We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad we couldn't stay longer...”
Review of Trafalgar Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trafalgar Cottages
Ranked #56 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sad we couldn't stay longer...”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We sadly only stayed one night in Trafalgar Cottages due to a booking oversight (totally our fault) Julia was amazingly accommodating on arrival and even helped us to look for alternative accommodation as they were full the rest of the nights of our stay.

The rooms were clean, beautiful outside area and free wifi was a bonus. Julia was really helpful in helping us plan our stay and do more than the usual Borocay partying.

Definitely recommend this place. We were so sad to leave after just one night. Thanks for having us,

Phil & Natalie

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilSmith24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    40
    10
    4
    10
See reviews for
10
27
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novosibirsk, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I visited in in January 2013 and enjoyed the time spent in Boracay.
Nice and clean rooms, some of them with aircons, nice hammocks on every balcony)
Friendly staff always ready to help with any problem.
My best regards to it`s owners warm hospitality)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinanna_nsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

If your'e looking for a place to stay in Boracay and you are in a budget, I can recommend Trafalgar Cottages. Rooms is very much simple, Just basic needs buts clean though. No hot shower, no breakfast included and no air-con. For as low as 13-15$ per night. Place is around 10 minutes walk to beach and market. You can cook food if you like too since they have kitchen that guest can use. One disappointment that I have with this place is the Fan. It has a disturbing sound. But all in all a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Khoikhoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila Philippines
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

If you are longing for that home ambiance away from the city life, this could be for you. The place is surrounded with trees so it really doesn't look like a hotel but a vacation house, which is exactly what a vacationist is looking for.

The place is located at Station 3 but very near all the necessities: dining because it's near food stalls; souvenir shopping at a bargain price because it's within e-mall (not to be confused with d-mall); and convenience stores. Though it doesn't have a Wi-Fi access, it provides other amenities like cooking and dining in.

People here are also nice and very helpful, from the owner to it's staff. The price is also one of the cheapest I've seen in Boracay because I got a big room for myself (non-aircon, just fan but it's wasn't really that hot inside the room) with linen and towel just for P500 per night (and I heard it was P350 during non-peak season). Bathroom and toilet are shared with the other three rooms. There are other rooms (airconditioned) depending on your choice of room as well, may it be for a solo traveler like me or for a bigger group.

And aside from being clean (I see all the staff cleaning every now and then), there is no curfew! I stayed out until 3am without any problem. I will definitely come back to this place.

Room Tip: This is perfect for a solo traveler on a budget like me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GNOBGNOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillipines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

owner is very hospitable . the place is just minutes away from the beach .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosettebaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I was unable to book through using hostelbookers so I took the chance of writing an email to the owner around 11:45 pm. If the owner will not reply, I will then take the chance of being a walk-in guest. Fortunately, the owner sent a text the morning after, informing that he had booked me already and that I need to proceed immediately to Trafalgar upon arrival because I have no deposit for my advance booking. This is really great. He is a very considerate owner. I received a text informing me that the room I reserved was prepared already and I was able to check in around 9:00 am which is pretty much early. This is really, really great and I am really thankful to the owner for this kind of accommodation even though I have not deposited any amount yet. So, I paid for the first night which was 550 pesos, and the room was shown to me and the key was given too. I traveled solo to Boracay and checked in as solo but I was able to inquire and request if it was possible for an extension of stay because I have no place to stay in Boracay. Also, I informed that my Love (my gf) will stay with me. The lady attendant, Ate Lizel informed Sir Joel (owner) and after I came back from my beach stroll and island exploration, I was informed that I can have 2 more nights. Regarding the room which we have stayed on, it is just a simple bedroom with 2 windows and an electric fan and opened cabinet. There is no TV (besides, I don't really watch TV) and a bathroom is shared or common bathroom. There are other rooms available for family, couple and solo traveler. Just inquire in their website or you can call the owner directly and asked for reservation. What I really like best from my stay aside the from the hospitality, is that it is just along the main road, a few steps from E-Mall (D-Mall is another mall in Boracay) and a few steps from the original Talipapa where you can buy cheap souvenirs. The white beach is just a few minutes walk which is around 3 to 5 minutes. A very affordable place for a sleepover. There is no curfew. Just don't lose the key assigned to your room.

Room Tip: Call in advance or you can try to send an email to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jeb083079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a couple weeks. We were only going to stay for a few nights but decided to stay longer. This is the cheapest hostel in Boracay and it is really nice. Very, very clean, fantastic location. If your on a budget this is the place to stay. www.trafalgarcottages.com

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carrie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.4 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#53 of 145 in Boracay
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
#11 of 145 in Boracay
863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#45 of 145 in Boracay
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Turtle Inn Resort
Turtle Inn Resort
#48 of 145 in Boracay
280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boracay Travelodge Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
La Isla Bonita Resort
La Isla Bonita Resort
#83 of 145 in Boracay
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trafalgar Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trafalgar Cottages

Property: Trafalgar Cottages
Address: Trafalgar Cottages, Manggayad | boat station 3, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Trafalgar Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafalgar Cottages Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing