We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ooops Bar have now closed down” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oops Bar and Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bohol Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oops Bar and Restaurant
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ooops Bar have now closed down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Ooops Bar had closed down because people from there had said the owner died from a cardiac arrest and the son went back to UK. Sad because their Italian coffee and mango smoothies are my favourite in Alona beach, not to mention the Saturday night crazy parties!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fritzie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Yantai, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I'm surprised by all the excellent/very good ratings. Oops Bar and Restaurant is well known and sits right on the touristy Alona Beach. It's not terrible but it's pretty poor.
I ended up there because I hadn't pre-booked accommodation and came over on the ferry from Cebu. I guess our pedicab driver was on some sort of commission and suggested this place.
Usually backpackers and people strapped for cash end up here but there's many other places where you can pay a bit more and get much better value for your money.
If you don't want to spend money and want to be right on Alona Beach then it does the job but then again there are loads of places from 5 mins to 20 mins walking distance from the beach and not overly expensive.
As for the staff they're all friendly but then again so is everyone along Alona Beach (Bohol in general has a friendly an chilled out vibe).
Alona beach is OK, it's better late afternoon/evening but it's quite touristy so if your looking to avoid all that you should stay somewhere else. The accommodation at Oops was well below average. I felt it was a bit ropey, dingy, plenty of mosquitos and uncomfortable. I stayed one night and promptly moved to a better place (also cheap and close to the beach). I was glad I did because 'Oops' sums up how I felt after staying there one night. Like most places they can help organize trips. They also give a small discount at the bar/restaurant.

Stayed July 2011

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKPedro82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bohol Island hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This place has some of the better food of any restaurant along the beach. Also has a great breakfast. The staff is very friendly. Nice romantic setting. They have a wider selection of food here than other restaurants, also is more private without people walking by.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smith806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

The entrance to the facility is seemingly plain and simple, no extravagant arch and façade. A beautiful garden of palms, ornamental and flowering plants, vines and shrubs, and a serene fountain on a huge earthen basin welcomes everyone to the miniature nipa hut village, a typical Filipino countryside setting.

There are a number of single-detach and duplex bungalows, which have private porch, toilet and bath. And to preserve the ambiance, there are no air conditioning units. Only fans keep the room at the right temperature.

I was personally amazed by the solitude Oops Cottages can bring. Silence can be deafening (no television set) but absolutely relaxing and rejuvenating, something you cannot have in the city.

Room Tip: Book ahead of time due to limited room availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myplanetphilippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We checked in to Oops Bar cottages after moving from another disappointing venue off the beach and were pleased to arrive.

This place is good value for money... The cottages are out the back and we opted for the one furthest away from the beach so that the noise didn't affect sleeping. This wasn't really needed though as it was pretty quiet anyway.

The rooms are cheap and cheerful, nice 'ethnic feeling' nipa hits with bathrooms and fan. The shower was only cold water but was still reasonably warm and more than bearable. The beds were majorly soft and comfortable. Would be great with air con the the strategically placed wall fan took the edge off and the rooms were reasonably cool.

The bar and restaurant were good too. Free wifi was good by Philippine standards and the food and drink was of good quality, if not a tad expensive. service was a bit hit a miss; Ulesseys the owner is majorly friendly as are some of the waitresses whilst some other seem a bit moody and as it it's too much trouble to bring you the bill.

Overall a decent little budget option, right on the beach with decent enough facilities on another wise ridiculously overpriced Alona. There is no Dive shop at Oops but would definitely recommend Sierra Madre Divers a couple of monutes up the beach! Would stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulTeam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

we stayed at the oops bar for two nights and really enjoyed ourselves. When we checked in and shown our room, we had a nit of an issue with the noise from builders behind the room. But when we asked if another room was available, we were shown to a nice, bigger room, and only a little bit more expensive then the original room.
The food was alright. We really enjoyed their cocktails and the TWO happy hours. The location was good as it was a little further down from the cluster of resorts. Defiantly recommend it to people who like to party and meet other friendly travellers.

Room Tip: pay a little more and get a bungalow instead of the duplex
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8dips8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

The reason for the one star is we were ejected one day earlier than we had originally booked!
To be fair I had made a mistake in their booking form, which is similar to the airport ones with arrival and departure dates. I put in our airport dates and not the hotel dates, duh. This made the length of our stay 12 nights instead of the intended 3 nights. The staff recognized the issue and assumed the 1 in front of the two was a mistake and changed it to 2 nights. They did try and contact us but we were on an all day excursion. Instead of waiting they booked our room to someone else.
Unfortunately the member of staff who changed the booking was not available that evening. We discussed it the following morning, the staff member was defensive so I admitted my mistake on the form but was disappointed from the staff and owner's attitude for the following reasons
1/ We had made the initial booking via phone, obviously they did not cross-check the booking against that.
2/ The management did not bother attempting to help us find other accommodation, his main concern was that the people replacing us may cancel so he wanted us to wait, instead we started looking for alternative accommodation straight away. It was a Thursday and most of the most of the hotels were fully booked.
3/ No apology was made from any of the staff and no concern was shown that we were without accommodation for the night.

This is the first time in my life I have ever had my booking cut short, and something that future travelers to this resort must be aware of in a similar situation. It seems management's motivation was on securing weekend bookings instead of honoring our original agreement.

Pros
- Location is right on the beach and there is a lovely view from the bar.
- They have a nice bar
- Free drinking water.
- The rooms are nice and clean, though keep your shoes and sandals outside.
- Anti-mosquito repellant provided.

Cons
- The running water for the shower only worked a couple of times, had to use a bucket instead.
- The rooms were damp, dark and musky.
- As mentioned no sound insulation between the cottages beware of snorers.

Oops is one of the cheapest resorts on the beach but is it value for money? in my Opinion no, the replacement we found was only a little more and included a great shower with hot water, room was bright and clean, had a swimming pool and included free buffet breakfast for two. Meals on the beach are expensive by Filipino standards so this is definitely something to take into account.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kiwipion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bohol Island
0.8 mi away
Pyramid Beach Resort
Pyramid Beach Resort
#24 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cliffside Resort
Cliffside Resort
#21 of 92 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hayahay Resort
Hayahay Resort
#17 of 32 in Bohol Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Formosa Bohol
Villa Formosa Bohol
#2 of 82 in Panglao Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alona Hidden Dream Resort
Alona Hidden Dream Resort
#63 of 92 in Panglao Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oops Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oops Bar and Restaurant

Property: Oops Bar and Restaurant
Address: Alona Beach | Panglao Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Bohol Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Bohol Island
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Oops Bar And Restaurant Hotel Bohol Island
Oops Bar And Restaurant Bohol Province, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing