We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yet to live up to its true potential”
Review of Boracay West Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boracay West Cove
Ranked #27 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Boracay
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Pros:
I.The architecture is surreal in Antoni Gaudi’s style as the hotel was built around and within the natural caves!
II.The view from the suit is breathtaking. The view from breakfast area is equally enticing.
III. Away from the hustle and bustle. Ideal for honeymooners or those who want to have a quite night’s sleep

Cons:
I.Sub-par breakfast. The selection is rather limited to the local cuisine which is slightly greasy for the first meal of the day. The butter appears to be stale. Stick with the egg station and order freshly made omelette.
II. Friendly but unhelpful staff: Service is adequate but the staff appears to be slightly undertrained. I cannot have an effective communication with them in English and misunderstanding occurs from time to time.
III. Remote location: It is not so easily accessible from the main beach and the “private” beach is rather run down. The construction for the infinity pool is left unattended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Venus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 179 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel is a great getaway from it all. Our room was nicely furnished and very spacious. The views were amazing. I've stayed in other places in boracay before and tis was above and beyond special. I have 3 and 5 year old boys and they loved going up and down the stairs. I wish they had a hot tub. However the staff is very attentive and responsive to your needs. I has no fear for the safety of my boys.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Firstly, this hotel has the most amazing views of the ocean. That was the best thing about it for us. Unfortunately we chose West Cove as our upmarket hotel choice, but it wasn't the right choice for two single females. Too far from the nightlife (but those wanting to be segregated and left alone in peace then this place is great). I felt it was over priced for what you get. Rooms are outdated yet have their own funky charm. Just lucky for the views (again!). Breakfast was disappointing. One toaster oven which took 10 mins to even slightly brown one side. Thankfully the hotel has an egg station as the rest of the food served was for local tastes and not to my liking as breakfast food. There are a lot of stairs which I found to be slightly humorous as we only stayed one night, but if we had stayed for longer I would find it annoying. Staff were pretty friendly. To cap things off I would suggest it be a great place for couples/honeymooners and anyone else wanting to be left alone.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckDarwin_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

amazing artistic outlook, all rooms with wonderful sea views and balcony, but isolated in location, infrequent shuttle bus every 3 hours only ( and only with service on request), and needed to walk through a wet path with lots of steps juz near the shore. Best only if u planned juz to stay in the hotel and lay back.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kachi_hongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Once you have been to West Cove, your travel plans will include another stay here. Our third stay here was better then the previous two. Yes, as a few reviewers mentioned that there are many stairs. But let me say this: Each step entering West Cove brings about anticipation of what the resort has to offer. Each step leaving the resort leaves you remenicining of the beautiful time spent at the resort and the pleasure it had to offer.
The staff was very polite and courteous. Most knew your name and addressed as such.
The rooms are spacious with many amenities. Beds are comfy and pillows fluffy.
I should mention that the rooms are very clean thanks to Analyn and her housekeeping staff.
The food was great. Buffet breakfast included omelets made to order and a nice variety of other delicious foods. Great dinner menu with many traditional dishes. On the lighter side, you could opt for grilled food made by Adam and his assistant. Great ribs.
We had entertainment nightly. Many fine musicians. You must listen to Micheal who does double duty as waiter and entertainer. Have a great cocktail made by Francie the bartender.
The beach, which was developed recently, is very nice. Refreshments are served at the beach.
For those anticipating going to West Cove, let me say that you arrive as a guest and leave as a friend.

Room Tip: All rooms have a water view. Most with a veranda where you can have your morning coffee or a cocktai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We went there knowing it's inconvinence and there are the dreadful stairs because of its unique architecture of the hotel, and it didnt disappoint us. Hotel is very beautiful and quiet compared to the ones in station 2 and its got spectacular sunset.

However, the stairs is really a problem especially on first day since we needed to carry our own baggage through half of the stairs (whole flight took us 5 mins to get to 4th floor). But we got used to the stairs on 3rd day. Definitely not for elderly and kids.

Shuttle sucks since they hire contractor and shuttle not on time and on first night it didnt even showed up to pick us up from D'Mall even after we called hotel to check if it was coming, hotel kept saying its coming in 5-10 min and we ended taking tricycle backafter waited for an hour. :( Few days later we saw new comer complaining same problem to front desk. We suggested they could take the shuttle beside west cove back. Or simply take the tricycle for 100 peso.

Food is good and not pricy provided you re eating at hotel. But breakfast buffet is only available during weekend, its the tradational breakfast during weekday and no salad, just fruits.

Staff are in general friendly and helpful. Our room keeper Angeline is an angel.

Room is spacious and we got a huge balcony (room 401) where sunbathing is wonderful. I dont know about guys but there is no mirror except in washroom so its a bit inconvenient.

I think its a fantastic hotel if you are on honeymoon and prefer quiet environment. If I am going back to Boracay I think there are oher hotels which can provide the same quiet environment but much more convenient with the same price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkstress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

West Cove is like nowhere I've ever been. Located on a scenic and secluded part of Boracay, it has amazing architecture (reminiscent of Antoni Gaudi), friendly staff, and excellent amenities. The resort itself is built into the side of a cliff and has immediate access to the water for swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, etc... A few small islands in front of the resort have been connected to the main grounds via sculpted bridges and there are several well-placed gazebos perfect for relaxing, enjoying a few drinks, or watching the sun go down over the ocean (West Cove has one of the best sunset views on all of Boracay). After one or two initial disappointments on the menu, everything I ordered after that was exceptional and the prices were extremely reasonable.

The time I spent at West Cove was truly great and I'm already making plans to go back next year. Highly recommended!

PS - For some reason the "professional photographs" above are not of West Cove. Take a look at the "travelers photographs" if you want to see what the place looks like.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Muse Hotel Boracay
The Muse Hotel Boracay
#123 of 152 in Boracay
26 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#22 of 152 in Boracay
1,705 reviews
1.1 mi away
Boracay Private Mt. Casitas Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Villa Oceana Boracay
Villa Oceana Boracay
#19 of 181 in Boracay
39 reviews
2.8 mi away
Asya Premier Suites
Asya Premier Suites
#6 of 181 in Boracay
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beach House Boracay
The Beach House Boracay
#58 of 229 in Boracay
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boracay West Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boracay West Cove

Address: Diniwid Beach, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Boracay
Price Range: $101 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boracay West Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boracay West Cove is a charming exclusive escape offering a romantic getaway and private retreat for adventurous travelers and couples looking to experience a scenic, unique and peaceful Boracay. Tucked away in a serene and private estate the environment is conducive to pure relaxation with a front row seat to the most romantic vistas and sunset, this side of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Boracay West Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boracay West Cove Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing