We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes but make sure it is for you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairways & Bluewater
Ranked #27 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Yes but make sure it is for you”
Reviewed April 3, 2010

This is a massive resort style hotel that targts golfers. It is a beautiful golf course and 2 small private beaches.

I liked:
- the room. it was large, modern and very clean;
- compared to the rest of boracay this hotel has an open feeling with lots of space and green grass. Even at peak times (we were there in easter) it felt uncrowded;
- the private beaches. They are almost as good as white beach but have very few people on them.

I note that:
- service is inconsistent. It would definitely appear that golfers are treated preferentially. Lucky for them.
- the staff do not really have an idea about what is happening outside the resort;
- our phone calls to reception were never picked up. And I mean not once in 6 days!
- house keeping forgot to clean our room (twice);
- wireless internet is good but only available at the clubhouse;
- there is no room service;
- there are no towels provided for the pool or beach; and
- a lot of construction in ongoing. This is mostly a visual thing. We did not here anything.

The Food
Average to really bad and severely overpriced. Head down to whitebeach for variety and value.

The Location and Transport
There are two transport issues. Inside the resort and getting down to the action in whitebeach. We personally found neither a problem. We walked or got a lift within the resort. There are lots of shuttles whizzing around to move people around. You can get one of the staff to call them if you need to.
Getting to whitebeach was fairly easy... we either got a tricycle or took the hourly shuttle (free). Despite the location issues, it really is a beautiful location and to me that makes it ideal if you want some tranquility a little away from the frenzy of whitebeach.

Warning - our building had no lifts so if you have mobility issues then three flights of stairs may be a big issue. The grounds are also quite hilly so you need to take that into account.

OUR TIP try to stay at building 1... it is the closest to the beach, clubhouse and big pool. Other buildings are a LONG way from anything.

Conclusion: I would recommend it but only if you are happy with the location and dont mind a little walking or waiting.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lex_loci_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    483
    210
    102
    141
See reviews for
444
519
60
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
china
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

The room is big, and face to the garden, the view is very good. The breakfast is just so so. The private beach of hotel is ok. If you want to have fun in station1, the location is not convenience, but the hotel provide free shuttle bus between hotel and D'mall.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milkhailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

It was my first time to be in Boracay. I can't believe they were rated 5 Star.
If you are going to play golf, then this is your hotel
But if you are there for some other reasons, look for better hotels as Fairways, though they offer free tranport to whereever you need to go, it's such a hassle waiting for the rides even for the mere going from your room (they placed me at Balaihara) to the clubhouse.
No internet connection in rooms.
Food is so-so.
Be careful not to stain their linens (with your henna tattoo) as you'll get ripped off for that.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank LakwatserangPnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,636 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,301 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

We were booked into a 3 bedroom apartment through interval timeshare exchange. When we arrived we were put in a studio which i did not accept. Finally they put us in a 1 bedroom for 1 night and a 2 bedroom for the remainder of our stay. (It was in fact a 3 bedroom with the 3rd bedroom unavailable???)
The apartment was in need of maintenance. Proof attached in the form of photos.

The resort has huge potential however is in desperate need of repairs around the place. The pluses were the quiet location a private beach and 2 pools and the free shutte service to DMall. I didnt see it as a negative to be a fair distance from station 1. The rooms were spacious.

What let it down was me not being provided with a quality 3 bedroom apartment as booked 9 months ago. Instead we were put in substandard accomodation with the resort in general in need of repair.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

My wife and I stayed at fairways and bluewater for 7 nights using our marriot/interval exchange. We arrived after an exhausting 35hr door to door journey from London. We were shown to our apartment and were very disappointed to find a very run-down but spacious 2 bedroom accommodation that we immediately refused to accept. The rooms were extremely shabby, with mould around taps and work surface edges, flooring scuffed, loose tiles, stained bath and shower, damp smell etc etc. The 2nd room they tried to give us was in the same block, and was just as substandard, with the addition of a dead cockroach in the hallway.
Obviously we refused this and were taken back to reception where we had to argue our case. Eventually we were given a room in another block, which still was not perfect, but vastly better than the previous two. This room was not an apartment type i.e. no kitchen or 2nd bedroom, but it was clean and with no mould etc. I would say the furnishings and finishings of the room were comparable to a standard 3 star hotel in our opinion. After accepting this room (as I didn’t think they had any better), reception asked me to go the previous room to collect my luggage to take to this room!
Later in our stay we met a family from England who were using their Marriott/Interval exchange, and who also insisted to be moved from the apartment block, which they also found to be unacceptable.
The reception area had 2 separate front desks manned by different staff. It appeared that the ‘main’ desk was for the hotel room guests, and the other desk was for the apartment rooms. Every time we asked the main reception staff something they would check our room number and then send us to the other desk. There appeared to be some sort of 2 tiered system in place.
This resort does have the most fantastic private beach which was kept very clean. My only issue was that there was no drinks/snack service offered when you sat on the beach chairs/loungers. There is a beachside hotel cafe further down the beach. However when we went there and sat down, even though we were the only people there, nobody came to take our order and we had to go and order at the counter and then collect our drinks. Not what you would expect from a so called 5 star hotel. To truly experience 5 star accommodation and service in Boracay, please take a 10 min trip to the Shangri-La for drinks or dinner as we ended up doing a few times.
Positive points were the private beach, the half-hourly shuttle to the main ‘D-Mall’ area, and the comprehensive but unobtrusive security.
Negatives included the tired and truly substandard apartments, average service from reception, lack of service at the beach and beach cafe.

Its not bad, its just not that good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChigAmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ortigas, philippines
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We've been to fairways last June 2009.
The place was great, as you have a golf course greet you good morning (we had a villa).

We really enjoyed the kitchen as i and my friends cook what we bought in the nearby market (usually what we dont do at home) its really a bonding thing, you know its where you choose your own food.

The 5 beds were huge, the 3 rooms clean, we had 3 TVs in the whole house, 3 private toilet & bath, and 1 common toilet in the villa. we also had 3 terraces.

the service although need to be waited was always available, the staffs were nice, you always feel secure because of the roving security.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxgrendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nome
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

The private beach is quiet and secluded which is what we wanted. The shuttle service to d'mall was a convenient. You are a golfer this is the place to stay and the hotel gives a golf discount for guests staying at the hotel. The rooms were adequate and in my opinion the hotel as a whole shouldn't be considered a four star. Rooms and especially the bathrooms need updating.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thaidorran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
2.1 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Lingganay Boracay Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Alta Vista de Boracay
Alta Vista de Boracay
#56 of 145 in Boracay
388 reviews
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
1.5 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#36 of 145 in Boracay
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairways & Bluewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways & Bluewater

Property: Fairways & Bluewater
Address: Barangay Balabag | Newcoast, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairways & Bluewater 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a private white sand beach and an 18-hole golf course, Fairways and Bluewater Newcoast Boracay is an eco-friendly resort that also features 6 swimming pools and 12 food and beverage outlets. Free internet access is provided in designated areas. Each of the more than 700 air-conditioned rooms has views of the garden or golf course. Each room is equipped with the safe, LED flat screen TV, fridge and tea/coffee maker. Baby sitting, laundry and salon are also available on-site. Guests can enjoy exclusive amenities found within the resort including fitness and wellness center which features hot tub, steam bath, sauna and gym. For relaxation, they can have a massage by the beach at Maris Spa or head to Bluewater Spa. Horseback riding, zip line and cable car rides is also available. La Terraza Restaurant, overlooks the beach while the Veranda Restaurant, which offers a view of the golf course features a local and international menu. Laguna Cafe offers Modern Asian cuisine while the modern restaurant, Monterey Cafe dishes out international cuisine. Ventana Restaurant for its part, is popular for its Eurasian dishes. A private dinner by the pool or beach can be arranged on request. Fairways and Bluewater Newcoast Boracay can be reached via 45-minute flight from Manila to Caticlan, followed by a 5-minute ride to Boracay Island via the resort's speed boat. It is a 25-minute transfer from Cagban Jetty Port. A free hourly pick-up from D'Mall is provided until 22:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Fairways & Bluewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways And Bluewater
Fairways Bluewater Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing