We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to test the effectiveness of your new ear plugs.. and more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Punta Rosa Boutique Hotel
Ranked #66 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This could be a nice place to stay in Boracay because it is located in one of the quietest (within Boracay's limits) and best parts of the beach (although it doesn't have a beach front as such, the beach is just a few steps away), staff are accomodating and helpful (which is a rarity), the rooms are spacious and reasonably well kept (although rather pricey - as usual in Boracay - as we spent the equivalent of about USD 765 for four nights in the Punta Vista room).

For such an amount one should expect at least free drinking water and a good number of towels and complimentary stuff. Unfortunately we had to ask for additional towels (only two bath towels were provided as standard), but, as I said, staff were quite helpful and they did provide them to us. However, for the water, we had to buy our own or otherwise be charged more than double the normal price.

Breakfast was neither good nor bad and so was food in general (they don't a full time restaurant, but they cook upon request).

The view, which was supposed to be one of the highlights of our accomodation, was somewhat obstructed and we could see the sea only through pretty dense foliage and trees, despite we were on the third floor. But overall the room was pleasant.
It was reasonably clean, with almost everything in working order, although getting a decent shower temperature was rather a challenge (it was either too hot or to cold) . The other issue was that it took one full day of continuously running aircon to get rid of the smell of damp which was pretty strong when we arrived.

But the real awful bit of the whole experience was an empty lot just beside (and a few meters in a straight line from our third floor room entrance door) where some locals were breeding dozens of chicken and cocks which were delivering the most awfully penetrating 24/7 concert I have heard in my 17 years of life in the Philippines. The second night was the most terrible because, on top of the cocks, there was also a group of guests in the room overlooking the chicken compound competing with the cocks in loudness (I guess they couldn't hear each other and were forced to shout?).
Cocks and chickens are a well known plague of this country as nobody seems to mind their awful noise. This fact has been featured also in a recent video posted in youtube, which has triggered the rage of the local community, but it can't be denied that people and chickens do live in symbiosis here and when we complained about it with the management we got a surprised look 'which chickens? Ah, but those are not ours'. They may not be part of the resort but they are so close to it that if the resort's management wants to continue to be in business, it should put it in its top priority list to buy that piece of land and get rid of those nasty birds as soon as possible because at times it was almost impossible to have a normal conversation in the breakfast terrace because of the loud, incessant crowing.

So here we go: another typical experience of the series 'It's more fun in the Philippines' in the Philippines. It could be nice, if... If and if.

And to top it all up, the usual dreadful 4 hour flight delay (with a pinch of harassment because of the weight of your hand carried luggage) which invariably mars each and every flight in the Philippines.
But at least it gives you hours to write your Tripadvisor review, plus to clear all your work related emails and plan your next trip (outside the country, of course). All before getting back home. Not bad....
And let's not forget also that every inch of Boracay, at any time of the day, is as crowded as Hong Kong's Victoria Peak on a sunny day and the pollution of the sea has reached levels that make the mucilage flower wildly on the shore.
So overall, I am afraid that all this can't get more than a 'poor' rating.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiloManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 122 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

Just returned from our holiday on Boracay Island and felt I should let others know of the qualities of the hotel...the hotel was recommended to us and we stayed in the Punta Mare room. The room was beautiful, with 2 bouble beds and a large en-suite shower room. It had a small balcony which over looked the beach and the sea, providing a magnificent view. The room was very tastefully furnished and maintained to a high standard. The staff were friendly, helpful and polite and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. The hotel's location is good for those that want to be away from the noisier and busier areas at Station 2, but close enough to them if you want to make use of restaurants, bars and shops there. Whilst the hotel does not have it's own beach area, for a small fee you can use the sun beds from the next hotel - there is a beach bar there so you can stay cool and refreshed easily. The sea and beach are wonderful - clean and good for children - and there are plenty of opportunities to get out on the water with various boat trips easy to organise. In short, the hotel was lovely, the beach was beautiful and the scenery outstanding. Boracay Island is well worth a visit and the Punta Rosa is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: 4 of us shared the room - our two young children shared one of the double beds. Sliding doors allow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt_R_12210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRBoracay, Administrator at Punta Rosa Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Thank you Sir for given us a nice review. Its very helpful!

Management of Punta Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Overall we had a great time here - there were many positives about the hotel and only two minor negatives.
Positives: Fabulous room (We stayed in the Punta Rosa room) with great views of the beach, nice and quiet part of the beach (station 1), Hotel staff extremely friendly, helpful and well spoken (great English), flexible and accommodating for guests.

Minor negatives: The hotel has no specific beach loungers and you must hire beds for 100 pesos per day. The hotel is next to a small road which has chickens and animals on (chickens crowing in the am woke us up a couple of times).

Overall very happy with the place and would highly recommend it to others who would like a quiet place to relax and chill out on the quieter part of main beach.

Room Tip: Punta rosa i believe is one of the best rooms in the hotel (this is where we stayed and is highly re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRBoracay, Manager at Punta Rosa Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2012

Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Thank you so much for the nice review, we really appreciate it.

Regards,
The Management & Staff of Punta Rosa Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We chose Punta Rosa because of the reviews we read on TripAdvisor, and we weren't disappointed. We specifically requested for the Punta Orange room 2 weeks before our trip, and the staff emailed back within a day to let us know that the room would be ready for us when we arrive. The hotel is at the edge of Station 1 on White Beach, and it is definitely not walking distance to Station 2 (on a hot day), but we liked that we were a good distance away from Station 2. The staff at Punta Rose were very helpful in terms of getting tricycles for the guests, so getting from the hotel to Station 2 for dinner, for example, was never an issue.

Punta Rosa's doorstep is steps away from White Beach, however, they don't have their own beach area so we usually walked to other beachfront resorts (2 min walk to Fridays, Discovery Shores, etc.) and just paid 300-500 pesos to use their beach front facilities for the whole day, including beach towels. The great thing about this is that guests are able to experience the service (food, drink, massage) at other top resorts without having to stay at these top resorts. It was a different experience every single day, which made lounging on the beach for 3 days not so monotonous.

As for the room, the Punta Orange is beautiful with a huge bathroom. You could tell that they really make it a point to maintain this property because it is immaculate. The room is spacious, airy and equipped with a fridge, cable tv, DVD player, free wifi, safe, hairdryer, A/C and unlimited supply of bottled water. What more could you ask for?! The mattress of the bed also felt like a Tempur-Pedic, so we slept extremely well because it felt like our bed at home.

The owners of Punta Rosa should be proud of their establishment and I hope that they continue to do a good job.

Like the title of this review says --- this is not a hotel for party goers, but for people who want some peace and quiet while on vacation.

Room Tip: Look up Punta Rosa on Youtube for video tours of each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lex y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

The room is big with an equally spacious bathroom, and we had a huge king-size bed. Breakfast was served freshly on the rooftop every morning and the view is amazing!

The hotel is located at the beginning of Station 1; a lot of boats are docked nearby so it's easy to go sailing, island hopping or do other water activities. They don't have beach chairs for hotel guests but provides beach towels. It's about a 10-minute walk to Club Paraw and Guilly's and 15 minutes to D'Mall. If you walk a bit further down you could get to D'Talipapa and all the restaurants on Station 2.

We booked this through Agoda for about 600 USD for five nights; I'd say the price is reasonable; there are cheaper alternatives but not everyone resort has a room available for five consecutive nights during peak season. A tricycle ride to the resort from Caticlan Jetty Port (Station 3) shouldn't cost more than 50php per person.

Boracay was an amazing experience and I would definitely come back!

Room Tip: watch the videos on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uspork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

What a nice little boutique hotel! We went for two nights during CNY 2012. It's location is all the way at the end of station 1, so it's pretty isolated. However, you can still walk down the beach to more happening spots in station 2 etc. The rate was very affordable, and included breakfast. They cooked it fresh every morning for us. The other food on the menu was reasonably priced and the service was excellent.

Our room was very well decorated and clean. We had a very large and comfy bed, a small tv, a refrig with a few beers and sodas, a balcony, and a super large bathroom, with a huge shower! For the price that we paid, the room was above our expectations.

And everyone at the hotel was very accomodating and nice. We enjoyed our stay very much.

On the downside: the hotel wasn't directly on the beach, but almost. So it doesn't have a beach area with chairs, a bar, pool, etc like other hotels. We spent almost all of our time away from the hotel, except to sleep and eat breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights with my girlfriend. It's certainly nothing special. Everything just average.

The hotel is not directly on the beach and there is no area for guests to hang out either on the beach or close to it. We spent all our time away from the hotel other than sleeping and breakfast.

The bath / shower area reminded me of a sheep dip. Basically a massive pit which you stand in to shower.

Breakfast was the same each day. Fruits and omelette or scrambled eggs. Got boring.

For a "boutique" hotel I would have expected some finesse - a few finishing touches to improve the experience. Overall it felt like a very average b&b.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarbyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.3 mi away
Artista Beach Villas
Artista Beach Villas
#60 of 151 in Boracay
224 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Sunset Boracay
Hotel Villa Sunset Boracay
#92 of 151 in Boracay
88 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Boracay Crown Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Muse Hotel Boracay
The Muse Hotel Boracay
#86 of 151 in Boracay
17 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kaiyana Boracay Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Soffia Boracay
Hotel Soffia Boracay
#54 of 151 in Boracay
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Rosa Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Rosa Boutique Hotel

Address: Sinagpa St., Balabag, Malay, Aklan Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: $68 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Punta Rosa Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punta Rosa Boutique Hotel in Boracay is a slightly secluded beach resort located in the beginning of Boracay Boat Station 1, on the northwestern part of Boracay Island. Our Class AAA Rated Boracay Resort by the Philippines Department of Tourism offers Boracay vacationers a peaceful and relaxing environment. Punta Rosa was professionally designed, our room interiors are decorated in soft colors and native furnishings, to accentuate that tropical feeling one gets from Boracay. Punta Rosa Boracay is located just a 10 minute walk down the famous, "white beach" where you will find over 200 restaurants serving many different types of dishes from all over the world. There are up-scale boutiques for shopping, many different local shops selling native handmade items and live bands all along Boracay beach, that will delight you with colorful and vibrant music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Punta Rosa Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Rosa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing