We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel I Have EVER Stayed At”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baling Hai Beach Resort
Ranked #63 of 148 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Hands down the BEST hotel experience I have had thus far in my life. From the uniqueness of the hotels architecture to the quality of the food served on the beach; everything was wonderfully amazing. The only complaint I would have is that our net over our bed had a few holes in it that we covered with tape and some people might have difficulty sleeping if they cant handle the sound of waves crashing against rocks every night (I love the sound).

PLEASE NOTE: If you do not like wildlife or being "in nature" do not stay here. The rooms are open and geckos, spiders, insects, fruit bats, etc. are all aournd. With that being said; we slept without feeling creeped out by bugs because of the nets and there are absolutely no mosquitos.

Activities:

Puka Beach is beautiful and there were only a handful of people there. The Bat Cave is awesome because we say a beautiful sea snake and cave crab, HOWEVER, it is quite dangerous in my opinion as the entrance is very slick and the fall (while only about 30 feet) is onto very sharp rocks. The crystal cave is not good.

Also, make sure you get a set price for the bat cave and puka beach trip. We were stopped by guys on the gravel road outside the caves and told to pay an extra 1500 pesos for "cave fees" which of course was a joke but there were 6 guys who were just sitting there so I avoided an awkward argument and paid. Do not pay them as I came to learn they were just pretending to be part of the "system".

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kyletb1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 110 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2011

Borakay is a unique place for a soothing holiday away from the sound and the fury of the world.
At the minute when you step foot on the beach, you realise that this is no ordinary place.
Greeted with welcome words and a cocktail, you will be shown into your own private bungalow set half way up the hill facing the sea.
The staff will treat you as if you were their only clients and make sure that every wish of yours is granted.
What we enjoyed most was the tranquillity of the place, from dawn to dusk.
Emerging from a silent night at the peep of day, your breakfast will be served outside your bungalow, on the terrace overlooking the beach. Fresh fruit cocktail, pancakes, fruit salad, coffee and delicious yogurt will be your morning treat.
You will then be asked what you want to have for lunch and dinner, for the fishermen have to go and get it for you. Yes, not only do the fish come from the sea, and not a supermarket or even market around the corner, but you will be asked what kind of fish & wine would suit you... How about that ?
In the evening you can enjoy a chat with the owner of the place who will gladly organise a trip to one of the surrounding islands. Once there, he will see to it that your "picnic" meets your expectations. Fish, lobster, crab, you name it, it's here.
On the last night we had dinner on the beach, in the dim suave light of candles along the beach.
This stay was probably the best ... and we travel a lot.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank dtshura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed at Baling Hai for 3 nights from New Years' Eve 2011, in the Hill House. Baling Hai was absolute paradise. Our room was private and HUGE. We loved going to sleep being lulled by the sound of waves lapping on the beach, and waking up to the sun streaming in the windows.

We spent a lot of the time enjoying the veranda - two big and comfortable sofas to relax and read on, especially as there were a few heavy downpours. The beach is small but there's plenty of room to sunbathe and swim. We loved swimming out to the pontoons in the bay and jumping off.

Downsides were - it's not very close to anything else, so we didn't leave the resort for the whole 3-night stay. It's about 15 minutes from White Beach so if you're looking to party, don't stay at Boracay! The steps are a bit of an experience - they're wonky and a bit slippery, so it's not ideal for people with mobility issues (including drunk people, to be honest!)

The food was pretty decent, the breakfasts especially were cheap and tasty, and you can eat in your room or on the beach. The staff were friendly and attentive, especially Martin who helped in the restaurant and in the office.

And the PRICE! It's so cheap, we can't wait to go back. Incredible value per money. We loved Baling Hai and we were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annarpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Dont know if i should recommend this hotel because truely i would like to be the only one there.although Boracay isnt the place one must have seen-noisy,expensive,full of trouts-Balinghai is it.A little bit seperated from the commotion,built like the place where Robinson could have lived its perhaps not at the taste of everybody but those who loke nature and something different.ok,no hot water,no air condition but a beach for your own,a view from your bed to the ocean and silence at night.and a good kitchen -also for those who want at least one time in the holidays an european style dinner.And that all at reasonable prices,smiles from all who serve you without charge for it.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lambertus+63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We had a lovely stay at the Baling Hai. The setting is amazing and very peaceful.
White Beach is about a 10min tricycle ride away and they will order you one if you need to get anywhere. The food was brilliant and the staff very friendly and helpful.
We stayed in the Rock House and despite the open air setting of the place, it was very private with amazing views of the ocean. You will end up with the odd bug, gecko, bird in your space, so if you have no problem with that, you'll love it. There is no aircon though, due to the setting of the rooms, but there are fans.
There is a little secluded beach which is ideal for chilling out at and drinks and food can be ordered here.
White Beach is a bit hectic and noisy (and this was low season). So if you're after a chill out holiday, I would suggest staying away from White Beach and just taking a tricycle down when you want to go there.
The only thing remotely negative I would say about this hotel, is the transfer was quite steep! They charged us over $800php each for a transfer from Caticlan airport. According to the Boracay guide, the total trip should only cost about 300-400php per person, so source this from elsewhere if you can.
Otherwise amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissRandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed at Balinghai during August which is during the Habagat (rainy) season. We stayed in the Rock House and were the only guests at the resort! We had the whole place to ourselves. There had been a big storm two days before our arrival but the weather was decent when we arrived. The staff were so warm and welcoming! The food service to our house was great and the coffee/tea in the morning was a nice touch. The views are amazing. It felt like we were living in a secluded tree house! I had left my Visa card at our last hotel in Manila and the Balinghai staff were very helpful in getting it back to me. They also helped arrange a scooter for us to visit the island, even though we contacted them from a different hotel a few days later! Food is awesome - try the Mango shakes and the Balinghai Mix sandwich :) If you don't mind being away from the clubs, restos and stores and just want to relax, this place is the best place for it. The only downsides - there was no beach bar or service and the seaweed/debris in the water (probably because of the rainy low season so not really major). Also we didn't have hot water for our shower but we didn't bother much with it. Loved the unique resort and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank banananas2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

So in love with this place, its simply awesome ! Wonderful/helpful staff. Helped with my honeymoon suprise for the wife, thank u so much for making the trip memorable. Will absolutely stay here again, lovely secluded beach 10/10 compared to white beach, stay here !!! Hope to see u soon.....

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brunei_Exposure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
Argonauta Boracay
Argonauta Boracay
#26 of 148 in Boracay
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artista Beach Villas
Artista Beach Villas
#60 of 148 in Boracay
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nami Resort
Nami Resort
#39 of 148 in Boracay
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Boracay Ecovillage Resort and Convention Center
2.5 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Boracay West Cove
Boracay West Cove
#19 of 177 in Boracay
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baling Hai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baling Hai Beach Resort

Address: on the northern part of Boracay Island, Malay, Aklan Province, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Hotel Class:3 star — Baling Hai Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Valued Customers, Please be advised that Balinghai Beach Resort is closed for Renovation until 2018. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baling Hai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baling Hai Beach Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing