We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs better attention to the details” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairways & Bluewater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairways & Bluewater
Ranked #27 of 150 Hotels in Boracay
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Needs better attention to the details”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

My family visited for 3 days after Christmas. Boracay during this time of year is very crowded and so if crowds are not your thing, avoid visiting this island during this time of year. We also arrived the day after a severe storm and so the beaches were polluted with debris. Nonetheless, the island is beautiful with much to see and do. We explored a fair amount and rode Segways which is a great way to get around. This property has its own private beach which is convenient. Not as nice as White Beach and the boardwalk there but nowhere near as crowded either. The property in general is very nice but like many properties in the Philippines, attention to the finer details is lacking, both with the facility and with the service. The property seems dated and in need of repair or renovation. The food served in the restaurants was only so-so. We preferred to eat elsewhere when possible. Service was very hit and miss (mostly miss). Staff was pleasant enough but not very knowledgeable and often not very helpful. The rooms are well appointed with modern touches. Bathroom was large with nice large rain showerhead. A/C unit worked well. Nice large flat screen TVs. WiFi was not functioning in our building due to construction and so we had to go the lobby to check e-mail, etc. Overall, our experience was pleasant enough although we will probably stay elsewhere the next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romazicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    449
    195
    93
    121
See reviews for
411
468
57
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We chose this hotel as it is cheap and also because of the location, a bit far from the main stations of Boracay. Our room was spacious and has a balcony with a view of the golf course, big and comfy beds, a kitchen counter with a sink, a wide screen LCD TV and a fast internet connection. The staff was generally friendly, the breakfast was good and there was a free shuttle service going to D-mall. The pool was also very nice and there was even a private beach. All in all, we had a nice stay in this hotel and we will probably stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of Boracay, this hotel is for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Primy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I was there as part of a largish party of 18 - the pick up at the airport and the boat to the island were good - when we got to Boracay that is where things started to go awry - the little vans were hardly large enough for 18 bodies never mind the luggage - but at least the squeeze was with a smile - the check in at the reception was pathetic - it seemed that despite them picking us all up at the airport - nobody at the hotel started any of the check in process and left everything until we arrived - the process took over an hour - not a great welcome by any means. The service never really got any better all week
The golf was good !!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Going into Boracay, I had my doubts about breakfast, distance from the Stations, and excess charges from random damages.

However, our experience were great. At breakfast, we found to our liking omelettes and pancakes along with breads, fruit, and desserts.

The shuttles to lobby/beach/gate/D'mall were not a hassle.

Check-out was smooth.

The property, rooms, and private beach were just gorgeous.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The location is nice and the staff try to be helpful but the facilities and management just aren't up to catering for the number of people that stay here. The majority of guests here seem to be large groups from China and as such the provided breakfast seems to cater towards that market -- breakfast is chaotic due to the number of people here and lack of floor space and crockery. As someone else mentioned toiletries are barely replaced and you need to ring housekeeping to supply more. Avoid this place if you don't like large groups of people and chaos.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elbekay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The resort could have been great, with it's private beaches and nice/clear/large rooms, but I would opt for a better resort next time we visit Boracay.

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in an executive suite (Villa 5). Unfortunately, based on our discomforts at FW & BW, we have to grade this hotel between the 2 and 3 stars. The suite was nice and large and housekeeping was warm and friendly, but the location, the management, the logistics and the facilities of the resort were not up to par.

Let me start with breakfast. As a filipino, I don't mind having longanisa or tocino for breakfast. My wife on the other hand, thinks that breakfast was not intercontinental, and really not up to the standards of a 4 star resort. There is only 1 juice machine, serving really sweet juice, and it takes about 10 minutes to get 1 glass due to the que. So I advice you to take 4 small glasses in 1 go, otherwise you'll be parched during breakfast. Forget about your latte or cappucino, they did not have it... milk? what's that?... no they don't serve fresh milk, coz lots of asian are lactose intolerant anyways... meaning no yoghurts or nice French cheeses. You'll be lucky to have a place to sit in the first place.

Logistics.. a nightmare. 'Sorry sir, you have to wait for the next bus' is what I heard multiple times during our stay. Yes, FW & BW has a shuttle bus to D'MAll, bus so does all other resorts in Boracay not located at White Beach. All other shuttle busses come frequently, except those coming from FW & BW... you might as well go with a tricycle... much more fun.

The room size and the fancy shower is all that is 'executive' about our suite. We did not have a room phone, and at times there is no housekeeper in site. You have to walk to the main entrance of the resort to take a shuttle bus to the lobby in order to complain about something. In our case, we didn't have water for half the day, due to the construction that is happening at the moment. We also did not have TV channels/ nor WI-Fi.... and on some occasions the toilet did not flush... We did complain to the operations manager, but because the toilet has been flushing all other days, no matter what our other discomforts are, there is no way FW & BW can give us a compensation/discount or whatever... that guy should be fired. Been filing complaints already since I got back, still no feedback from them.

Just for the grand finale.. the staff at the lobby counter is useless, but I guess they are just following rules. 2 out of 3 private beaches are closed, no reason given why they are. The beach is open and is beautiful for picture taking. Too dirty for swimming. And golf... well I don't play golf. All in all... this hotel could have been great. However I will go to another hotel/resort next year. Leave this hotel to the chinese. Lots of chinese people! It's not bad to have them around, but management should put a sign that says 'no phlegm gurgling or spitting' all over the result (specially during breakfast)... just disgusting. Not really a Western standard 4 star hotel... so beware and take these negative reviews seriously!!

Room Tip: just choose a different hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JP_and_Vandana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

If you stay here, you need to be very, very patience. We felt like being on a political free dinner everyday during breakfast, the hotel was full but not prepared for all 600 gests. We had to wait to be sit and fight for a pc of bread.( only butter available) The buffet was OK until 8:00 after that only watermellow, bread an remains. The staff is really nice and try to help out but were unable to manage the big groups. The music was very loud in order for you ot to hear the yelling guests.
You need to take a chart to go to your room, reception, beach, a guard asks your room number all the time, even when you just left your room and are heading to reception...
If you need toiletries you need to ask the housekeeping, it seems they run on a very small bugdet.
No telephone in the rooms, so if you need help you need to go to the meetig point where the charters pick up is. The beach is very wind, at least in February, I would say almost too cold to go in the water. ( same for the pool) The resort is located on the wind side of the island ( Nov to June).
We had to take the charter everyday and go to the white beach. In our room the aircon was very smelly ( mould). We asked them to clean and they forgot, we complained again and they gave us another room and said that other guests would not mind to have the aircon like that. At least we got an up-grade. The guest service booked our return to Kalibo, however, they forgot to book the car to the port. If I had not check at 6:PM on the status, it would be 8:00PM and I would be waiting forever and no one would show up and we would loose our return flight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
2.1 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Lingganay Boracay Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Astoria Current
Astoria Current
#9 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.3 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#28 of 150 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairways & Bluewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways & Bluewater

Property: Fairways & Bluewater
Address: Barangay Balabag | Newcoast, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairways & Bluewater 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a private white sand beach and an 18-hole golf course, Fairways and Bluewater Newcoast Boracay is an eco-friendly resort that also features 6 swimming pools and 11 food and beverage outlets. Free internet access is provided in designated areas. The air-conditioned rooms have the views of the garden or golf course. Each room is equipped with the safe, LED flat screen TV, fridge and tea/coffee maker. Baby sitting, laundry and salon are also available on-site. Guests can enjoy exclusive amenities found within the resort including fitness and wellness center which features hot tub, steam bath, sauna and gym. For relaxation, they can have a massage by the beach at Maris Spa or head to Bluewater Spa. Horseback riding, zip line and cable car rides is also available. La Terraza Restaurant, overlooks the beach while the Veranda Restaurant, which offers a view of the golf course features a local and international menu. Laguna Cafe offers Modern Asian cuisine while the modern restaurant, Monterey Cafe dishes out international cuisine. A private dinner by the pool or beach can be arranged on request. Fairways and Bluewater Newcoast Boracay can be reached via 45-minute flight from Manila to Caticlan, followed by a 5-minute boat ride to Boracay Island. It is a 25-minute transfer from Cagban Jetty Port. A free hourly pick-up from D'Mall is provided until 22:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fairways & Bluewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways And Bluewater
Fairways Bluewater Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing