We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and accommodation.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Calypso Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Calypso Resort
Ranked #19 of 97 Bohol Island B&B and Inns
Negros Island, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and accommodation.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

The place is very accommodation and we managed to get 3 people put into 1 room as we had odd numbers. Food was very nice, staff were always helpful and nice. Price was average. Was a good overall experience

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaypap87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    22
    8
    4
    17
See reviews for
4
50
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

we stayed one week at this family run resort and liked the quiet "5 minutes outside from town" flair.

the motorbike which is including in the room price is a great deal and lets you easily explore more of panglao island and bohol - if you can ride a motorbike. the rooms are cleaned daily if you wish so and as well towels will be replaced according to your needs. the food is good, the beer cold, the wifi fast and the staff friendly and funny.

the owner andy even took us in his car to the ferry port as the tricycle he had ordered for us did not show up on time - thumbs up for this service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puregin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

It s now my 5th time here,and i feel relaxed,nice cottages,close to the ocean,good service and a nice small Pool.and every cottage is incl.motorbike and free wifi.also the rooms her cleaning Berry secound day,incl new towels.the owner and stuff are very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norbert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you are on a budget but still want to experience Panglao Island then I don't think you can do any better than Calypso Resort.
The rooms are big and comfortable with your own porch AND includes the unlimited use of a small motor bike.
We stayed for nearly a month I think it was and used the bike to explore vast areas of Bohol.
We did not use their restaurant very much as our budget at the time directed us towards local food in the nearby villages, which of course was so easy to do with the inclusive motor bike.

The staff and the owner were always friendly and welcoming. We were even invited to join them for a dinner celebration that they were hosting one evening.

Frankly, the Philippines does not offer much to write about when it comes to budget accommodation,
We have traveled extensively across the Visayas since that time and experienced the worst and the not so worst that the Philippines has to offer and Calypso Resort remains to be a fond memory.

Room Tip: I think probably all the rooms are very good and no problems with the motor bike. We stayed in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nomad_Lez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Oir trycicle driver took us to Calypso. It is a real backpaper place. So if you are not into antzs, and lack of commodities, avoid the place. If you dont mind them, go for it, is a good money offer with the bike included (no problem for us). But bear in mind that the place is not clean and not friendly to stay.
Local stuff are kind but no efficience as they speak very bad english.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bohol Island hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Terrible stay here, so much went wrong. The deal of motorbike and room seems like a good price at first, then you see why. I'm not usually too fussy about accomodation but the mattress felt like a bunch of springs covered by a sheet. Food is average at best and way overpriced, no other restaurants nearby. Two out of three of our motorbikes broke down within a day of riding around, taking all day to fix (they're very shabby bikes to begin with so if you're not an experienced rider I definitely do not recommend them from a safety perspective). The staff are nice enough but incompetent and seem to fear the owner. Owner seemed nice at first but turned out to be just the opposite. We got charged for a broken glass and a broken helmet strap which was already broken when we got it. Got into an argument with the owner about the helmet strap and he flatly refused to return our passports (deposit for motorbike) til we paid for the straps. Overall would definitely not recommend this place, nothing works and the owner is a complete a-hole. Location will also make a motorbike necessary either way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Oldmancam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryjane49, Owner at Calypso Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Being the owner of Calypso Resort, I would like to clear the following.

1. We are a budget resort. While most resorts in Alona turn around a price range from 1500 to 10000 php a day, without any bikes included, we charge 770 a day, bike included. Our rooms have been refreshed and the whole resort repainted this year. Any one who wants to stay, has the right to see all rooms, try all beds for their consistence, and after that make the choice to stay or to go elsewhere.

This customer has made the choice to stay, and started right away to complain about excessive pricing. Same evening, he bought liquors outside and invited customers of the bar to drink the; with him. By miss-use of our friendly staff, and infringing the rules that state that no private food and drinks can be consumed at our restaurant and bar, he asked for glasses and ice that he obtained. In this drinking session, a glass was broken and, like it is the uses just anywhere, he was requested to pay this, what made this man act like a rowdy and insulting the me and the staff in a non polite way.

Our bikes are all regularly checked and maintained, some are replaced at regular intervals.
Here our customer allowed himself to throw the helmets on the ground, braking the closure clip and here again, we asked him to pay the damage caused by his own stupidity.

Next day, he was involved in a scandal and police intervention, having hired a boat trip to the islands around and after return, refusing to pay the owner of the boat for the day trip.

Due to his disturbing comportment, some other customers wanted to sign out, bothered by such a way of acting.

Finally he left and asked at the bar to order a transportation at the bar. At the moment to leave, another transportation came and here it was cleared that he ordered himself a second transporter to "be sure to get one". Here again, the driver of the cab wanted to get paid for his trip to the resort, since h would leave without any earns. This request to pay the 50 php for this displacement made our customer to act again like a hooligan and making a case of this, insulting and yelling like a fool at anyone around.

Such people are of the kind we really want to stay away from our place. Not all customers can be satisfied, but many of those who complain are often the sole cause of their problem. It is just a pity that such bigots then claim others to be a.holes. Unfortunately, we also have to deal with those unwanted guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Friendly, laid back management and staff. Engaging and knowledgeable dive master. A motorbike and a room for that price I don't think you can find a better deal in Panglao. Calypso is not a five star resort but if their prices match your budget you will be impressed by what you get. Calypso is a resort and also a family home so after a few months of hotel living it was nice to be in a family atmosphere. The beach is a few yard away, lots of sea weed and urchins so it is not ideal but the resort as a pool. Staying at calypso you have a motorbike so you can explore the island and find the beach you need. Bohol is for diving and snorkelling. If you can't dive you should still take a snorkelling tour of balicasak island. I have never seen so many multycolored fishes, turtles and corals in one spot. If you want to take a dive course calypso's dive master and instructor as 12 years experience in Bohol so his knowledge of the place is substantial. He is engaging and patient and you catch the boat a few yards from the resort.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schantydas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bohol Island
0.1 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#8 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
10.1 mi away
Ocean Suites Boutique Hotel Bohol
Ocean Suites Boutique Hotel Boho...
#1 of 11 in Tagbilaran City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bohol South Beach Hotel
Bohol South Beach Hotel
#18 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alona Golden Palm Resort
Alona Golden Palm Resort
#14 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Resort

Property: Calypso Resort
Address: Calypso Resort Danao Beach, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Bohol Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Bohol Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Calypso Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, cozy resort, friendly atmosphere, with nice swimming pool and diving facilities. 3 Cottages with double bed, WC & shower. 2 Rooms in main house with bathroom. 1 Family room with large shower & WC, kitchen and barbecue area. Swimming pool. Restaurant and bar, diving facilities. Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Calypso Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypso Resort Bohol Province, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing