We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Liberty Park Pension
Ranked #36 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Originally checked into the Legend Hotel because we had a corporate discount. They were still charging us an arm and a leg. so we decided to look around after lunch. The tricycles we took recommended this place to us. Luckily they were still available.

After checking a few hotels, we decided this was the best we found that was available. The room didn't disappoint us. Hot/Cold shower, and clean room and washroom.

There was an eating area/restaurant upstairs which was beautiful. Nice place to relax. However slow service. For breakfast, we had to tell them to defrost their butter before we arrived.

I wouldn't be surprised if the next time I visit, the prices have jacked. Decent price for beautiful rooms.

Oh by the way, go with the tour packages that the hotel reffers... they're really good

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veebz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
11
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2009

We arrived at Liberty Park last May 02, 2009.. we were surprised to see how beatiful the place is, and its still new. The green painted walls make it more relaxing to live at. They have airport transfers service so going there is not a problem. The bar and restaurant at the rooftop is also good, they have wide selection to choose from and also fairly priced. The rooms are neat, tiled and spacious. They also have cable TV so staying inside the room is not boring at all. The staff are nice and accomodating. Its truly a great experience to have stayed at Liberty Park!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bok_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Manila
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2009

We went to PPS last Feb 7 - 10, 2009 to have our birthday celebrated there. Since nobody in our group of 7 who had been to PPS, therefore it's must for us to look for a cool, affordable and nice accomodation. We had considered a number of choices, contacted them and asked for the rates and their availability. Liberty Park Pension became our choice. Although its not as prestigious as 5-Star Hotel, but one thing is for sure, you will feel that you are much welcome and taken care of. They were also the one who arranged our tour with travel agent that made our trip no worries and full of fun.
The crew were accomodating. I remembered our first night when our shower heater wasn't working properly, we called the repairman and in an instant he went to our room to have it fixed. We thanked him for a nice job and he thanked back as well.
I also remembered when they fetched us and took us to the airport. The crew members were the one who carried our luggages.
Since most of us cannot sleep with only one pillow, we asked for more at no extra charge.
Breakfast is the only meal that is included in the accomodation package, nothing's special though but it tasted good. Our breakfast was ready and packed as early as 6am since we have to go early for our Underground River trip.
The restaurant is located at the rooftop of the pension. Very clean, very relaxing, very cool.
i remembered our last night in PPS when we were roaming around the city to look for a nice restaurant. We planned to try Kinabuch's woodworm but sadly it's no longer available. Since 3 in our group already tried eating in LPP's restaurant when they arrived, they told us that the food was great. so we ended up having our dinner in LPP. based on the review i read from here, the Cordon Bleu is a must try dish, so that's what i had. my friends ordered chopsuey, Shrimp in Sour Soup, Seafood Soup and a Beef Dish, all of them served warm and mouth watering. just a tip, since they will be serving the food fresh, order your meals 30mins or more before your planned meal time.After our dinner we had a bottle of beer in their mini bar, as shown in the pic. we look so tired because of the whole day tour we had.
over all, Liberty Park Pension is a nice place to stay in PPS. i will surely go back and stay here!

  • Liked — Customer Service
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RBAstig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2009

I am torn as to how to properly rate this hotel. The hotel itself is average; however, the staff and service is above average.

The room itself is more than big enough for 2 people and was kept clean and I honestly think that it should cost more than the $20/night that it cost us. My only complaint is that they don't have a hairdryer and that you cannot control the water temperature; hence, I always feel like I'm boiling myself whenever I take a shower.

The restaurant on-site was very convenient and offers reasonable prices. The servers were always friendly and polite. The hotel staff really bends over backward to make sure that you have a pleasant stay. They booked the daytours we took and made a point of calling us once the tour company shows up instead of us waiting for the tour guides.

The only problem happened towards the end of our stay. Although roundtrip airport transfer was included in the price, they cannot get hold of their driver on the morning of our departure so they ended up calling a tricycle driver to drop us off at the airport! The staff was very apologetic about this and they paid for our tricycle ride. It was actually kind of fun arriving at the airport in style :)

The overall experience with Liberty Park Pension is pleasant and I will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Hot shower
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2008

Options for luxury hotels within Puerto Princesa are limited. There is now a steady growth in the number of apartelles and inns. Liberty Park Pension is one of the latest additions. It is in a quite residential area about 3 minutes from the main road.

The rooms, while spartan, are very clean. The sheets smelled of fresh detergent. There was not a single roach at all!

The toilet is average sized and just the usual. It comes with an overhead heater, however, the water pressure was not as strong a I would have liked it.

Service was very good. The staff was very attentive to all requests. Room service (yes, there's room service in this little place) was quick!

Breakfast was the only meal we had there. It was nothing great.

All in all, the place has a lot of potential. Oh did I mention that they have a spanking new service van?

  • Liked — The staff exceeded all service level expectations
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shelley_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANILA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

This is an almost-2 year old inn. The staff are friendly, helpful and knows just about everything else in Palawan! The rates are cheap (when you compare them in Manila) but the amenities are good. THEIR FOOD IS THE BEST IN PUERTO PRINCESA! Remember to order the Chicken Cordon Bleu, Carbonara, Burger Steak, Italian style seafood soup, Slice Beef with Cream Sauce...and just about everything else on the menu! Believe you me, we'd rather eat here after we had tried Kinabuch's and KaLui's....the food prices are VERY REASONABLE considering the servince sizes that they have.....they have Filipino, American and European dishes....They will pick you up from the airport and take you there as well! Airport is only 5 minutes away.... You can ask the front desk to book you for reservations in the local restaurants and tours (ask for Ellen's Travel & Tours!). When I get back to Puerto Princesa, Liberty's the place!

  • Liked — Simple...But everything you need on an adventure travel
  • Disliked — Nothing....
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MJMSASAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2008

We stayed at Liberty Park Pension for 4days (April11-14,2008). The experience was absolutely magnificent....from pickup and drop off to and from the airport; its accomodations, employees, service, settings and ambiance; its foods and prices. This hotel will just turn its second year this 1 October, but everything and everyone are so professionals...as if they were on that industry for such long period of time. Not only that...Jennylyn Mercado and Christian Bautista has once became their guests already....brand new place...not known for its name yet...yet had biggest star guests already.

The hotel uses luxury vans to pickup and drop off their guests to and from the airport which is just 5minutes away. Employees are so accomodating that they will not allow you to touch your luggages..all you need to do is get into th van, relax, watch town's scenery, step off then get into your own room. They are so courteus...never did they wait for any tip for hand carrying your luggages. Rooms are very clean and well equiped. Airconditioning can turn your room as if you are in Alaska. But don't worry, heater is available anytime.

On our first two nights there, we had dinner at Kinabuch and KaLui...
those are among the well-recommended restaurants that we read over the Internet. Sad to say but the food at Liberty Pension is Nth times better than the said restaurants. Why? because of food's tastes, presentations, preparations and its prices. Would you believe that a beef sliced as big as a saucer, more than an inch thick, cooked in an Italian way and has a serving which is good for two will only cost you PHP160??? Hard to believe and imagine...but yes it's true...believe it or not. Must try among their menus are: carbonnara, seafood pizzza, mixed seafood soup, fish lumpia, everything under "beef" menu and their breakfast meals. As what I've said, foods are inexpensive but mouthwatering...cooked in Filipino and Italian ways. Everyone can dine-in or eat out to their restaurant...guests and people from different locations.

If you are planning for underground river, honda bay/island hopping, city tours and dolphin watching during your stay in Palawan...I recommend for Ellen's Travel and Tours...just inquire at Liberty Park Pension's front desk.

If you want a quiet, safe, affordable hotel and foods in Palawan...i strongly recommend for Liberty Park Pension....employees care for their guest's safety. Just a short add-on...they can give you a free hours of extension on your stay...for very reasonable reasons only.

To the owner, crews and employees of Liberty Park Pension....you don't know how you all became part of our summer getaway...it was an experience that was so great and unforgettable. You all made an impression that Palawan is a must iterinary for out of towns...that Palawan is a safe and great place to visit...that Palawenos are the greatest people for me. Keep it up, guys! Keep reaching for perfection of your duties, resonsibilities and service to your guests! Keep touching their hearts and mind!

I rate your hotel, crews/employees, service and standards...if 10 as highest or perfect....I'll choose 12...because everything there and everyone there are extremely above what I expected

  • Liked — foods, employees/crews
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank yohannesasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
1.1 mi away
Palawan Village Hotel
Palawan Village Hotel
#28 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lola Itang Pension House and Restaurant
Lola Itang Pension House and Res...
#29 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
60 reviews
1.3 mi away
A&A Plaza Hotel
A&A Plaza Hotel
#49 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Go Hotels Puerto Princesa
Go Hotels Puerto Princesa
#21 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
268 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grande Vista Hotel
Grande Vista Hotel
#46 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
44 reviews
1.0 mi away
Puerto Pension
Puerto Pension
#19 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Park Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Park Pension

Property: Liberty Park Pension
Address: 34 Liberty Rd | Brgy Maunlad, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Liberty Park Pension 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Park Pension is a well established hotel in Puerto Princesa, Palawan with spacious and quality accommodations. Its location near the city center lets you get around easily, a 5-10 minute ride Puerto Princesa International Airport. All of their rooms are equipped with air-conditioner, cabled TV, intercom, and private toilet and bath. Some of their facilities include a rooftop bar and restaurant, high-speed Internet access (public areas and some rooms, a fitness room, and massage service. While staying here you can visit some tourist spots like Subterranean River National Park, Honda Bay, and Palawan Wildlife Rescue and Conservation Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Liberty Park Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Park Pension Hotel Puerto Princesa
Liberty Park Hotel
Liberty Park Pension Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing