conditioning breaking down, cleaning staff attempting to enter at 6:30am and despite being asked to return later, they never did... these were minor disturbances.
Neighboring guests leaning over the balcony to peek in our room is out of the hotel's control, however guests blaring music and howling off their balcony at 4am is within their control! After calling the front desk more than once, it was suggested to PACK and move to a new room. Leaving belongings in the room until a decent hour was not an option. A complimentary drink or meal for the inconvenience was not even considered.

All in all, not a relaxing stay. After returning home I wrote feedback to the hotel 3 times (direct and website) before being acknowledged - they offered a one night stay at the same resort as compensation for the two interrupted sleeps. For the time, money and effort, I will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank smilintraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit O, General Manager at Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We are sorry to hear that your experience in our resort was not up to your expectations. We believe that situations like this can be handled much better. We take these comments seriously, and we will ensure that each concern you have raised will be addressed as we continuously strive to improve our service and achieve guest satisfaction.
Amit Oberoi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

After travelling around Philippines we decided for some R and R was appropriate so we booked a 4 day package to Boracay Island and the Shangri - la with its own private beach .
What a marvellous place away from the hustle and bustle. It is the best place we have ever stayed from the friendly staff to the resort grounds and the sea-.view room over looking the ocean it was just the best.
Buffet breakfast was exceptional. A courtesy bus runs at different times during the day to the mall and a small tourist market.
Yes, the resort is on the expensive side but it worth every penny. We were so so disappointed when we had to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank plavoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Amazing hotel and facilities. Beautiful pool and garden. Beach and ocean water was exceptional clean and pure. All staff were efficient, friendly and capable. Our villa, no 21 was private and secluded with fabulous ocean views. A divine first class experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This resort is filled with superlatives-- even for a Shangri-La property. It's only 4 years old so everything is new, clean and well-presented. For the best location and service, try the treetop villas. Magnificent views.

Room Tip: All rooms and villas have views. Those with the best views are the most expensive, of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anitah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Ahh Shangri-la. Everything is as it should be, a luxurious respite from the chaos of Manila, there’s no place else for a perfect weekend getaway.

The sincere staff is really wonderful, arrived with complimentary bottle of wine, anniversary cake and everyday, fresh succulent mangoes requested. Felt thoroughly pampered from check in to the private lounge at the airport coming back.

Facilities always of high standard, love the beach and pool areas for what else, napping through the afternoon. Fantastic sunset at Solana bar. Food during breakfast and at Rima are nothing spectacular, though. For the true Boracay experience, one must really venture to the white beach for proper beach fare.

This is our second time back, am sure it will be our default family getaway for years to come.

Room Tip: deluxe seaview or splurge on a villa with family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mainevent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

A wonderful experience, if you want to treat yourself to something memorable. Boracay is a beautiful island, but unfortunately overrun by tourists.. The Shangri-la on the other hand, saves the day. The ambience is fantastic! After spending the day exploring the island, you can just let yourself totally relax by the pool or on the one of their private coves. Don't forget to catch the sunset on the beach. Very romantic. For children, there is a million activities to keep them busy. and the best part? THE SPA!!!! omg. treat yourselves to a massage. It is so worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
2.9 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Discovery Shores Boracay
1.2 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#2 of 145 in Boracay
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#26 of 145 in Boracay
1,493 reviews
2.0 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#6 of 145 in Boracay
725 reviews
2.3 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
Address: | Barangay Yapak, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#2 Spa Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa offers a new level of luxury to the beautiful island of Boracay. Marrying luxury and comfort with a reverence for nature, the 12-hectare resort encompasses 219 rooms including 36 villas and suites, comprehensive leisure facilities, 350 meters of secluded beach front and a thriving ecosystem of diverse, even rare, flora and fauna. With two private beachfronts and an infinity pool, the resort offers a myriad of recreational activities. Those looking to soothe weary senses can head over to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La. A variety of dining options of different cuisines is located within the resort. May it be a family holiday or simply a quiet retreat, Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa is the perfect paradise destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Boracay Hotel Boracay
Shangri-La`s Boracay Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Boracay Hotel
Shangri Las Boracay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing