We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We never actually got to stay, but....!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Niko's Cabanas & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Princesa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Niko's Cabanas & Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We never actually got to stay, but....!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We arrived at the Hotel late evening aftre recieving our email Confirmation from a well-known on-line Agency, (not Tripadvisor). When we arrived the hotel was unaware of us and had no rooms available. HOWEVER, the Receptionist not only gave us a welcoming drink and found us another hotel with availability in Puerto Princesa but she arranged for the Nikos mini-bus to take us all the way back into town!
With that kind of service how can anyone go wrong with Nikos Cabanas? We were both very, very impressed!
We would like to comment on Nikos Cabanas further but maybe next time....!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkieSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    28
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
25
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guam
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

First of all, I want to say that Niko's Cabanas is great provincial hotel. The grounds are well kept up. The staff is friendly. We enjoyed the pool and the rooms are spacious and very clean. The bathrooms are modern, and the showers have hot water heaters. It is a wonderful oasis to unwind and relax. It is, however, a bit far from town. This does not really matter if you are in Puerto to do the usual tours as the travel agency will pick you up at the hotel. If you are on your own, however, you can use the hotel van and driver for Php400 round trip or you can walk to the highway and wave down a tricycle (less than 5 minute walk). The one drawback for some may be the restaurant. The breakfasts, which are included in the room price, are typical Filipino fare, which is what we are used to, but they are often “out” of many items. We also had an unusual occurrence when we tried to order a side of tapa. We were told it can only come with breakfast, and when we tried to explain in both Tagalog and English that we already had two breakfasts and we only wanted the additional tapa, we still received a third complete breakfast. Puerto Princesa has so many great restaurants that we only ate breakfast at the hotel, and would have done so anyway, as we had plans to eat at several other places. In conclusion, I think that most would really enjoy a stay at Niko’s, as long as you realize it is not in town and the restaurant choices are limited.

Room Tip: Get a suite, they are big and worth the small additional price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
485 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

The best part of our stay was Buds! He was an amazing host, very friendly, and spoke good English. He followed up with our itinerary, scheduled our tours and vans, and was very accommodating and kind. He was the best part!

The room was clean and nice; however, like others have mentioned: over the weekend the pool is taken over by local teens. Beside our room was a rooster who made lots of noise way before we were ready to wake up.

Beds were comfy...AC was great...TV was there but didn't work at all...so why have the TV?

One downside is that the hotel was a bit far away from the action...so you always had to pay to go to the restaurants and the tours...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dianah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

It is beyond me why this hotel has been ranked 4 on trip advisor..............
To be honest here you get what you pay for but it really is nothing special.
rooms are ok and basic, the food is ok and basic and the staff are polite but so laid back they are just about horizontal.
if there is no were is that you can get in Niko's cabanas is an alternative.

Room Tip: It is a long way out of town!! so expect to pay 100Piso for a 1 way trip into town
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trays93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We loved our stay at Niko's.

There was 10 adults and one child in our group so we took up 5 of the rooms, they only have 9, so we had most of the place to ourselves. With such a big group we thought we would go with the tour package they offer, we did package B and it was the best thing we did. Everyone in our group was very happy with the package, the price was fantastic and the service was great. Great tour guides, transfers and tours. The food at Niko's was beautiful, I do not eat seafood so it can be a bit annoying when most of the food is seafood, but the staff were very happy to make me something different without any problems. The only problem we had was the tour includes one night out for dinner to a seafood place, there was not one thing I could eat, actually there was a few of us that did not like it, not only was it seafood but it was fancy food like seaweed and not the normal things that Aussies are used to eating. When we got back to Niko's we compained and without hesitation he offered to make us food, it was amazing.

It was also someone in our groups birthday, the beautiful staff there went and got a cake for me, (which i paid for of course) and brought it out for us, not a hassel, they also did not ask for any money for going to get it for me as it was from a store.

It is out of the main city, but for only 400Php return the Niko's crew will take you to town and pick you up when ever you want and the city is not that cool anyways.

The rooms are clean, large and do not have that dirtry damp smell that most do in the Philippines. The only problem we had to complain about was the loud roosters, the ones in the distance are fine, but there was one that seemed super close, so in the morning I went for a look around and noticed that right behind my room there were two in a box and one on a chain. After I complained I never heard them close again, I think they moved them straight away to behind the pool area. So the next few morning I could sleep in, in peace. They crow all day long though, very odd roosters. Free WiFi in the yard, but not in the rooms, which is fine, just step out on your balcony and bam you have WiFi.

We also found that the staff entered our rooms just after we checked in and then left for a tour straight away and turned off the air cons. We mentioned we were not happy about this and from what we could tell it did not happen again.

Drinks are cheap, Beers 50php, food around 200php and good quality we found. As it's only a small place they do run out of food and stock a bit, it's all very laid back, as Aussies we love that so Niko's gets the Thumbs up from us.

Highly recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mshelzy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

What a nice little place - well maintained pool and luxurious rooms in cabins set around a courtyard with little huts you could sit in and a small restaurant off to one side. We were welcomed with iced tea as we walked in and check-in was immediate and no-fuss - perfect after the long van ride from El Nido. Staff were kind and helpful. Family atmosphere with kiddies having fun in the pool. Was very calm and enjoyable. One drawback is it's far from town centre and difficult to find transport at night (although staff were very helpful when we requested it!). Hot hot water was much appreciated after weeks of backpacking round Asia.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ng7181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
136 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

The premises were generally clean and rooms were spacious. Facilities were OK, not too bad on the comfort stakes. Pool was tiny, and not too clean though...

The staff were however a pretty mixed bunch. There were some who were generally pretty friendly and helpful. However, we had a couple of not-too-pleasant experiences. One was when we had gone to Baker's Hill and asked for transport both ways (they charge PHP400 for a return trip). The driver was an hour late in picking us up (and we were left standing at the entrance like fools), because he had "been told to send another group to town before coming for us, and they have only one van"--and they never bothered to inform us that they would be late. Another time, the wife and I wanted a dip in the pool, and the two cleaners who were cleaning the area around the pool were just leering at her all the time. We left the pool after 5 minutes.

Location is also so-so. It is in a peaceful neighbourhood, since it is some distance from town (when getting back from town, we had to flag 4 tricycles before someone knew where Nikos Cabanas was at, even though we had written down the address and showed it to them), but still a reasonable 20-minute ride away by tricycle.

Overall, it is a rather average place. Nothing too fantastic, but bearable on the whole.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelvinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
1.5 mi away
Panja Resort Palawan
Panja Resort Palawan
#15 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
4.2 mi away
Liberty Park Pension
Liberty Park Pension
#33 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
2.1 mi away
Citystate Asturias Hotel
Citystate Asturias Hotel
#23 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
A&A Plaza Hotel
A&A Plaza Hotel
#43 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
3.4 mi away
Puerto Pension
Puerto Pension
#13 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.4 mi away
Canvas Boutique Hotel
Canvas Boutique Hotel
#2 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niko's Cabanas & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niko's Cabanas & Restaurant

Property: Niko's Cabanas & Restaurant
Address: Rodriguez Road | Barangay San Jose, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The serene location is an invitation to comfort and leisure. This is a great place for rest, relaxation or a point of departure to the many attractions Palawan has to offer. Niko's attention to relaxing detail and modern comfort is evident in its spacious rooms. All rooms are equipped with air-conditioner, cable tv, refrigerator, private bath with hot/cold water. A soothing swimming pool set amidst wild grass and coconut palms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Niko`s Cabanas & Restaurant Hotel Puerto Princesa
Niko`s Cabanas And Restaurant
Nikos Cabanas Hotel
Nikos Cabanas Puerto Princesa
Niko's Cabanas & Restaurant Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing