We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“In the center of D'Mall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tides Boracay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tides Boracay
Ranked #68 of 147 Hotels in Boracay
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
232 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“In the center of D'Mall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

The location is definitely perfect!
The room is clean, staffs are friendly and helpful.
The bathroom setup is weird. The shower curtain covers only one side of the bathtub. Unlike typical bathtubs in hotels, their bathtub is a stand-alone unit. So, whenever one takes shower, the water splashes out on the side of the bathtub without the shower curtain. Later on, there's water everywhere in the bathroom, then outside the room! The towel rack is a ladder. Yes a ladder! A detachable one! So be careful when you pull the towel out of the rack because the ladder might come with it.

Room Tip: We were staying in 3rd floor. And the 4th floor is the bar and the swimming pool. Every night they p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ihui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    96
    50
    22
    14
See reviews for
44
58
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We booked an "Exceptional" Room (though nothing about it is really exceptional) through AGODA and specifically asked for One Large Bed in our room since we are celebrating our Anniversary. It was such a disappointment that the bell service escorted us to a Room with 2 Queen Beds!!! We then called up the FO to request to transfer in a different room with a Kind Size Bed and without remorse or apology whatsoever, she said she cannot transfer us explaining that the Ground Floor Rooms with Kind Size Beds are out of service. But when we checked, there are other Guests occupying some of the Ground Floor Rooms!!!
The service was pretty standard. The Interiors characterized as "modern minimalist" is more "minimal due to budget". A lot can be improved if you ask me. Food is not terrible at least.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAMateo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides Hotel B, Marketing at The Tides Boracay, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hello CAMateo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We have noted all your points to further improve on our hotel. We do hope to make it up to you on your next stay with us. Thank you!

Best,
Tides Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boracay hotels

Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is at the central location very close to the beach and shops and nightlife. Staff was very nice BUT my prob was the badly design bathroom. It offers NO privacy and the toilet is separate from the bathtub/shower the bathroom is designed like a closet with holes so you can hear your friends fart and pee. Because of this I probably will not stay here again. It could have been a great hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides Hotel B, Marketing at The Tides Boracay, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi Matthew P,

Thank you for posting a review for The Tides Hotel Boracay! We really appreciate your thoughts and comments. All these are noted and we'll surely do something about these. We apologize for whatever inconvenience you've experienced during your stay.

Hope to see you again soon

Thanks,
The Tides Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Good -

Big bins to fit all the empty bottles of water you usually have nowhere to put !
Breakfast - Usual buffet breakfast eggs station fruit etc
Sink outside the bathroom I thought was strange but ended up being handy for 2 people.
Staff friendly & helpful and good location close to but not right on the beach
Good rooftop bar/swimming pool

Bad -

Uncomfortable bed - hence the 3/5 rating.
Wifi & hot water is a bit hit and miss but kind of expect that on an island.

Tip -

I would recommend paying the airport to hotel transfers if it's your first time to Boracay. May seem expensive but if you do it on your own you need to get from airport to port then boat to island port then port to beach. At each turn there seems to be a fee to pay for something and I saw a few westerners arguing as to why they had to keep paying people for something thinking they were being ripped off. So to save time & hassle it's Peso's well spent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pommyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides Hotel B, at The Tides Boracay, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi Pommyash,

Thank you for posting a review for The Tides Hotel Boracay! We really appreciate your thoughts and comments. Noted on all your suggestions and we'll definitely do something about your other comments.

Thank you again and hope we'll have you again in your next vacation.

Thanks,
The Tides Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
184 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Tides is situated right in the D'Mall at Station 2, the main shopping/dining/entertainment centre of Boracay and just outside the hotel are plenty of shops, restaurants, spa, café, etc. and is very convenient for people who do not want to take public transport to reach this place. Although it is not beach frontage, it is a short 3 min walk to the beach. The hotel is not luxury but very basic, clean room and good service. One thing that they need to improve is the internet which is not very reliable and have to log in again and again to be connected. Breakfast is decent at the only restaurant located at the roof top by the swimming pool.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides Hotel B, Marketing at The Tides Boracay, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Hi ctsim,

Thank you for posting a review for The Tides Hotel Boracay! We really appreciate your thoughts and comments. All these are noted and we'll surely do something about these. We are in constant communication with our internet providers to be able to do something about the internet connection. We apologize for whatever inconvenience you've experienced during your stay.

Hope to have you again with us soon!

Thanks,
The Tides Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Problem with Boracay, is there isn't much difference between a $150 and $300 hotel. Therefore, I prefer this place. Decent hotel, clean and well equipped gym. Good value and decent service. Unless you have the budget to stay at the Shang, this is probably the way to go and it's convenient to all the nightlife on the Beach!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jameskdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides Hotel B, Marketing at The Tides Boracay, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Hello Jameskdean,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are truly very happy that you were able to enjoy your stay here with us. We are doing our best to keep you and all our other guests satisfied.

Hope to see you soon!

Best,
Tides Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makati
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Our family stayed in Tides last summer for a few days and my family really enjoyed it. The hotel is located inside the the mall and we had fun going through the different stores, restaurants and other activities. The room is spacious and the linens are clean. We also like their breakfast. But what surprised me the most is the honesty of the hotel staff. I forget to take my money out of the room vault after I opened it, and they called me here in Manila to inform me about it and ask me where they could send it. I told them they could send it in their head office and I got my money the day after. Kudos to the Tides and their staff. Thanks Mr. Ken for recommending it. You did a good training the staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mnlpolice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#31 of 147 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boracay Uptown
Boracay Uptown
#58 of 147 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.7 mi away
Astoria Current
Astoria Current
#9 of 147 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Patio Pacific Boracay
Patio Pacific Boracay
#41 of 147 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Coconut Beach Hotel
Red Coconut Beach Hotel
#32 of 147 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boracay Haven Resort
Boracay Haven Resort
#39 of 147 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Boracay

Property: The Tides Boracay
Address: D Mall Station 2, Balabag, Sitio Manggayad, Aklan Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tides Boracay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides Hotel Boracay - A uniquely themed boutique hotel that offers exceptional and personalized service. Located at the heart of D’Mall, the hotel is just a minute’s stroll to the pristine white sands and clear azure waters of Boracay’s famous beachfront. After opening its doors in 2007, the hotel has garnered several distinctions including the 2011 Best Beach Resort Hotel by the Top Brand Awards and the 2009 Consumers Choice Award for the Most Outstanding Luxury Destination Hotel. The Tides Hotel was also cited as one of the 44 Places To Go in 2009 by the prestigious New York Times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Tides Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Boracay Hotel Boracay
The Tides Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing