We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive, but an excellent choice...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very expensive, but an excellent choice...”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Was initially hesitant to pay such an exorbitant price for a stay here but they had a promotion and boy, was the money well spent. Granted, the property is not on the famed White Beach, but the resort itself has two private beaches for you to choose from, so you really get to enjoy the tranquility of it all.

The room was spacious with a huge bathroom, and beds were firm and comfy. Only bad point, and a major one that i had to drop a star is the inconsistent service staff. I asked for a foam pillow and a feather one was delivered; beach attendants always fail to tidy up the beach chairs when we left the seats but immediately rushed to tidy up Caucasian guests' ones, Pool attendants will rush to help Caucasian guests to look for a seat when they approach the pool...sense a pattern? Beach resort wise, I still think the best for me has gotta be Miami's Fountainbleu.

Housekeeping retorted with "Sir, a bottle of shower gel can be used by two people so you do not need three bottles for three people in you room", when I asked for additional bottles. You know how tough it is to rid sun screen with just one wash, right?

Breakfast included in the rate was excellent, with a huge gigantic selection and even with an ice-cream station. Pity about a certain huge group of nationality of tourists who kept pushing themselves to get first grab at the food, though.

As for trying to get the coveted pool chairs, you really have to come early to get one. And people just placed a towel or a book to reserve it for the whole day. They really need to follow Fountainbleau's way where if you ain't back within 2 hours then the chair automatically is up for grabs...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeraldSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,115
    416
    138
    52
    35
See reviews for
988
1,082
88
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
156 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent a few nights at Boracay last year and frankly... We loved the resort so much that we didn't want to go out of the resort!!!!... the staff, room, pool, food... everything was exceptional! We had a great time as a family, and my son loved the Kid's area...

Beautiful property and Excellent food... Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vaishali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Between Friday's and Shangri La Resort & Spa, we finally chose to stay at Shangri La for our Boracay trip due to our previous excellent and unforgettable hospitality in other Shangri La location all over the world. But we have regretted that we should choose Fridays instead of Shangri La in Boracay.

The place is beautiful paradise and was worth us an effort to get there on the first day. But we have experienced a not so impressed of welcoming check-in process. It is thoughtful that they have prepared the room for us on out arrival and brought us to our room at once to go thru the check in process. I have booked a sew view family room for 2 but I was coming with 3 other friends who wants to take a look of our room. The check-up staff did not even ask us about the actual status of staying people but request every one to pass her a passport to register all information on the arrival form. Then she went thru pricing of getting 3 extra people staying in our room to us. Even we have explained that 3 friends were staying at Fridays, we have to go all the way back to the front office with her for her manager's advice. I took us almost an hour for this clarification. That was how we start our Boracay Shangri La Stay after a 12 hours of traveling from Manila.

The view there even is not on the white sand beach, but it is very beautiful and peaceful. We have almost forgotten the morning check-in incident. We reserved the Sirena, the resort's signature seafood restaurant. Shangri La Band hotels always care about their F&B services and always delivered excellent experiences but not in this Boracay one. Seafood dishes overall is below standard, the worse part which is the Seafood platter that came with not fresh Lobster, over cooked fishes, half cooked prawn... When we showed them the half cooked prawn, they exampled the prawn for awhile and tried to explain that was not a problem until we got request to meet the chef. She took away the half cooked prawn and brought us with the same prawn and the new cooked prawn. I did not understand the reason of bringing the disgusting half cooked prawn on the same plate with the new cooked one? Then the manager coming out with the chef, we gave them the overall comment of the signature seafood platter, but the manager's first reaction which was giving us 50% percent off on the seafood platter but no try to listening carefully our comment. We did not ask for discount but just want to comment on these dishes. Until he found out our disappointment of the overall dining experience in Sirena, he finally made us feeling that he seemed understanding what we mean. Then he offered us taking out that seafood dish from the bill. Actually, we don't care if the dish taking out from the bill or not, we just want the restaurant listening to us and do better in the future.

Then the Buffet breakfast part, I noticed the place was busy. but staff seems not attentive enough as simple as coffee order, we ordered hot coffee with warm milk. it turned out 2 mornings in a row that coming with cold milk and need our further reminding / correction.

After the first day and night experience, we spent the rest of second day at the D-mall and Fridays and only went back there for sleep. And no longer using any facility or F&B dinning in Shangri La Resort.

Even the housekeeping staffs are friendly, we believed that Shangri La Boracay will be taken off from my list in Boracay.

Room Tip: no comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsEL_Espia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place is beautifull, very peacefull, the kids play area is huge, slides and lots of toys, but only children aged 4 and up can be left without parent supervision.
we had clothing laundered, one of my partners shorts came back with 3 new buttons! now thats service that goes the extra mile!

Staff are so attentive, and remembered childrens names quickly, my son enjoyed being the king at the kids club preformance, pitty it was not advertised to people staying at the resort.

The bech area is great clear water and lots of fish, the area of Boracay is much cleaner than Bali, we were surprised tht there were not many Australians, visiting/i dont think they realise how beatifull this place is!

Room Tip: We had cheapest room-garden view, very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timmy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Its an effort to get to this resort , but once you arrive it is paradise. The entire resort was just amaizing, the service,the food, the pool,the rooms, etc etc faultless, If I could do back tommorow I would be back in a flash.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muzza265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Shangri La was a natural choice when we were looking at luxury hotels to stay in. We stayed 5 days at a tree house villa which came with a personal butler service. The villa was set over 2 levels, with the lower level containing the bedroom. It was mostly what we expected - luxury accommodation (including a jacuzzi on the top deck, overlooking the sea), good service and wonderfully manicured grounds. There were L'Occitane amenities and cookies delivered to the door at 4pm and a reliable turn-down service. The resort also has a private beach, however, compared to the 'other' side of the island (where the sea-sports are), the water was extremely rough (foot high waves). 4 good restaurants to dine in, but with the hourly shuttle, cheaper better food is but a short 10 - 15 min ride away.

CHI the spa is an amazing little place. If you aren't staying in Shangri La, it is worthwhile to just pop by for a treatment.

Pros : Rooms. Our room was set in the hilltops with views of the sea and the private beach. Quality amenities. Great facilities - including free use of the pool tables, table tennis, arvade hockey and basketball, Wii and wifi. Hourly shuttle to D'Mall. Complimentary shuttle to most activities.

Cons : Given that our villa was set in the hilltops, it was quite a fair bit away from the restaurants, we had to take a buggy everywhere. Great for privacy, but the service was occasionally quite slow (waited 15 minutes once). Access to the 2nd floor of the villa required us to go OUTSIDE the first level!!! Food quality could be improved or prices reduced!

Room Tip: Pick a pool villa to splurge (rather than a tree top villa) - Villa 18/19 is close to the lobby/pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cr8tive83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Easily the best hotel on the island if you are after luxury and although it is not a boutique size hotel the service is delivered with a impecable personal touch! It is a little out of town but there are regular shuttle buses throughout the day and we quite liked having the private bay to escape to. Having a nice pool to sit by was one of our main criteria and this is where the hotel excelled for us... The photos don't do it justice! There are private areas set around the pool and you can pick if you want a family spot or something more for a couple... One concern could be that the loungers fill up very quickly and we were in low season another small negative was that our room was about a 5 min walk from everything which became annoying on a 8 night stay
Overall it gives a level of service you would expect from shangri la with a Filipino twist.... Everyone was so happy and polite - not the best hotel we have stayed at but not far off!!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stucros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
2.9 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Discovery Shores Boracay
1.2 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#2 of 145 in Boracay
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#7 of 145 in Boracay
708 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#25 of 145 in Boracay
1,471 reviews
2.3 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
Address: | Barangay Yapak, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#3 Spa Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa offers a new level of luxury to the beautiful island of Boracay. Marrying luxury and comfort with a reverence for nature, the 12-hectare resort encompasses 219 rooms including 36 villas and suites, comprehensive leisure facilities, 350 meters of secluded beach front and a thriving ecosystem of diverse, even rare, flora and fauna. With two private beachfronts and an infinity pool, the resort offers a myriad of recreational activities. Those looking to soothe weary senses can head over to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La. A variety of dining options of different cuisines is located within the resort. May it be a family holiday or simply a quiet retreat, Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa is the perfect paradise destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Boracay Hotel Boracay
Shangri-La`s Boracay Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Boracay Hotel
Shangri Las Boracay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing