We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tides Hotel, Borocay”
Review of The Tides Boracay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Tides Boracay
Ranked #55 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Reviewed March 7, 2012

My husband and i have stayed at the Tides twice. Once in Low Season and once in Peak over New Years. We love the location, it is slightly set back from the beach so at night it is a quick trip back from the bars and restaurants but is nice and quiet in the rooms to let us sleep. For the price i think it is a perfect option in Borocay. It is very easy to reach from the port and close to ATM's, supermarket, shopping and restaurants.
We never ate at the hotel as the choices outside are too good to pass up but the staff were attentive the rooms were spotless and all amenities were available. It isn't a luxury hotel but provides everything you need. We stayed in a deluxe room the first time which was spacious and has an amazing bath and shower. Second time around we opted for the standard room which is a bit smaller but was still great for us.
We are booked in again for four nights after Christmas 2012 cant wait to see the island again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jess T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 255 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

It's just well advertise hotel. I thought it was really an extra ordinary hotel. But The room is not that spacious. The room is small. But it is clean. The location is nice. Nothing great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovely082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

No complaints with the tides. About 2 min walk to the beach loads of restaurants nearby. Friendly staff great service. Wanted extra towels ring housekeeping towers are brought immediately. Always cleaning up despite people walking with wet sand on flip flops from the bit of rain. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evickage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We had a positive experience at the Tides Hotel after staying for 4 days - the staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean. Location was great as it is located right in the middle of D'Mall and only a 2-3 minute walk to the sand. The rooms are also furnished with modern furniture.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hany0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I went with my wife and kid for a weekend trip to Boracay in Sep.. my office colleagues were making the arrangement and we got this hotel as part of the package…. I didn’t realize it till someone mentioned that this was a four star hotel .. I would at best put it as a needs improvement 3 star hotel…

The staff is very courteous and helped us with our luggage right from the shuttle drop point which is a few mins walk from the hotel… as promised and endorsed by most hotels they offered the dreaded welcome drink …. the sweetness of which makes my tooth ache even now….

We were offered the ground floor room which had a comfortable king size bed, a closet with locker and couple of chairs… they didn’t a have foot mat at the entrance and given that it is a beach area, the room became dirty very quickly. Given that it was not the peak season, there was some renovation work going on which was disturbing.. their ground floor rooms attract lot of noise and you feel as if you are out in the open.. we didn’t ask for a change as were there for only 2 nights..

Their bathrooms are non user friendly… I think it was Mediterranean style … different to look at but not easy to use at all. They have a full size tub in the corner with shower in the center of the tub with the shower curtain only covering one side… so no matter how hard you try the floor will get wettttt…. their wash basin is very shallow with poor drainage system…

Breakfast was decent.. pancakes, eggs, fruits and other local items… good enough for international people as well if you are not into Filipino food..

They have a terrace pool which is very small.. just head out to the beach instead… they charge 50 pesos for taking out their towels to the beach.. the hotel is not beach facing but is a few mins walk away… the hotel is situation right in the midst of a bustling shopping area which is convenient…

Verdict – decent place if you are on a budget, definitely not a resort for a quiet getaway.. good place to choose if you are with friends and want to stay in the center of action.. . I will choose another hotel next time.

Room Tip: Dont stay on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shankarbala04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I'll start by saying that this is not a 4 star hotel in my mind. It is above average for the area that it is located but room furnishings and service do not rate 4 stars. I would say 3 star or 3 1/2 star max.

The Location: Station 2, D'Mall. About 3/4 of the way to the beach on D'Mall Street on the left side across from the Hobbit House restaurant. About 100 yards from the beach. No ocean view from the hotel. The "mall" is a walking street with shops on either side from the road extending to the beach. Lots of boutiques and snack shops here, the only shopping type place on Boracay.

The Room: I stayed in an upgrade room with the shower tub. Decent size with clean "basic" style furniture. The bed is a single mattress, very firm, with just a sheet and a light blanket. Vanity area is part of the room and is small with little space. the toilet is basically in a closet size space with a sliding door. I would recommend slippers as walking in bare feet leaves you with a "grungy" feeling, probably from years of beach sand getting tracked in and out of the room. There is a small rooftop pool with lounge chairs. The view from there is basically treetops and maybe a little water.

The Service: Every employee was gracious and polite although you get the feeling it is a job requirement and not a personal choice, as if someone is watching them to make sure they put on their best face. I could be just a bit cynical about the attitude but on the other hand they were all polite.

The Beach: The white sand beach is very clean and the water crystal clear, hardly any waves. The beach front near the hotel is pretty dense with ocean front bars and restaurants with outside seating areas on the beach sand, lots of people walking back and forth. A good place to relax for drinks and people watch.

Nightlife: Boracay is a real quiet island and the nightlife is slim to none. You can relax for drinks and just chill out. I was told by the bartenders that it was more lively before the police came through and rounded up all of the "working girls" in September. There is one nightclub that's gets good business, the Cocomangas Shooter Bar in Station 1.

Overall I just give this hotel a 3 star rating, not sure how they qualify for 4 star here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed in this hotel last May for 2 nights. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating. The service was very good. The room that we got is a bit small but it is furnished. I would love to stay again in this hotel. It is located in D'Mall and everything that you need from drugstores to restaurants to souvenier shops-it's all there!!! :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeanjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#36 of 151 in Boracay
549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
#20 of 151 in Boracay
210 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lingganay Boracay Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Boracay Haven Resort
Boracay Haven Resort
#29 of 151 in Boracay
367 reviews
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
0.1 mi away
Boracay Summer Palace
Boracay Summer Palace
#32 of 151 in Boracay
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Boracay

Address: D Mall Station 2, Balabag, Sitio Manggayad, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: $75 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tides Boracay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides Hotel Boracay - A uniquely themed boutique hotel that offers exceptional and personalized service. Located at the heart of D’Mall, the hotel is just a minute’s stroll to the pristine white sands and clear azure waters of Boracay’s famous beachfront. After opening its doors in 2007, the hotel has garnered several distinctions including the 2011 Best Beach Resort Hotel by the Top Brand Awards and the 2009 Consumers Choice Award for the Most Outstanding Luxury Destination Hotel. The Tides Hotel was also cited as one of the 44 Places To Go in 2009 by the prestigious New York Times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Tides Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Boracay Hotel Boracay
The Tides Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing