We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Treat”
Review of The Pig Out Bistro

The Pig Out Bistro
Ranked #10 of 353 Restaurants in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ate here because it was very conveniently located from where we are staying, just right across.

Hubby ordered the lechon kawali, very tender and yummy. The skin was weird though. It's not crispy but more like brittle-hard. My adventurous son ordered the octopus tentacle (there's just one) and it's very instagrammable. The tentacle was the right amount of tender. My daughter ordered the calamari, which was okay as well. I had the crab burger. How do I desribe it? It does look good but the taste is bland yet salty. The crab patty was bland, no crab flavor coming through, a major let down. Sure it was huge, but, sorry to say, it was just plain old torta with many bits of shells, not crab meat. The arugula and raw onion definitely added a fresh taste to balance the over salted egg mixture. Personally, I think they put premium on how the dishes are presented more than how it actually taste.
Pricing is a bit on the high side. Average per dish is P500.
Overall, ambiance and service included, are okay. Servers not intrusive but not helpful at the same time. Will we come back? That's a big maybe.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank jrcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonysplaceboracay, Front Officer at The Pig Out Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear jrcl,

Warm greetings from The Pig Out Bistro!

It is our privilege to serve your family during your vacation in Boracay. We are very glad that your husband enjoyed eating the lechon kawali as well as the octopus tentacle that was liked by your son and how it was presented to you. Also, we are happy to know that calamari was a right order for your daughter. On the other side, we would like to sincerely apologies if Crab Burger was not good as you expected. Rest assured that your comment is well noted.

We are looking forward on your next visit!

At your service,
The Pig Out Bistro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We found this place on trip advisor prior to going to boracay and were glad we stop in. Located across the street from Astoria Boracay near station 1, this place is a little gem.

We came for some seafood and wasn’t disappointed. The taste, presentation and service was excellent! They have available wifi if you ask. The creme brûlée was big and delicious.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank BigBAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonysplaceboracay, Front Officer at The Pig Out Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear BigBtravels,

Warm greetings!

Thank you for taking to leave your a wonderful review for The Pig Out Bistro. We are glad that you were able to find us on TripAdvisor and that you were not disappointed on your first try. Thank you for giving us a great title as "Little Gem in Boracay", this makes our heart full of happiness.

We are looking forward on your next visit, hope it would be soon!


At your service,
The Pig Out Bistro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

We were staying in the hotel next to this restaurant so we ate here quite a lot! We were very impressed by the quality of food! My boyfriend had the beef burger most nights which he said is one of the best he’s ever eaten! I tried the crab burger which was really delicious and also tried the gnocchi - really tasty and very well presented, however, the portion was slightly small so I would recommend getting a side order with this dish! Service was great, slightly slow but it is definitely worth the wait! Breakfast here is also amazing! Portions are really big and the food is delicious! The pancakes are amazing and a must try!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank W5570OZbethh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonysplaceboracay, Front Officer at The Pig Out Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Dear W5570OZbethh,

Warm greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review for The Pig Out Bistro!

Thank you also for staying at Jony's Boutique Hotel and were very happy for the patronage in the bistro. We are humbly proud that you rated your experience here as "high quality food". Providing high quality food is one of the main goal of our team. We are very happy to hear that your boyfriend loved the beef burger and it made him choose to ate it ever night and again we are delighted to know that it was the best burger that he eaten in his entire life. Also, thank you for the compliments for the crab burger, gnocchi. On the other part, we would like to apologize if we did not meet your expectation with regards to the servings. Thank you for loving the pancakes too.

We are looking forward on your next visit!


At Your Service,

The Pig Out Bistro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019 via mobile

Located along Boracay's main road, this bistro is very accessible to both public and private transportation. It's not really that big. In fact the place can accommodate only a few people. But I like its ambiance. Very cozy and homey. I recommend that you try its Filipino breakfast and seafood platter. Thumbs up!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank CzarEmmanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonysplaceboracay, Front Officer at The Pig Out Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Dear CzarEmmanuel,

Warm greetings!

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for The Pig Out Bistro!

When it comes to accessibility, The Pig Out Bistro is one of the best place to visit if you're looking for good food and ambiance. Our small but cozy restaurant is always ready to satisfy your food cravings. Thank you very much for the recommendation, its really a great help for first timers.

Hope to see you again at the bistro!


At your service,

The Pig Out Bistro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019 via mobile

This is a really lovely restaurant with great quality food and attentive, polite staff. We went on our first night in Boracay and had the calamari, mussels croquettes and the paella to share. They were all amazing.

We went back another day for lunch and had the calamari again and then both got the crab burger as it was so well reviewed. Unfortunately we had our hopes too high and were disappointed with it. It didn’t taste very “crabby” and lacked flavour.

However, we would 100% come here again as everything else we had was delicious. Definitely try it if you are in Boracay!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank sinmar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonysplaceboracay, Front Officer at The Pig Out Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear 510sineadh,

Warm greetings from The Pig Out Bistro!

Thank you for the time spent and for sharing your wonderful feedback here on TripAdvisor. We thoroughly appreciate your great review for calamari, mussel croquettes and paella on your first night in Boracay. However, we would like to extend our sincerest apologies if we did not reach your expectation on our crab burger.

It is our great joy that you made an assurance of coming back to try another great food experience.

We hope to see you soon and we would love to serve you again!



At your service,

The Pig Out Bistro Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pig Out Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Pig Out Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing