We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic !!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trafalgar Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trafalgar Cottages
Ranked #52 of 150 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic !!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Loved trafalgar julia is very helpful, , friendly and more than accommodating!!! Even booked trips for us cheaper than anywere else.rooms are basic with everything you need and very clean. If I ever go back to boracay I will definitely be booking again :) :)
Thanks to all the staff for making our weeks stay so enjoyable. Becka and adam x

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skywalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    39
    9
    3
    10
See reviews for
10
26
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 05.03.14 - 12-05-14. Staff are very friendly and always willing to help. The older fillipino lady helped us get great deals on trips through her friends so they were cheaper. Room is what you need - double bed, fan and wardrobe. We had a shared bathroom. Do take a mosquito net if you can as they are good to have anyway. English owner was lovely, spoke to us alot about her travels and always making sure you've had a nice day or your ok! They have a 10-11 months old pup called nelson! What a cutie!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 652 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

These cottages are a relict of bygone times.It is backside of a cloth market. The with day and night active mosquitos infested rooms are very small and the bathroom even smaller and has a lot of wear.The wear out mattress( I got pain in the back which I never had elsewhere), the bad cushioned pillows ,the noisy fan and the missing light switch near the bed (you have to go through the dark room in night to find the switch at the door) are a shame for 1300 P . Actually I got offers for better rooms for the same price or even cheaper from beachfront resorts. Not to mind the poor wifi,the noisy drunken or drugged tourists at the other rooms which didn't shut up before 3am,the agressive dog at the entrance,the shabby and not clean looking cooking area where tourists can prepare meals,the unfriendly and even not greeting young stuff and the dark courtyard/garden where never sunlight can enter. All this cannot be compensated by the friendliness of the owner Julia.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveHH1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julia d, Owner at Trafalgar Cottages, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay here. It's a pity that people don't tell us if they are not happy about something.We could easily change the pillow, or spray the mosquitoes inside the room. We can ask the other guests to be quiet, but I cannot guarantee that they will comply, they are here on holiday also. As for the dog, unfortunately, he got sick and died. We are not an expensive hotel and we try to keep our prices equal to or lower than other similar establishments. It is true that we have been here for a long time, but we always try to replace any non-functional fittings as soon as we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed here for 14 nights in January. The cottages are midway between the main road and the beach, tucked away behind some market stalls. Our room and bathroom were basic, but clean. The shower was cold water only, but we knew that in advance. It still begs the question why not fit solar water heating like most everywhere else. There is a communal dining, cooking area in the centre of the cottages that is very useful. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DenPim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We spent about a week in this Boracay hostel. The staff was very good about providing directions and were very friendly over email and in person. Our room was on the second floor, and had a double bed, a fan, a chair, a desk and a sort of open closet. The hotel is probably on one of the quietest places in Boracay (off station 3), a short walk from the beach and around the corner from several souvenir shops (buying trinkets was a breeze!). The room was a little small but it got the job done, we were really there only to sleep. Didn't really feel any bugs (I thought I read about mosquitoes in other reviews). Value was great, fit our budget. Rooms are very basic but they are clean and the hostel will change sheets and provide towels every couple of days. Didn't use the cooking area so can't comment on it, but it's there nonetheless. Lots of books to borrow if you finish a book and don't have anything to read. It's great to stay in such a location because you can come back and take a breather in your room if you need a break from the White Beach craziness. I'd say it's worth noting there are two ATMs within walking distance. Great place for budget travelers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniesaturria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gumi, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our stay in Trafalgar was great! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was close enough to the beach and shops but we also had peace and quiet. The rooms were perfect for budget travellers. I would definitely go and stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldieH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great hostel. Owner was very friendly and so was his family. We had a double en suite room which was clean and all the electronics worked. The wifi was pretty good but you have to sit in the communal area to get it because it won't reach to the rooms. The room is basic but you gets what you pay for.

The cooking area looked good and the cottages are nice. Nelson the Dog cries a little but it's okay. The hostel is a little difficult to find but the owner will help you.

There's a restaurant at the entrench called Zest. You can get breakfasts for under P200 and other meals. The hostel is just 5 mins walk from the beach and about 20 mins walk to station 2.

It can look a little dodgy to find for the first time at night. It's pretty difficult to see at night as it's behind the stalls.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.4 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#33 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
#11 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#41 of 150 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Boracay Travelodge Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Frendz Resort Boracay
Frendz Resort Boracay
#13 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Romero de Boracay
Villa Romero de Boracay
#77 of 217 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trafalgar Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trafalgar Cottages

Property: Trafalgar Cottages
Address: Trafalgar Cottages, Manggayad | boat station 3, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Trafalgar Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafalgar Cottages Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing