We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great resort, service with a smile” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Breeze Inn Boracay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Breeze Inn Boracay
Ranked #30 of 217 Boracay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great resort, service with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

My girfriend and I stayed at Ocean Breeze for 7 nights and had a really great time there.

I'd reserved a room via email and was provided with a complete set of instructions on how to get there (the resort is situated inbetween the main road and beach and accesible only via small paths). The instructions also gave advice on how to get from Caticlan airport to Boracay and included all the fares, terminal fees and costs of the many modes of transport you have to take to get to the island. Without this excellent set of instructions the journey would have been very difficult.

Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by Vilma and Jane and immediately felt at home. They were both friendly and cheerful and provided excellent service throughout our stay. Not once did I see them without a smile on their faces even after the hundreds of questions i asked. Our bags were taken up the stairs by another member of staff.

The room itself was fantastic. We had our own balcony area with seats and a table, ac, fridge, cable tv, dvd/avi player (with usb input), en-suite bathroom with a great shower. It was very spacious and clean and was made up every day we were there. After a hard day tanning and swimming on the beach it was the perfect place to freshen up and relax. There is also an outdoor shower and tap to remove all the sand and seaweed from your feet before going to your room. Its the small things like this that really count.

We compared rooms and rates with other tourists we met on boracay and easily had the best deal around.

There is wifi at a charge but the daily rate is cheaper than using an internet cafe for an hour. The quality is good and when it did cut out both Vilma and Jane were more than happy to reset the modem which solved the problem.

Its not on the beach and getting there takes 2 minutes or so along the winding paths. This isn't a problem at all though and the first two times we made the trip a member of staff showed us the way. After that it became second nature. Its near station 3 which is the quieter end of white beach and there a number of good restaurants and bars nearby.

The resort has also adopted three kittens that are friendly. My girlfriend spent hours playing with them.

Overall the resort had everything we needed. I'd recommend it to anyone and will go back should we ever return to boracay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shez_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    64
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
56
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Incheon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

Staff was as nice as you could possibly ask for.
Room was clean.
Very cheap.
Short, 2 minute, windy walk to the beach. Makes the place kind of hard to find at first, but there are signs at the beginning of the path. Follow them to the end.
Being off the beach makes it a little annoying to go for a quick swim, and obviously no chairs set up for you, but it's quieter than the waterfront places.
Service was great, asked for a discount for staying multiple nights, they happily agreed.
Asked before cleaning the room, to make sure it was alright with us.
They sit in a little hut right by the entrance, so likeliness of outsiders entering is all but eliminated. Never felt anything was at risk.
Hot water and A/C inside.
Couldn't ask for anything more for the price.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

We spent 7 nights in the Ocean Breeze Inn Guesthouse and had a great time. We got a quiet, spacious and pleasant room for a good price. (with air condition, refrigerator, television, radio, safety deposit box and balcony). Staff was friendly and helpful. (especially Vilma and Juvy, we had a lot of fun). Also transfer service from and to the airport was well organized. Location is near Boat Station 3 at the quiet end of White Beach. (3 minutes walk to White Beach) Can`t wait to return to Boracay next year, thanks for everything !

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachLoverVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2010

We stayed in this hostel for 7 nights and we have to say, that it was totally waste of money. We paid almost 2000 pesos/ per night and you can easily find better deals with much less by any near by guest houses and even hotels right at the beach. During our stay they cleaned once our room and if we asked them to change our garbage, they did it, but not with any service attitude. The guest house also has a guest house kitchen, but be aware!! Do not try go there if there are hotel staff making food or even sitting inside at their computer. You will most likely get angry faces, like we did it. And the kitchen..it was suppose to be free use for all the guest, but when we were checking out they tried to charge us 100 pesos of using the kitchen. We did not pay, because they could not explain this 100 pesos cover charge. They do not give any oil or salt, but they would sell it to you:)

Staff does not really speak so good English, it is basically enough to get a long with them. If ever send them email, it will go to Manila where is the owner. She speaks/ writes fluent English, but it is shame that the service level drops down immediately when you arrive to the guest house. All the tours and activities are more expensive than at the beach... you can get better from a tout.

Okay, of course it has few good things. Vilma, one of the staff, was really nice and helpful with everything. This was also our honeymoon and she was the only one who noticed it during this one week. Vilma is a great person and very social. If you need to go out there, tag along with Vilma. She knows great bars and clubs at the beach. When you arrive, they will guide safely to the beach, because it can be a big maze when you walking there first time. Staff will usually wash your dishes after you have eaten, which was really nice. We always tried to wash our own dishes and make our part of the washing.

Basically this guest house is great for one or two nights, but seriously..Look another place to stay..they are just around the corner and staff is so much nicer!! Like strawhut inn..check it out!

we have pack-packing now for three months and this was the far most expensive and worst value of used money...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anttie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanBreezeInn, Owner at Ocean Breeze Inn Boracay, responded to this review, April 6, 2010
Thanks for your review. First of all we`d also like to thank you for rating your room at Ocean Breeze Inn with 4 of 5 stars and the sleep quality with 4 of 5 stars; thats an excellent result. Also the comment about our staff (...”Vilma, one of the staff, was really nice and helpful with everything....”) is much appreciated..

Regarding the rate .. well, there are 3 facts to consider:

1) You booked your stay at peak season / Easter; that`s the most expensive season of the year and all resorts charge peak season rates during that time. Compared to other offers we have definitely very affordable room rates between only 590 Php and 1890 Php for 2 guests per night.

2) You choosed our best and most expensive offer: A spacious room with aircon, double bed, cable TV, HiFi components, DVD player, refrigerator, safety deposit box, hot/cold water shower, CR/WC, balcony etc. When the room was not within your budget, why did`nt you simply request a downgrade and your problem was solved ? By the way ... it will be very difficult to find a room with similar amenities for the same rate in our neighborhood during peak season.

3) You choosed to book through a travel agency and of course the agent charges an additional fee for his service, which effects the total of the your rate. That agent also offers more than 15 others Boracay Resorts and you were able to check rates, rooms and features before you made your decision, but choosed Ocean Breeze Inn after comparing rates and room amenities.

Regarding cleanliness we like to inform you that according to our documentation your room was checked daily and big clean up including new sheets on your bed was done on the 3rd day of your stay.

Regarding the kitchen; it`s self catering service and the use of the kitchen is free of charge including usage of rice cooker, micro wave, toaster, coffee machine, plates, spoon etc. We only request a low amount for the gas consumption. In your case it was only 100 Php for 7 days.

Yes, you are right; we do not offer free food like rice, oil or salt. But there are several stores in our neighborhood to buy or our staff can arrange it for guests or even cook the meals. Anyway, we still offer free coffee in the morning to our guests.

Our staff is also surprised about your critique about them .. According to them you had nice and friendly conversations every day without any problem and your farewell party with all of them was a great and funny event. We are just preparing the photos to send to you ...

Taking care for our guests has absolute priority, same with service and kindness. Our staff always received good guest comments and Tripadvisor reviews about their job. I guess it was just a misunderstanding or stress during Easter, when we were fully booked; we apologize for it - nothing personal :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

We just returned from our second wonderful stay at Ocean Breeze in Boracay. What a wonderful time we had, once again (our first visit was this past October). The staff is unbelievable - so friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and very clean. One of our biggest attractions to the rooms are the big, comfortable balconies - perfect for playing some cards and enjoying some San Miguel Lights!! It's also a nice touch how they provide a tray of coffee each morning outside your room. The location is perfect. It feels very private and you're a short walk from the beach. Station 3 is my favorite area of Boracay because it is much quieter than the rest of the beach, yet you still have everything you need. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferK_wpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

The staff helped us a lot because our luggages were delayed by Cathy Pacific. The hostel was closed to the beach but not easily found for the first time. It's suggested to have the staff pick up before check-in and the fee was reasonable. The room was quite and spacious and wifi was cheap. But the shower and electricity seemed not stable. It was good as it was just a hostel with a low price but not a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrystalTaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanBreezeInn, Owner at Ocean Breeze Inn Boracay, responded to this review, March 6, 2010
Thanks for your kind words and for 5star rating for Ocean Breeze Inn value and service. It`s much appreciated. Regarding the electricity situation at Boracay Island; well it`s in general not stable at certain times and sometimes also resorts are effected. We apologise ..
Anyway, we have a 24-hour-standby-generator and therefor are well prepared for power supply problems, which might occur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
all over :)
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

my friend and i got to stay in ocean breeze, and we had no regrets! for a budget inn, you'd get more than what you paid for. :) it was just a short walk from the white beach. they have all the amenities a traveler is looking for: h/c shower, cable, a/c :D

i was looking forward to meet ms. emmy because she was giving me all the details i wanted to know about staying in their resort. too bad, she wasn't there during our stay. good luck and more power, ocean breeze! 'til our next bora trip! :)

--j and c :)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Romero de Boracay
Villa Romero de Boracay
#80 of 217 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.0 mi away
Isla Kite Guesthouse
Isla Kite Guesthouse
#20 of 217 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morning Star
Morning Star
#78 of 217 in Boracay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CocoLoco Boracay Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Amigos Beach Resort
Amigos Beach Resort
#81 of 217 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boracay Actopia Resort
Boracay Actopia Resort
#130 of 217 in Boracay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Breeze Inn Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze Inn Boracay

Property: Ocean Breeze Inn Boracay
Address: Station 3, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Breeze Inn is located at Station 3 area, Boracay, around 2-3 minutes walk from White Beach. Budget guesthouse aircon room and cottages as well as a guest kitchen are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ocean Breeze Inn Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Breeze Inn Boracay Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing