We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Alta Vista de Boracay
Ranked #59 of 146 Hotels in Boracay
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Never again!!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

From the pictures, we were stoked with the idea of staying at Alta Vista. When we got there, we were very disappointed. The pool was very small and a lot better in pictures. When swimming, you will have a bad view of a construction site. They have free shuttle to D Mall up to 12mn. It was the Labor Day weekend and we were drinking until 3:30am. Going back to the resort, we had to take motorcycle ride, which wasn't allowed to enter the premises. They do not have free pickup from the entrance of the hotel to the rooms. Imagine, walking uphill after a night of drinking! There's no way we are staying here again. The food served for the buffet breakfast was nowhere average! It looks bad and as if they do not want you to eat them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarkCezarSucgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aristedes S, Manager at Alta Vista de Boracay, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Sucgang,

I am deeply sorry that your expectations of our infinity pool did not meet as pictured. The construction site facing the hotel is beyond our control but we expect a better view from the pool once it is completed.During the Labor Day weekend, shuttle service was extended from 12 to 2:30 in the morning and the pick up service from the gate to the lobby even up to the room is also available. You just have to ask the security on duty. I have noted your concerns regarding the breakfast and will further investigate.

Thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
Arie S. Sena
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    159
    66
    27
    22
See reviews for
104
97
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tanauan City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Quality of service is not worth the price.it's better to book to a cheaper hotel than to book to this hotel. The Food and Beverage department should improve their service. Staffs are not attentive. Good thing is that they are allowing guests to have an early check in and it is free of charge.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rochellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aristedes S, Manager at Alta Vista de Boracay, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Rochellie,

Thank your for the review. Though it is not very specific, I have asked my colleagues on possible services that did not meet your expectations of the hotel.

Early check in without additional charge is usually allowed in our hotel as long as the room is already available. We are very flexible when it comes to guest's convenience.

Thank you.

Sincerely,
Arie Sena
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We booked last Dec. and arrived at the hotel late in the afternoon. Staff welcomed us with a warm smile and greetings. When we saw the LOFT we booked, it's a nice room and can accomodate 6 people. They have utensils you can use and whenever you call for service or inquiry - staff will come to you immediately. Their location may be far but their service is on time. If your tired going to Boracay Beach, they have Puka Beach to offer which is more serene, quiet and no vendors hanging around. Tried their buffet breakfast - it is Ok but if you prefer heavy one then eat somewhere else. We're family of 5 booked last Dec. 21-24 for 2 lofts and so far their service is great and the hotel itself is nice place to stay and with a very attentive and warm staff, what else you would ask?

I highly recommend this place if you want away from noise and vendors.

Room Tip: Their Loft is good for big families. And book Puka Beach with them ahead of time. Be sure you got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merlinda_trias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aristedes S, Manager at Alta Vista de Boracay, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Lianne08,

I am out of words how to thank your for your beautiful and kind words for our hotel. We always try to exceed our guest;s expectations.

Again, thank you so much

Arie Sena
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Århus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

we have had a great vacation in Alta Vista with my family. Staffs and crew are friendly, and polite. Clean room, towels, etc.. Maybe a bit improvement for breakfast though i love asian food but somehow my body is get used on healthy diet like having yogurt and a real fresh juice in the morning. The last thing that they have to be aware of is that appetizer should not be serve at the same time with the main course during diner. We had diner during the first night in the hotel, me and my husband got shocked when they served us the alta vista burger warm meat patty but cold bread on it for main course, and then after few seconds the appetizer is coming which is 2 different kinds of soup, and some vegetables salad with some sea foods on it. But all in all is it a great stay for 5days. I would keep the other one star for this time so maybe after few years of coming back i gonna give them 5 star for their improvement particularly in dining for diner. God Bless!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Irish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aristedes S, Manager at Alta Vista de Boracay, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear IrishN,

Our sincere appreciations for the kind words. Looking forward to see you again in the near future

Sincerely,
Arie Sena
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We rented an apartment within this complex.
From the start we were made very welcome, the staff couldn't do more for us and it never felt that they were doing it because they had to, but because they wanted to.
The complex is situated up in the hills over looking the island and the view from the infinity pool is breath taking.
It's location allows you to be away from the busy sea front where most of the hotels are situated. There is free transport laid on by the complex to get you to and from the main area of boracay which runs at regular intervals, but if you want to go at a different time, it is cheap enough to pay for a private trip.
The alta vista also has a private beach in its own little bay, which is staffed and very relaxing. The hotel will provide transport to get you there and back.
The restaurant serves an excellent buffet breakfast and fantastic meals. They also have an excellent selection of food and drinks to enjoy around the pool.

Room Tip: Choose a room further up the hill and over looking the island, the view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aristedes S, Manager at Alta Vista de Boracay, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear JohnM,

Thank you for your very inspiring review. This motivates everyone in the hotel to do better.
Looking forward to see you again in the hotel

Sincerely,
Arie Sena
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Obviously a quick look at the rating I’ve given will tell you that this isn’t going to be a favorable review, however I want to break each element down and give my reasons so you can decide if this hotel is for you.

On arrival the first thing that strikes you is the impressive entrance foyer which is spacious and looks out over the two small pools. Staff are attentive and friendly but unfortunately (as we found out) unable to deal effectively with problems or issues. After checking in we were taken to our loft room. The room itself is split on two levels, the upstairs section has two small double beds and some cupboard space, the downstairs has the shower and toilet together with a small kitchen area (sink, microwave, kettle) leading to some seating (which had cushions that slid off) then out onto a small balcony.

No major issues with the room itself, however if you like your room to be dark when the sun rises in the morning then forget it. The loft room has long rows of narrow windows at both the front and the back of the room, neither of which have curtains or blinds so the minute the sun comes up you’re awake!

We had to constantly complain to get enough towels put in the room as the staff would leave one towel for two of us, we had to raise this issue several times. Likewise housekeeping started knocking on the door at 7.45am which was a bit early for us when we’re on holiday. In the end we had to resort to putting the “do not disturb” sign on the door. According to the hotel manager they change the bedsheets in the room every two days which explains why they changed ours once in two weeks! They do have a mini-bar you can have stocked but you have to buy the full inventory. There are a couple of options but the cheapest will get you half a dozen cans of soft drinks and a few snacks for around £20.....so don’t bother!

We booked a transfer to get us from the airport at Catilan to the resort and it turned out to be a good decision at 600 peso each. Sadly the same can’t be said for the return transfer which was a nightmare. Our flight was a 7am so we needed to leave the resort at 4.30am. First they kept us waiting while they “checked the room”, god knows what for! When we arrived at the dock for the boat transfer we were ushered towards the boat and then abandoned to find the boat we needed. On arrival at the other end the staff member sat and watched us struggle to get the luggage down a narrow gangplank as we left the boat, he then pointed us towards a group of buses and left us to it.....not sure what we were paying for.

The hotel run a shuttle service into town which runs once an hour. this is fine until you’ve 600 guests and one 12 seater bus. We had a constant battle to try and get more resources to get us all into town. One evening we had booked and paid for transport to drop us off at the Shangri-La resort where we were going to dinner, and we asked to be picked up at 1am and confirmed the arrangements twice. 1am came and went so I rang the hotel to enquire where the transport was. The reply was “we’re too busy, all our buses are bringing people from town”. Finally the Shangri-La provided us with transport and we got back to the resort at 2am where, on arrival, we saw three buses parked up and sat idle. when I asked for the duty manager there wasn’t one. All we got were lots of apologies but no action.

One of the plus sides to this resort (there has to be one) is Puka beach which is beautiful and relatively quiet. The hotel would have you believe that this is an exclusive beach, but its not as there are a regular stream of tourist boats dropping groups off. Even so its a good place to wind down. Sadly the resort even made a mess of this part. First they only have circa ten sunbeds, secondly they won’t allow you to take beach towels from the hotel to the beach as “they have them there”. Every time we arrived at the beach they had no towels. First they tried to fob us off with old sweaty towels that others had used but when we insisted on clean ones they eventually got some, although it did take another two hours (the hotel is only 5 minutes away!). Alternatively you can stay by the pool which again only has only eight beds for 600 guests and you need to sign for your towels. The pools are quite small but if you swim towards the edge of the infinity pool you can look over and see.....a building site!! Yep there is now a large building site right over the road from the hotel.

The last comment I want to raise is about the food, and breakfast in particular. Many of the reviews going many months complain about the breakfast and the responses would lead you to believe that the management are going to take action on it, well they haven’t. The cereal is left out all day in the humid air so it all goes soft. The bread is ok but they have a toaster that only does two slices at one time (80 people per sitting at breakfast). You can have plain rice and noodles if you wish or “meat” products which consist of some kind of hot dog, spam or some other badly processed entity. The “fresh juice” is made from cheap powder and tap water as I saw it being made myself. You can have fried, scrambled eggs or omelettes but the girl cooking only has two pans and can never keep up.....in short, its a nightmare and in the end we stopped going as it made us ill.

I’m sorry for the long review but this is supposed to be a four star resort and it charges well over £100/night, even the wi-fi didn’t work properly, if at all! I could go on but you get the picture. This hotel is run on a very low budget and the lack of management is clear to see as the staff are left to their own devices and when we complained we just got fobbed off with lots of excuses. It could be a good resort with some effort but for now I’d save your money and go elsewhere.....like the Regency!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Bansheeragger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Sometimes when you get something cheap over the internet it does not actually mean that you have got yourself a bargain - it just means that it is cheap. If you can afford more than this place, do yourself a favour and pay it. If you can not afford something more, do yourself a favour and stay elsewhere. Location. Whilst they promise regular transfers into town, they only come once an hour. Facilities. The pool looks good on the pictures but most of the time its really windy and not pleasant. Forget about trying to read a book by the pool as you have to put up with music blaring from the reception lounge. Drinks? No service at the pool - you need to walk up to restaurant to get anyone to pay you any attention. Deck chairs? Whilst the area could accommodation many deck chairs and umbrellas, the hotel only provides 8 for all its guests. Housekeeping - This one takes the cake. We arrived back at our room around 6pm from the beach and were wanting to get ready for New Years eve. Our room had been made up but there were no towels. Called reception, they said towels on their way. Half hour later - no towels. Called again, said they were on their way. Half hour later - no towels. Called a 3rd time (now running late to dinner reservation) - informed that hotel has run out of clean towels and laundry has not finished washing new batch!!!!! What hotel runs our of towels? So we had to go out unwashed for NYE. Still on housekeeping. Our room was fairly close to the road ie ground floor. Every morning we locked out balcony door, only to have room service leave it unlocked after they cleaned up. NRestaurant. No wine whatsoever served by the glass, you must buy a bottle. Breakfast. Assuming that you were not into fish heads, noodles and spam for breakfast, the least they could offer is a working toaster. Wrong again. 3 day old bread and toasters dating back to the pre-industrial revolution age. I put my bread into the little oven and waited 10 minutes - and all I got was warm bread. Cleanliness of grounds. Rubbish is left in one great pile next to stairs from all the rooms. We notices that it took all day for this to be collected. There are gardens bordering the apartment blocks. These gardens were littered with rubbish which was never collected. I kept track of certain pieces just to see if they bothered at all - no they did not. Security gate at the bottom of drive. Once again there were bags of rubbish here - great first impression

Room Tip: Again - don't do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
3 Thank Mina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
3.0 mi away
Lingganay Boracay Hotel Resort
1.1 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#26 of 146 in Boracay
1,512 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#36 of 146 in Boracay
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
2.6 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#44 of 146 in Boracay
147 reviews
1.3 mi away
White House Beach Resort
White House Beach Resort
#50 of 146 in Boracay
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Vista de Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Vista de Boracay

Property: Alta Vista de Boracay
Address: Barangay Yapak | Malay, Aklan, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#23 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alta Vista de Boracay 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Alta Vista de Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta Vista De Boracay Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing