We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good place in high season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Alta Vista de Boracay
Ranked #53 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Not a good place in high season”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We just spent 3 days there 26-29 December and the hotel just cannot cope when it's full. There are 500 rooms here - meaning more than 1000 people trying to have breakfast every morning, many of the bain marie trays for eggs/omelettes were empty and looked dirty as the staff cannot keep up with demand to produce more. The breakfast experience is similar to that of a train station - far from peaceful. The food is also below par for this standard of hotel. We did do 1 lunch there and the local food was good.

The location is ok, they have access to a private beach (Puka Beach - which is amazing) shared with a few other hotels, you need to book transport to get there 1 hour in advance & cannot walk there. Free wifi in the lobby & surrounding areas but quite expensive in the rooms.

The place has 17 buildings set around the grounds so it can be a bit of a hike getting to the rooms, no lifts in any building for those who don't like stairs. They have hourly free shuttle to the D'mall area, but often at night we had to wait for 20-30 mins to get back as they didn't operate enough shuttles to accommodate everyone.

There are no block out blinds in the rooms just see through material which is very annoying when the bright daylight sun comes out.

Sadly most of the problems we encountered were due to poor management or lack of care.

For the price we paid we expected much much more - only worth it if you get a great deal in low season or don't mind an average place for a high price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddv73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    159
    66
    26
    21
See reviews for
102
97
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed here with my wife back in October. Our room was a loft and had a great view of Fairways and Bluewater, the mountains, the ocean, and the sunrise. The room was adequate and can easily accommodate a family of 3 or 4. It's always windy out in the balcony but a great to place to just relax and enjoy the view.

The hotel has a small infinity pool and has a cozy coffeeshop with a decent menu. They have a breakfast buffet where they serve this delicious European bread so go to the buffet early.

The bonus for staying here is access to Puka beach which was recommended by one of the staff in the coffeeshop. This is the real Boracay beach - peaceful, clean, great waves, and makes you feel like you're in heaven.

If you're looking for a peaceful retreat, this is the resort to go to.

Room Tip: Get the golf course view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cannonguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Just came back home from my holidays and i want to share my experience with all of you! first of all this resort doesnt have free wifi in the rooms only in the loby and restaurant dont mention is a big resort so if you not close to the loby then bad lack secondly the rooms dont have mini bar you have to pay extra 2000 pesos for to just put it in to your room! Beds are no the best and if you have a room that gets hit from the sun then everyday you will wake up at 6:20 am cause no blinds and the curtins doesnt do nothing and last is that most of the stuff there ,there english are not good!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitrios L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We originally booked 4 nights but we've decided to just used 2nights of our original booking. In my opinion, ALTA Vista is way better than its neighboring hotels in this side of quiet Boracay. The staff were friendly and always willing to assist their guests i every way possible. Weve checked-in late, around 8:00pm from that gruesome ride from Kalibo to Caticlan jetty port. The front desk officers were very welcoming and immediately assisted us, took them 2minutes to finished everything and we were sent off to our rooms, F-103, the Fuji Bldg. The room is quite comfortable and huge with our very own tub/kitchen/verandah with golf view of the nearby Fairways. We had fun, lots of it, in the hotel's infinity pool with the magnifivent view of the great Panay province! The breakfast buffet was really good with a little improvement on the choices of fruits! They only have pineapple! Alta Vista prides itself for having its own private beach for the exclusive use of its guests, the beautiful PUKA BEACH. The hotel has a free shuttle service from and to busy D'mall area which is always jampacked with tourist from all over the world. Overall, i would say we had the best time at ALTA VISTA and we'll definitely recommend it to friends and family. It was a truly wonderful 2nights stay.

Room Tip: Choose a villa near the main lobby with the magnificent view of the Panay gulf and Fairways gold cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oriellini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
122 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed in Boracay for 5 nights for a convention and I must say that this is THE best place to stay in Boracay ever.

Rooms are really huge with 2 double beds, lounge sofa, mini kitchen with sink, microwave and fridge (with plates/bowls/glasses), bathtub in bathroom, balcony with rattan chairs and coffee table AND a rack to hang your wet swimwear. They also have umbrellas in your room, knowing that typhoons and rains can be merciless on Boracay.

Loved the infinity pool, which gives the 180 degree view of hills and glimpse of sea at Puka beach side. Has jacuzzi section and many comfortable lounge chairs and rattan chair-beds. Beach towels were always enough and they let you use them to Puka Beach and White Beach, provided that you return them at the pool or leave them in your room for housekeeping to collect.

Restaurant was OK. Decent food, on some days the spread was good and on some days the spread wasn't satisfactory. Juices were always too sweet for me but you can have coffee and other beverages.

Spa and 24-hour mart is also available.

Free WiFi at lobby/restaurant only. Available in room at 150PHP per hour.

Every staff was very helpful and friendly. I've always appreciated their services.

Free shuttles are provided to Puka Beach and White Beach at designated times. White Beach is pretty far (20 minutes' ride) but Puka Beach is very near (5 minutes' ride) and it is private and quiet; great if you want to get away from the insane crowd on White Beach.

White Beach is the happening place, with pubs, restaurants, masseurs etc. And plenty of beach activities too (parasailing, paraw rides, Zorg, ATV etc). Fine sand so it is nice to walk on.

Will not hesitate to recommend Alta Vista to all who wants some privacy. Good deal too at 5700PHP per night (with breakfast) for the regular rooms. They also have lofts for higher capacity. Airport transfers from 1200PHP (round trip) at Caticlan airport and slightly more expensive (1800PHP?) from Kalibo airport.

Room Tip: If you hate walking, choose the rooms in blocks closer to the clubhouse (lobby) such as Block H and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheLynxTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aristedes S, Manager at Alta Vista de Boracay, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear TheLynxTravels,

I am truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind words will continue to inspire us to strive harder and do better so that all our guests will experience a memorable stay like what you had in our hotel.

Thank you and we are looking forward to see you again.

Sincerely,
Arie S. Sena
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The one and only time I visited boracay was in october 2009 with my then bf (now hubby), and this was where we stayed.

I chose this condotel coz I wanted to avoid the crowd of White Beach and the rooms were cheap. The amenities were nice. Our room was surprisingly big, with 2 queen size beds and a kitchenette and balcony.

This place is far from the main action, situated on top of a hill. We tried walking from the hotel to the White Beach and it took us nearly an hour. They also have a free shuttle that will take you D'Mall in 15 minutes. We just wanted to explore more of Boracay on foot.

They also have their own private beach at Puca Beach. The sand was not the same as White Beach since it was made of puca shells, but we still like it there, especially the waves.

We didn't experience the night life since we are not night people. We'll visit boracay soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catcherintherai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aristedes S, Manager at Alta Vista de Boracay, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Catcherintherai,

Thank you for visiting us back and considering Alta Vista as your second home in Boracay. You are indeed correct that whenever you are in Alta Vista, you will experience the other side of Boracay.

Thank you and looking forward to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Arie S. Sena
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I think it was a terrible stay because when i was finished swimming i saw little kids falling on the VERY SLIPPERY FLOORS ! Also one of the little kids that fell had a big bump on the back of their head and past awayed 5 days later. Also i was waiting for my dinner and lunch a they took 1 hour to make a sanwhich and also 2 hours for my spagetti so i dont rcemend staying here.

Room Tip: some good tips is to have a building that is close to the hotel so you dont have to walk very long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emily h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aristedes S, Manager at Alta Vista de Boracay, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Emily,

As I remember and as our record shows, this particular incident was handled well and the kid was indeed doing fine with all the medical assistance and medications provided. In fact we even brought him to St Lukes hopital in Manila for treatment (CT scan) and they went back to Boracay the next day. We were even on continuous communication with the family when they went back to Manila before they left back to US and the kid was perfectly fine.

This is to keep the record straight. Thank you and God bless.

Sincerely,

Arie S. Sena
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
3.0 mi away
Lingganay Boracay Hotel Resort
1.1 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#26 of 145 in Boracay
1,462 reviews
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#31 of 145 in Boracay
531 reviews
3.0 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Boracay Haven Resort
Boracay Haven Resort
#38 of 145 in Boracay
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Vista de Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Vista de Boracay

Property: Alta Vista de Boracay
Address: Barangay Yapak | Malay, Aklan, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#22 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alta Vista de Boracay 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Alta Vista de Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta Vista De Boracay Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing