We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Soffia Boracay(Boracay)(Great Value!)
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
Island Jewel Inn(Boracay)(Great Value!)
$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Fat Jimmy's Resort(Boracay)(Great Value!)
$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azzuro Di Boracay Resort(Boracay)(Great Value!)
$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$94
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$111
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,022)
Filter reviews
3,022 results
Traveler rating
2,316
456
155
55
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,316
456
155
55
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschi spaprivate beachadventure zoneentertainment centerloft villasolana barbuggy serviceair hockeyentertainment roomwhite beachpunta bunga beachboracay resortcaticlan airportbreakfast buffetmain beachstar servicef b
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,109 - 2,114 of 3,022 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

An excellent place to stay if you want to unwind, relax and be pampered: from their exclusive Welcome Lounge at the jetty port and then the speedboat to ferry you to the island, spa services if you wish. The place is so serene and magical. simply paradise! The breakfast buffet had a wide variety of western and local food.

Before we left, i was already telling myself i will definitely be back! I would be happy spending my next Boracay vacation just inside the resort...

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

It was a surprise birthday trip for my husband. I had exchanged a number of emails everyday with the hotel to arrange for cake, check if a certain football channel was available, book restaurant for birthday dinner, check activity fees and a lot of other requests. The hotel was very attentive to the requests and patient with them too. They arranged the surprise cake perfectly and help to especially source oysters for the birthday dinner which they don't have on the menu. They also sing happy birthday and arranged for another surprise birthday cake. All of the staff are very attentive and helpful.

The hotel itself caters for all travellers whether its couples or families with kids. The hotel provides a convenient shuttle to D'mall.

If you are looking at trying some local grill seafood then I would definetly recommend you to go to D'mall area. Walk towards the beach then go left to find a restaurant called Paraiso Bar & Grill "Lobster House". Its one of the bigger restaurants right in front of the beach and has live band in the evening. Must try grill lobster, crab, tiger prawns and squid.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Super_Sweet_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We visited last October, and enjoyed it so much, we came again!

Everything was as remembered, even better actually!

The 2 complaints I had last year, breakfast buffet improved with more variety. Also, the shuttle service from Dmall was also much improved, with more cars allocated, we didn't wait more than 10 minutes at any time.

Kids club, villa pool, main pool, beach, food, all fantastic!!!

Also, we asked if we could be moved to a closer villa to the beach, and they arranged that evening!

Definitely will come again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarryChoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent three nights at the Shangri-la and loved it. The Journey to Boracay was taxing with flights from Hong Kong to Manila and transfer from the domestic airport to Caticlan. The journey took us over 11 hours due to delays in Manila and so we arrived late in the evening and were not able to take the speed boat direct to the hotel due to choppy sea conditions, however the staff from the airport and throughout the transfer process were great. Upon arrival at the hotel we had a small issue with our booking but we didn't let that get us down.
We stayed in one of the Loft Villas with a private pool and the duplex villa was wonderful, the spacious bedroom, fantastic bathroom and lovely sitting area/kitchen were great as was the outside pool area.
The main pool was also very good and quite large with a separate infinity pool overlooking the beach and ocean. The staff around the pool were all very helpful although service was at times a little slow but it didn't matter so much when lazing on the beach. We had our own butler, Joyce and whilst we didn't use the service as much as we could have, she was very good on the occasions that we did make a request of her.
We ventured into the town/shopping area where there is a public beach and the sand there was very fine and white whilst at the hotel it was quite coarse but again it did not make that much difference to us.
Breakfast at the hotel is great and generally with the food, portion sizes are huge and reasonably priced.
We were also fortunate to have a small intimate wedding ceremony on the beach which was organised by the hotel at short notice which was fantastic, a thanks to Suzenne and Mary for that.
Overall, we had a fabulous stay and if you can get over the slightly slow service at times, I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dippy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 nights in Boracay, 3 nights at a cheaper resort on the beachfront at station 1 and two nights at the Shangri-La. This was my second trip to Boracay.
Transfer to the Shangri-La was by mini van and was punctual and comfortable. The resort is on large grounds and is a rather sprawling affair. Movement around the resort is facilitated by golf cart which works pretty well.
Upon arrival we were greeted by what could have been a robot. Her lines were scripted and lacked any genuine warmth. To add insult to injury, she had not done her homework and failed to acknowledge that the booking was in my name, rather than my husband. Once it was pointed out that she was focusing on the wrong person, she became even more distant and aloof.
The check-in procedure was not the most professional, with the staff member failing to confirm a number of details, including our PHP5,000 credit for food and drink, loyalty programme, etc.
The room was deluxe with a king-size bed. It was spacious, clean and relaxed, with an outdoor verandah overlooking the gardens. Wi-fi was very good. (Housekeeping was a bit tight on the second day and failed to top up the tea, coffee, milk, etc.)
After checking in we headed down to the private beach and the swimming pool. The beach was small, with coarse sand and rough waves, but it was good to lie under the umbrellas. (Shagri-la also has a second shared beach which we found out the next day.) Food and service here was very good. We also spent some time lounging by and swimming in the pool which was also very good.
Dinner at the Serena Restaurant was disappointing. The restaurant was loud and didn't have much atmosphere. The food was ordinary, say 3-star standard, and overpriced. We had hoped that the PHP5,000 credit for food and drink would have gone further than one meal, but alas ...
(Side note: the fresh lobster and giant shrimp we enjoyed at D'Talipapa the next day was far better value.)
Both mornings we ate buffet breakfast at the Vintana Restaurant which was of good standard and offered extensive variety. However, it is better to go earlier (say 8.00am) rather than later (say 9.30am) as it gets very chaotic and the staff begin to spiral out of control.
The check-out process did not quite clear the low bar set by the girl at check-in. The staff member did not maintain eye contact with me, talked to other staff and made phone calls while checking me out. He expressed no care about our stay and there was certainly no fond farewell. I had to clarify with him that we were done.

Summary:
- the resort is probably best suited to honeymooners, families with kids, and introverts, agrophobics, etc.
- it is expensive and not necessarily the best value
- the customer service we experienced was not up to scratch, it fell a long way short from what we were expecting of this type of resort (we have stayed at similar resorts in Australia, Fiji, Guam, Hawaii and Japan)
- the restaurant dining experience let us down
- if you want to experience the Boracay lifestyle, this is not the place to be.

We were hoping for our stay at Shangri-La to be the cherry on our holiday cake, but to be honest we had a much better time at the hotel at station 1.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ghen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews