We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great room, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boracay Sands Hotel
Ranked #56 of 146 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2011

I stayed at the Boracay Sands Hotel for 2 nights in February, 2011. It was my first visit to Boracay and I was travelling with 2 girl friends. The location was fantastic - right on the beach, it was peaceful and quiet and just a short walk to Station 2.

The room was modern and comfortable, while it was clean the carpet was stained a bit. The shower was fantastic.... but, the toilet was a water-saving one so and required a couple flushes for a clean bowl. The key card had to be left in place for power to the room so charging cell phones/camera betteries had to be thought through. My only real complaint.... the wifi wasn't accessible in my second floor room.... I had to stand outside the room, overlooking the swimming pool. The breakfasts were great! and was different both mornings that we were there. All the staff was very friendly and helpful.

The rates on the website were cheaper than the rates we got at the hotel for the second room. Only one room was available online when I booked - directly through the hotel website.

We found the rates at the money exchange a bit better closer to the hotel than further down in Station 2.

I'd definitely stay here again if I ever find myself back in Boracay!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mapleleaf_trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Boracay Sands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 133 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2011

This hotel was amazing ... the bed was incredibly comfortable and had real fluffy pillows (not typical in other Boracay hotels), spacious bathroom and shower, good international breakfast buffet, and the location deserves kuddos, as well. It is closer to Boat Station 3, which is 5 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Boat Station 2 and the majority of Boracay's shops and restaurants/bars. So you have a great, quiet hotel right next to the nightlife you want to enjoy but don't want to hear once you're trying to sleep. Also of note is that the guest-only pool is right inside the lobby and bar, so you still see the beach and ocean. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel to all visiting Boracay!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelBug0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2010

This place is just like what you see in the pictures that they advertise! We loved it here although since it is set on Station 3 there are a lot of boats that come in and out. There were certain times that they did come really close to being right in front of the hotel and it made me kinda uneasy since my son was playing in the water, but it only happen a handful of times. The thing I did like about it the most was that it was fairly quiet and away from all the action that was going on from Station 2. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to every one that is going! Staff was extra friendly and the environment itself is something to be experienced! Also if shopping for souvenirs try the shops on the side of the hotel since they are cheaper then the mall.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovelife01d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Hotel was very nice and the room was very clean and spacious....The hotel staff was very helpful in all our needs,station 3 is a very quiet location but still close to the entertainment at station 2....

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mai_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

When the first hotel we booked turned out to have an ant infestation, we could not have been happier to discover the sanctuary, Boracay Sands Hotel. The staff is so friendly and accommodating, and the beachfront location can't be beat. We stayed in an Executive Suite with a huge private verrandah and sweeping views of the beach and breathtaking sunsets. A room like this in the U.S. would cost five time the rate we paid. The roman style pool is so serene. A previous review mentioned that you cannot swim in front of the hotel. However, we did not find that to be the case. The water is the most beautiful crystal clear aqua, and there are captains waiting to whisk you away on a private cruise any time you'd like. It is very romantic here! We did a lot of research into hotels/resorts for this trip before our arrival and also upon our arrival. I am very surprised that this hotel is not ranked as one of the top hotels in Boracay. Yet, I do understand that it is new. Absolutely stay here!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelly4199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

as well as their breakfast it should be various everyday.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m0nisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We liked Sands for ts 5-star ambience and amenities and its friendly and helpful staff. It just felt really quiet and restful inside the hotel, especially by the poolside, which by the way looks almost like a roman bath. It also has fantastic almost-soundproofed windows as we slept through a rock concert that weekend. It's quite a long walk to the more popular spots in Stn. 2 but getting around the island is easy with accessible tricylces and the hotel shuttle. It's quite close to the old talipapa where great bargains can still be found, and also to Stn 3 where divers and other riders can get their boat/jetski/banana boat rides after a very short walk. This hotel is tops in accessibility, exclusivity, amenities, cleanliness!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lapinay521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.0 mi away
Astoria Current
Astoria Current
#8 of 146 in Boracay
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boracay Ocean Club Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
#17 of 146 in Boracay
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#36 of 146 in Boracay
535 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boracay SandCastles The Apartments
1.2 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#9 of 146 in Boracay
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boracay Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boracay Sands Hotel

Address: White Beach Path, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 146 Hotels in Boracay
Price Range: $98 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boracay Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boracay Sands Hotel is located at Boracay Island, Philippines. Boracay is a tropical island located approximately 315 kilometers or 200 miles South of Manila, the capital of the Philippines, and 2 kilometers off the northwest tip of the island of Panay in the Western Visayas region of the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Boracay Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing