We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel mixe feelings of Boracay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boracay Sands Hotel
Ranked #62 of 152 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very modern hotel, nice design with a swimming pool very refreshing after a hot day.. The room though no balcony and found the room a little stuffy, the aircon wasnt very good and located near the bottom of the floor as most units are near the ceiling... strange. Anyway the hotel was nice, the food all we had was breakfast in 5 nites stay no one really seemed to eat dinner here... breakfast was very simple, but pancakes nice and fresh eggs cooked. But being from London not a great deal of choice. The only bad thing about the open air pool area was that when it rained and it did alot the floor surfaces got soaked and a bit slippery, but soon dried quickly. The only real let down about this hotel was as soon as we stepped outside the hotel - hats-boat trip, sunglasses, rrrrrrrrrrrr it drove us mad, it was over xmas we stayed and really got to us! I think xmas eve we felt like we were in Teneriefe, so much touting i was not aware it would be this bad.... Ok you say no or best say nothing and they leave u be. But outside you hotel this shouldn't be allowed. the sunbaving area the same, they still get you, and you feel like you cant relax, overall we was not too impressed with Boracay, all the trips were over priced, we never did 1 boat trip as got asked 1000 times, and prefered the stay at Nami or 7 stones which we stayed at, and didnt get hastled once. Ive been to paradise in Cuba and ive been all over thailand, and i somewhat was Boracay have that magical feel. We felt stuck on the island, no real day trips or adventure like thailand or no beach parties like phi phi, i was far wrong, we didnt really even drink much at all. Bars were ok but just small bars, no travellers 1 or 2 mabe but just mainly families in Boracay. All we did at this hotel is walk and walk and walk, to resturants to the mall, (awfully over priced and nothing really to buy! rubbish.... Butterfly garden full rubbish and mountains, was no hiking just steps to a viewpoint, i feel the Boracay guide gives an impression of real paradice and romance but we did not get that staying at station 3. Nami and 7 stones were ok but in the wrong island... Sorry to slate Boracay but there were no real reviews of how the island is, dont go there expecting to party all night, its not really like that. every step we took it felt we could spend money... It was a tourist trap island. I thought hotels were very over priced, even station 1 they was ok but the beach wasn't all that, green algae near by, and if i paid £200 a nite i wouldnt want touting as soon as i step outside the hotel and a long walk walk walk is all you really do on the island to what eat the same food which is all American burgers, chicken ribs,pizza??? no real authentic Filipino dishes. I was a bit shocked by that! cant comment on the boat trips or activites as felt like all a rip off. kite-surfing was good though. After this hotel we stayed in Surfside Hotel, alot cheaper and a nicer bigger room but more basic but ssomewhat not so stuffy.

Room Tip: if you want to be in the mahem of white beach stay in station 1,2,3 if you want peace and quiet st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank iannnnn02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 145 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

There are a lot of things about this hotel which I liked. The cleanliness, the location (right on the beach front) and the staff were great.

My only minor complaint was that I didn't get a great room. Considering I had gone just after the devastating typhoon and the island wasn't all that busy, I felt they could have given me a better view or just a better room with a double bed rather then a twin room.

The room itself was really good however. Very clean, large and comfortable.

The staff are very polite and helpful as you'd expect and I had no complaints. It's within walking distance of d'mall too, which is where all the action is, but far enough not to be too bothered by the crowds.

The famous Boracay beach is also right at the doorstep and made everything so much better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozkan1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in boracay on this hotel. We only booked our 3 nights in the last min. and it is a great hotel, the room and the bed is wery nice, and it look like the hotel is 100% new but the staff tell me it is 5 years old but they paint and fix the hotel every year and that makes this Hotel look super nice and clean, great job Boracay Sands Hotel.

Room Tip: Great room with a super bed, and the Hotel look like it is just from 2013 nice and clean and new pai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Most of the staffs are friendly but some don't smile often. The location is ok because it is quite at night. Convenience stores are very near the hotel and there are many kinds of restaurants along the white beach. The hotel is quite far from station 2 which is the most crowded area in boracay but after the first day, we already used to walk from the hotel to station 2 even station 1. In conclusion, Sands Hotel is worth to stay.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Zhen Siang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed for 4 nites in boracay but stayed only 1 nite in this hotel. We only booked our 2 nites at another hotel and decide to see other hotels when we get there before we decided to stay there on the last nite. We chose Sands hotel because it looks very nice and new and walking distance to Station 2. We booked the deluxe room one day before but we were very lucky when our room was upgraded to Executive Suite because all deluxe rooms were full. Our room was right direct under the word 'SANDS' which is room 221. The staff were great, the receptionist was helpful in explaining to Southwest staff regarding our transfer because they wanted to fetch us an hour early where else our other friends which stayed in different hotel they were fetching later when we are boarding the same flight. Last but not least we were able to catch nice sunset from our own room in private. I would definitely recommend this hotel and hopefully we get to stay in the same room next time!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shalehah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were upgraded to the suite from deluxe room because there was no available deluxe when we came in, yet we booked via Agoda 6 months ago. The suite has a balcony afront the beach. Awesome! Generally, the room is nice for a 3-star hotel. Breakfast was fine. The pool is not too big but clean and looks cool at the center of the building. Front desk personnel was accommodating. However, for the extra pax, it's a bit expensive compared to other hotels. My 7 and 14 year old kids costs 1,000 Php/pax/night.

The kids enjoyed the proximity of the beach-hotel-pool. We'd stay again next time we visit Boracay.

Room Tip: Additional pax will cost you 1,000 / pax. A bit costly than other hotels. Deluxe on 2nd level has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RakelleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

we have stayed there in April. The penthouse suites are just great! What a balcony! Everybody in the Hotel was great and the reception lady was like an angel. we arrived from manila very early, and she allowed us to make a early check in because my kid - 3 years old - was just unstoppable. In Boracay, i don't want any other Hotel. great location, superb staff! I have only good words!
Cheers!

Miguel

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miguelbailote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0 mi away
Astoria Current
Astoria Current
#2 of 152 in Boracay
680 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boracay Haven Resort
Boracay Haven Resort
#27 of 152 in Boracay
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boracay Ocean Club Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Boracay Haven Suites
Boracay Haven Suites
#16 of 152 in Boracay
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Henann Garden Resort
Henann Garden Resort
#12 of 152 in Boracay
1,005 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Boracay Crown Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boracay Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boracay Sands Hotel

Address: White Beach Path, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 152 Hotels in Boracay
Price Range: $97 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boracay Sands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boracay Sands Hotel is located at Boracay Island, Philippines. Boracay is a tropical island located approximately 315 kilometers or 200 miles South of Manila, the capital of the Philippines, and 2 kilometers off the northwest tip of the island of Panay in the Western Visayas region of the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Boracay Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing