We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Had an intense few weeks working in Manila and decided to shut down and head for the islands. Boracay was exactly what was needed, again a top notch setup from the Shangri-La chain. Beautiful room overlooking the sea, lovely beach, very secluded from the manic not-so-nice Boracay strip. If you need a weekend to relax go for it. Restaurants are ok and over priced, considering you are staying on a resort it could do better. Pool was very busy and we went off season, not ideal...for the price you pay I would expect less occupancy. Staff was friendly as always.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,056 - 2,062 of 2,927 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

travelled with 2 kids. stayed there in november 2011.

from the time you step out of the airport, you are well taken care of.
the hotel has a separate waiting area outside the airport, and a separate speed boat to take you to hotel. when you arrive at the hotel dock, the hotel manager is there waiting to greet the guests. finally, the concierge who accompanied us to the airport when we were about to leave managed to get us on an earlier flight so our waiting time was cut shorter.

the sand is not as nice as station 2, but beach is quiet. perfect if you are looking for a short nap and a lazy afternoon. there are two beach areas, we chose to stay on the longer more isolated side, however it is a five to 10 min walk to the pool area.

facilities for kids - the play zone was fun for the kids,with it's giant slide. remember to bring socks and wear long sleeved shirts.

breakfast - they had food that kids can choose from. room service was excellent.

shuttle service to D'mall is okay - despite what i read from the other reviews. there were always enough space on the shuttle and there was a staff at the end of D'mall with a signboard of hotel. you will pretty much know what time shuttle will be back.






rooms -

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chchchchch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

If you want to stay in boracay but not get bothered by the busyness of the crowd, this is the perfect place to relax. I spent 3 days simply relaxing by the poolside and the beach at the Shangrila boracay resort and spa. One of the best vacation experiences ever. The facilities are good- the pool is big and slightly warm. The beach chairs are prepped the moment you get there. The room was spacious, the toiletries were impeccable. The breakfast buffet had a great selection. Most of all the service of the staff was at its finest. From the moment we checked in to checkout, the staff were friendly and efficient. I left my goggles in the poolside without knowing it and the security staff promptly returned it to me before i left the hotel. Then my friend and I got left behindby our private bus transfer on the way back from caticlan to kalibo airport because we were delayed by the rough waters and Shangrila's staff did not only got our money refunded but also made arrangements for our own private van to Kalibo where one of their staff met us and breezed us through airport's security, check in and delivered us all the way to the boarding gate. Talk about service deluxe. We also tried their restaurant- rima which was another great experience. The food was yummy and the chef even sent over some chocolates and cookies for desserts. They had a golf cart waiting for us after we ate to bring us back to the room. This is one of those hotels where I simply cannot find anything to criticise. I wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RunnerJaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had an overnight stay here on the eve of our 11th year Anniversary and I must say, it was heaven on earth! We stayed on other resorts before and after our stay in Shangri-La so we arranged a pick-up and drop-off near the resorts where we stayed. Service deluxe! Upon entering the "compound" where the resort was located, we immediately told ourselves that we are to go back there. The staff were amazing, ever helpful and are at your service at all times. 5 star service for a 5-star hotel, indeed. The view in the room was simply amazing! We got a Deluxe Seaview Room in the Timog building, located on the 5th floor and the view of the beach was just right that no trees were covering the view. Make sure that you have dinner at Solana to experience a breath-taking view of the sunset while sipping cocktails on a cliff-cabana. Must try the Catch of the Day (have it grilled), Bacon wrapped Chicken with Mushroom Gravy. Both were very good. Equally good was the flourless chocolate cake. Breakfast at Vintana were also very good. You have a lot of different choices, plus, a designated Korean food area for Korean food lovers. A real paradise for beach lovers! :)

Room Tip: Seaview rooms have very good views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilacat931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We recently returned from a four-night stay at the Shangri-La Boracay. However, before we booked the hotel I was looking at reviews and wanted to know the answer to one question: Is this hotel worth the price tag?

CONS:
- Food: The breakfast, although beautifully presented did not taste as good as it looked. They really cater to their Asian guests (understandably so as there were few western guests at the hotel) meaning that there is a lot of Korean, Japanese and Chinese dishes. The real issue however isn’t what they are serving but the quality of the food: there wasn’t anything I looked forward to trying again the next day. The ice-cream was stale (had that icy texture). The day we arrived the cream with the pancake had either been sitting out too long or had been expired. The final day we found a bug indented into our mango fruit slice. When I pointed out the bug the waiter he took the plate away with a quick apology, and I never heard back from anyone regarding the incident again.
- Service: It was just OK. When you’re paying 5 star prices you want to experience 5 star service. The first day upon lounging at the pool we found the service to be at its best because we had given a couple of tips here and there. However, as our tips were more random, the service started to decrease. There is a service to tip ratio, which is fine in places like America, but not something you want to deal with in Asia. By the last day I found myself having to walk to the bar to receive my bill where as other days it was delivered to me. More on this later.
- The rooms are nice, but we found mold along the bathroom shower. Simply unacceptable.
- Paying for amenities: We were very excited about the fact there was a tennis court, but we were shocked that we would have to pay 1,000 pesos for the privilege. As previous commenters have mentioned, snorkeling gear, and other activities all come with a cost. It would be so much more enjoyable if they were included in the price.
- Prices of cocktails: They are 3 times what they are in the center of town. Perhaps reasonable for westerners who are accustom to western prices, completely unreasonable to those of us who are accustom to Asian prices.
- Shuttle service into the main area: If you didn’t arrive 20 minutes ahead and put your name down on the list you could potentially not make the shuttle. Although the shuttle leaves every hour (during off-peak season) if you arrive on the hour you might have to wait until the next hour before another shuttle will arrive. This happened to us a couple of times, but thankfully the concierge called another van for us. The ride is about 18 minutes.
- A clear offering of what the hotel had to offer was never presented to us. Upon check-in we were told there was an outdoor BBQ 3 times a week. We were so excited about this, and had planned to attend. We were then informed that it wouldn’t be happening and that they would let us know if it were ever going to happen again. Well, we were never contacted again. However, we were really disappointed when we went out to the beach to have dinner and found a family enjoying a private outdoor BBQ. An alternative we would have loved to indulge in, but never was presented to us.
- Turndown service: bookmarks. We received a bookmark each of our nights. We enjoyed the Shangri La quotes, but not sure how useful 4 bookmarks are to someone who does most of their reading on an iPad.
- We experienced some unexplained noise in our rooms around 11:30 at night. The hotel did have it sorted promptly.
- They should offer one hot Jacuzzi for those of us who like to enjoy evening dips when it’s a little cool out.
- Rainy season potential guests: things really aren't up to speed at the hotel during this time. As mentioned things were closed down, even when it wasn't raining outside.


PROS
- As other guests have commented, the airport pickup on the speedboat is simply divine, especially if you’re lucky enough to have the boat to yourself.
- We booked a garden view room but received a sea view room, and it was definitely appreciated. If you’re going to be spending some time relaxing, the nice view really cemented that vacation feel.
- Free WIFI in the room. It was pretty speedy too, very convenient!
- Nice to have the privacy and private beach.
- The pools are beautiful and well maintained.
- The beach is nicely maintained.
- The lobby and other areas look better than they do in their pictures online.

The place didn’t have a positive feel—there felt like there was an underlying tension amongst the staff. Overall, the hotel didn’t leave me wanting to return (and I probably won’t). At present, I don’t think it is worth the price-tag, but the hotel has a lot of potential.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheGabtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Boracay is a beautiful beach destination and Shangri-la makes it perfect. From the moment your plane touches down in Caticlan, a Shangri-la representative will escort you all the way to the hotel. Lovely surprise was when we got in at 10:30am, Zandra the manager had someone escort us straight to our room and checked us in from there. We enjoyed the pool and both beaches. If you want a total beach experience, the Punta Bunga beach was quiet and had fine soft sand. If you want a little more action with people walking around and swimming by the pool, the other beach called Banyugan was pretty fun.
The breakfast at Vintana was exceptional with a wide selection of food except that they did not have any sugar free syrup for the pancakes, waffle and french toast otherwise, they had everything even to a breakfast buffet for kids. For lunch, we ate at the Cielo restaurant by the pool. Their spaghetti bolognese is superb. We had dinner at Sirena the first night, my husband had the vegetarian pasta with truffle oil and mushroom, I had baked lapu lapu. Ambiance was very romantic being on top of the hill ovelooking the Punta Bunga beach.
We also used the wet floor in the Health club...sauna, steam room and jacuzzi...great way to end the day and start the evening.
The next night, we had dinner in Rima. We had the Chef's antipasti and pizza. The chef surprised us with a "chocolate surprise" for our silver anniversary. Food was excellent and being high above among the tree villas, you will have an aerial view of the Shangri-la property. Awesome and beautiful. The last day on our way out, we had a quick lunch in the lobby lounge where I had their club sandwich...this portion is to share...very filling and yummy.
We were escorted through check in all the way to the private lounge of Shangrila in the Caticlan airport. If you want a vacation...must stay in Shangri-la Booracay. Service is excellent. So excellent that one of the waiters remembered us when we were there last year and addressed us by our family name. I was so impressed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cricketabello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

If you want to just stay put in one place then there's no better place in Boracay than Shangri-la. The property is beautiful and the villas are gorgeous. We looked at a couple different ones and they were all lovely. Service was excellent and it was the most convenient trip to and from the airport I've experienced in Boracay. There are numerous dining and activity options within the resort and make sure to make an appointment at CHI Spa. It can get booked up especially if you want to experience one of their Signature Journeys: 3+ hours of pampered tranquility!!

But... if you want to experience the powdery white sand Boracay is known for (the beach itself in Shang is pretty but the sand isn't as great) and/or you want to be in the heart of things (bar hopping, restos, shopping) then you'll have to take the complimentary shuttle to the different Stations.

Still a great place to stay and worth the splurge!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeiaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.4 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#23 of 151 in Boracay
1,622 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Discovery Shores Boracay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#2 of 151 in Boracay
743 reviews
2.3 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Ambassador in Paradise Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Address: | Barangay Yapak, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#3 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: $422 - $849 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa offers a new level of luxury to the beautiful island of Boracay. Marrying luxury and comfort with a reverence for nature, the 12-hectare resort encompasses 219 rooms including 36 villas and suites, comprehensive leisure facilities, 350 meters of secluded beach front and a thriving ecosystem of diverse, even rare, flora and fauna. With two private beachfronts and an infinity pool, the resort offers a myriad of recreational activities. Those looking to soothe weary senses can head over to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La. A variety of dining options of different cuisines is located within the resort. May it be a family holiday or simply a quiet retreat, Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa is the perfect paradise destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Boracay Hotel Boracay
Shangri-La`s Boracay Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Boracay Hotel
Shangri Las Boracay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing