We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of The Tides Boracay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Tides Boracay
Ranked #54 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 10 nights with my husband. Booked a room for 5 nights only, in case if we do not like it, go to another hotel, but then extended for another 5 nights. The hotel is very pleased with their staff. All are very friendly, welcoming and always smiling. Rooms quite comfortable and very clean, the breakfast is delicious and varied. Can't say anything about the pool, because we did not use them and all the time spent on the beach. But around it always had a lot of people, so I will think that the pool is nice.
The hotel is small and located in the heart D'Moll. Most likely, the next time we will book another hotel, with their territory and sunbeds on the beach, with views of the sea from the window.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesHotel, Manager at The Tides Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Hello Natalya,

Good Day! It's always great to hear when a guest has a pleasant experience during their stay with us. Our guests are actually welcome to use the sun loungers and chairs at EPIC Boracay which is beachfront and about a minute's walk from the Tides. It's a shame you weren't able to enjoy the roofdeck pool as it has really great views of the sunset.

Thank you for the feedback! Hopefully, we see you back with us!

Best,
Tides Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 256 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

we stayed at the tides for 5 nights. we were greeted by their friendly staff with their beaming smiles. convenience wise, this is the right place for you. everything is all walking distance from restaurants to the main beach. buffet breakfast is ok. i wish they could have change the selections every day but great food anyway. they dont have their own sun deck in front of the beach and too crowded so we have to walk down to station 1 where there is more privacy and quiet. pool is partly overlooking the beach . nice to chill out at their bar although theres no much people at night. overall, the service is great and definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b-annebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesHotel, Manager at The Tides Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Hello b-annebee,

Good day! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back soon! Please note that Tides guests are free to use the sun loungers at EPIC Boracay which is located beachfront and about a minutes walk from the Tides.

Best,
Tides Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Tides is a small hotel in D'Mall offering the convenience of restaurants, eateries, a supermarket, local shops, bars and the beach within a few meters. The rooms are clean and adequate as you dont spend much time in it. The rooftop swimming pool offers a retreat from the hussle and bussle of the beach were you can watch the sun set before heading out to dinner. The staff are all very pleasant and knowledgable. By staying at this hotel, you can also get discounts at affilated clubs,cafes and restaurants. Only problem that we encountered was that our room was filled with cigarette smoke whenever the neighboring room had a smoke on their balcony or when the guests smoked in the stairwells - which was apparently allowed.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony, this will enable you to get your swimming atttire dry for the next da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesD92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesHotel, Manager at The Tides Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Hello JulesD29,

Good Day! We're happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We don't allow smoking in the rooms and have noted your concerns regarding smoking in the stairwells.

Thank you for the feedback! We hope to see you back with us!

Best,
Tides Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed for 5 days in December.
Pros:
- Right in the middle of D'Mall and is accessible to a lot of stores.
- Room was clean.
- Welcome drink was refreshing.
- Spa service was impressive.

Cons:
- Upstairs noise was too loud.
- Beach at Station 2 was just too crowded.

If I would come back to this hotel? Maybe - if this was in Station 1, why not?

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesHotel, Manager at The Tides Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Hello jetmatt,

Good Day! We're glad that you enjoyed our spa services and the welcome drink. As for the noise from the roof deck we have recently addressed that concern and placed a limit to music that is being played along with the music selection.

Thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you with us again. Maybe you can enjoy a Mojito while watching the sunset at our roofdeck (Solstice Sun Lounge) the next time around.

Best,
Tides Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the tides for 7 nights in a junior suite.
I must commend the staff on their great service. We had a few issues at the start with the drain being blocked and they attended to it straight away.
Was also easy to book tours or activities through them.
The upstairs pool and bar is good but needs a to be renovated. There were nails and metal bits hanging out which my partner badly injured his foot on.
They also have the music blaring in the bar upstairs when there is no one up there. So if you are wanting an early night in, you may be kept up by the noise.
I wouldn't recommend ording the chocolate shake at the bar either as its just chocolate syrup and ice... Where's the milk?
Apart from the few issues its a great place to stay if your wanting to be right in the centre of it all.
But personally we can't wait to come back and stay at boat station 1 where it is much more quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayneo_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesHotel, Manager at The Tides Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Hello jayneo_88,

Good day! All in all, we're glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. To address the concerns you mentioned, we have recently renovated the rooms and the Solstice Sun Lounge at the roofdeck. The music selection has also been changed and limitations on the volume have been set. Your other concerns have been noted as well.

We do hope to see you back with us. Thank you for your feedback!

Best,
Tides Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Average hotel with average amenities. Very impressed with their spa services but other than that, nothing special. Avoid Henna tattoos on the beach at all costs, they will charge you an arm and a leg to clean the sheets and towels for even the smallest of stains and neglect to inform you of this at check-in. Staff was friendly but nothing exceptional. Would not return to this hotel after seeing what others have to offer for similar prices.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the pool area if possible, they have a DJ in the lounge/pool area at night t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesHotel, Manager at The Tides Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Hello Kate G,

Good day! We're glad that you enjoyed our spa services and have noted the other concerns you have. We have actually fixed the music in the Solstice Sun Lounge to something that better suits the ambiance of the hotel and have placed volume limitations. As for the henna stains, we will make sure that the front office doesn't fail to let the guests know upon check-in. The reason for this is actually because henna stains are close to impossible to take out and would leave the sheets unusable.

Hopefully, we can make it up to you on your next visit. We appreciate the feedback. Thank you!

Best,
Tides Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Tides is in a great location within D'Mall just a short walk away from the beach. I'd have to commend the staff who were very friendly and helpful and also great to deal with. The rooms are not particularly spacious but it was clean and comfortable. The brunch breakfast was decent and the pool was lovely. Downside would our free dinner on the first night which was very average, but other than that I would recommend the Tides.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_phung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesHotel, Manager at The Tides Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Hello s_phung,

Good day! We're glad you had a pleasant stay with us and hope to see you back soon! Please note that Tides guests are free to use the sun loungers at EPIC Boracay should you want to stay beachfront.

Thank you!

Best,
Tides Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#36 of 151 in Boracay
549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
#17 of 151 in Boracay
211 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lingganay Boracay Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Boracay Haven Resort
Boracay Haven Resort
#31 of 151 in Boracay
367 reviews
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
0.1 mi away
Boracay Summer Palace
Boracay Summer Palace
#34 of 151 in Boracay
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Boracay

Address: D Mall Station 2, Balabag, Sitio Manggayad, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: $76 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tides Boracay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides Hotel Boracay - A uniquely themed boutique hotel that offers exceptional and personalized service. Located at the heart of D’Mall, the hotel is just a minute’s stroll to the pristine white sands and clear azure waters of Boracay’s famous beachfront. After opening its doors in 2007, the hotel has garnered several distinctions including the 2011 Best Beach Resort Hotel by the Top Brand Awards and the 2009 Consumers Choice Award for the Most Outstanding Luxury Destination Hotel. The Tides Hotel was also cited as one of the 44 Places To Go in 2009 by the prestigious New York Times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Tides Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Boracay Hotel Boracay
The Tides Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing