We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but poorly maintained facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairways & Bluewater
Ranked #24 of 148 Hotels in Boracay
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed here with family and a 3yrs old kid through timeshare exchange. The location is great if you want peace and quiet from White Beach where all the partying are. The unit we stayed in had a really great view overlooking the golf course but the AC of one of the bedrooms was totally busted. On the 3rd day of our stay, it was smelling like something was burning and the room was so humid. We love their private beach called Paradise Cove, the water is very clear and so calm. We would still stay here but will more likely check the unit to stay in first before accepting it. If you are a golf enthusiast, this is a good place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tots05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,204 - 1,210 of 1,552 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2010

The view was beautiful, our room was decent. Unfortunately in the morning 3 of the people in my party woke up with bed bug bites all over them. The service of housekeeping, the drivers, and the guards was great. Everyone was very nice and friendly and accommodating. But still....BED BUGS! Come on! Keep it clean!

Nice pool area. The beach had lots of shells though so wear shoes or even water shoes going in.

The Zip lining was very fun. And the Dune Buggying was fun as well however staying at the hotel and being a time share owner doesn't have its perks. You are actually charged more! It was cheaper to book the same services from another company.

DO NOT EAT at their restaurant. The restaurant sucks! They had terrible food, small portions even for Asia and way overpriced. Their price did not warrant what we were served which was poorly cooked food of low quality. I think the Gambas they served us was made of frozen shrimp (itty bitty and only 8 pieces) it took up 1/3 of the sizzling platter and they charged us the full price for a portion of a serving. Mind you we ordered two of these and t looked like they just split it onto two plates! They also gave us about 3 cups of rice for 6 people. It was one small pile of rice instead of in individual cups. They also completely forgot one our our dishes and never even told us it would not be served it was not available or apologize for forgetting. I ordered a Grilled Cheese Sandwich and I got a club sandwich with a piece of cheese between lettuce and tomato. What the?!? They do not know what the heck they are doing! My sister ordered a banana split and it came with no whipped cream and no chocolate syrup just 3 SMALL scoops of ice cream and a banana cut in half. They have no idea how to make the food on their menu! Go somewhere else to eat! It was just poor service with their restaurant the two times we gave it a chance and no redeeming quality to speak of. Eat elsewhere!

NO INTERNET!
NO WIFI!
NO BUSINESS CENTER!
NO FITNESS CENTER!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank H0neym00ners101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Bora used to be relaxing and peaceful at night. That was years ago. Now I stay away from beachfront rooms because during peak season the crowd and the parties can get really loud until wee hours. We love beach parties but after an exhausting day and drunken night it's really nice to retire somewhere comfy and quiet. I like Fairways because it's private, I can sleep 'til late in the afternoon without being bothered. They have their own private beach. Very nice for sunning yourself 'coz most of the time it's deserted. They also have the best (and uncrowded) swimming pool. It's not really that far from the main beach. They have free service (pick-up or van) to and from D'Mall.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ImC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Pros:
1. Best and only Golf course in Boracay
2. Nice, Clean and very quiet private beach
3. Huge and well equipped Rooms with awesome view
4. Friendly Staff but a bit bland in terms of personality
5. Free shuttle to D'Mall
6. Great Pool especially the new one that overlooks the beach

Cons:
1. An uphill trek from our room to the front desk counter
2. Breakfast buffet seems like something I would find in any side street cafeteria, very ordinary
3. No Free shuttle service from jetty port to resort
4. Far From all the main attractions

Note: You may find it hard to get a hotel staff to assist you with anything since the resort is so big but not enough of resort staff around, requesting for something may take a couple of minutes to an hour depending on how busy they are

the tricycle ride from jetty port to hotel was 100+ per person

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bossmonkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

This hotel was very nice to stay in. The room was great, it had a huge bathroom with a very large glass shower. The beds were incredibly comfortable, and the view was of the golf course. The price wasn't too bad either. The only annoying thing, and why it didn't get 5 stars, was getting in and out of the place. You have to take a shuttle to the main entrance and wait for another shuttle to take you to the public beach. It is probably 5 miles, and it will take you 45 minutes to get to the beach because you spend so much time waiting. They do have their own private beach but it's not quite as nice as the public beach in my opinion. I enjoyed staying there, but it was sometimes a pain to get to and from the hotel.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jhellmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

This is a massive resort style hotel that targts golfers. It is a beautiful golf course and 2 small private beaches.

I liked:
- the room. it was large, modern and very clean;
- compared to the rest of boracay this hotel has an open feeling with lots of space and green grass. Even at peak times (we were there in easter) it felt uncrowded;
- the private beaches. They are almost as good as white beach but have very few people on them.

I note that:
- service is inconsistent. It would definitely appear that golfers are treated preferentially. Lucky for them.
- the staff do not really have an idea about what is happening outside the resort;
- our phone calls to reception were never picked up. And I mean not once in 6 days!
- house keeping forgot to clean our room (twice);
- wireless internet is good but only available at the clubhouse;
- there is no room service;
- there are no towels provided for the pool or beach; and
- a lot of construction in ongoing. This is mostly a visual thing. We did not here anything.

The Food
Average to really bad and severely overpriced. Head down to whitebeach for variety and value.

The Location and Transport
There are two transport issues. Inside the resort and getting down to the action in whitebeach. We personally found neither a problem. We walked or got a lift within the resort. There are lots of shuttles whizzing around to move people around. You can get one of the staff to call them if you need to.
Getting to whitebeach was fairly easy... we either got a tricycle or took the hourly shuttle (free). Despite the location issues, it really is a beautiful location and to me that makes it ideal if you want some tranquility a little away from the frenzy of whitebeach.

Warning - our building had no lifts so if you have mobility issues then three flights of stairs may be a big issue. The grounds are also quite hilly so you need to take that into account.

OUR TIP try to stay at building 1... it is the closest to the beach, clubhouse and big pool. Other buildings are a LONG way from anything.

Conclusion: I would recommend it but only if you are happy with the location and dont mind a little walking or waiting.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lex_loci_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

The room is big, and face to the garden, the view is very good. The breakfast is just so so. The private beach of hotel is ok. If you want to have fun in station1, the location is not convenience, but the hotel provide free shuttle bus between hotel and D'mall.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank milkhailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
2.1 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Lingganay Boracay Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
1.1 mi away
Alta Vista de Boracay
Alta Vista de Boracay
#52 of 148 in Boracay
400 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#36 of 148 in Boracay
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairways & Bluewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways & Bluewater

Address: Barangay Balabag | Newcoast, Malay, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: $71 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairways & Bluewater 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a private white sand beach and an 18-hole golf course, Fairways and Bluewater Newcoast Boracay is an eco-friendly resort that also features 6 swimming pools and 12 food and beverage outlets. Free internet access is provided in designated areas. Each of the more than 700 air-conditioned rooms has views of the garden or golf course. Each room is equipped with the safe, LED flat screen TV, fridge and tea/coffee maker. Baby sitting, laundry and salon are also available on-site. Guests can enjoy exclusive amenities found within the resort including fitness and wellness center which features hot tub, steam bath, sauna and gym. For relaxation, they can have a massage by the beach at Maris Spa or head to Bluewater Spa. Horseback riding, zip line and cable car rides is also available. La Terraza Restaurant, overlooks the beach while the Veranda Restaurant, which offers a view of the golf course features a local and international menu. Laguna Cafe offers Modern Asian cuisine while the modern restaurant, Monterey Cafe dishes out international cuisine. Ventana Restaurant for its part, is popular for its Eurasian dishes. A private dinner by the pool or beach can be arranged on request. Fairways and Bluewater Newcoast Boracay can be reached via 45-minute flight from Manila to Caticlan, followed by a 5-minute ride to Boracay Island via the resort's speed boat. It is a 25-minute transfer from Cagban Jetty Port. A free hourly pick-up from D'Mall is provided until 22:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Fairways & Bluewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways And Bluewater
Fairways Bluewater Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing