We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Niko's Cabanas & Restaurant
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Reviewed June 15, 2011

First 3 nights in Palawan were at Nikos. Large rooms, good food and service good. The pool was a winner for the kids. Although out of town it was close by hotel van (ps200) ar motor rickshaw (50-100). The tours to Honda Bay will pick up and drop off. A couple of good restaurants about 1km down the road, one Korean and one Vietnamese. Enjoyed the first stay so stayed again for 1 more night waiting for flight out.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TassiePat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 90 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2011

This is a very recommendable place to stay is Puerto Princesa. Though it's a little far from the city center or "bayan" but it's okay because the place is quite and peaceful. Very clean and spacious rooms and good ambiance. They also have very good staff, they are all accommodating to all your needs and questions. All I can say is we all have fun in staying at Niko's Cabanas.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fuchima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

For those on a budget trip, but still seek for high quality service and accommodation, staying at Niko's Cabanas would definitely be a wise choice. Its simplicity,cleanliness, tranquility and homely atmosphere is really a refreshing contrast to the busy city life that we vacationers try to escape from. Moreover, aside from the comfy rooms and relaxing atmosphere, the tour packages (which includes various tourist hot spots in Palawan such as the Underground River and Snake Island) and food served by Niko's Cabanas would surely fulfill your Palawan trip...the staff here really knows how to showcase the city's best offerings!

Tip:
-Be sure to workout before going here 'cause they serve really great food!
-Never forget to set an alarm or ask for a wake-up call or you'll miss the whole fun
-Don't expect high-speed internet service.

Many thanks to Rushelle and staff for making our stay in Palawan a pleasant experience and to Ka Val who inquired us about the Iglesia ni Cristo in Palawan.


- Fil and Cora Mendoza and Family

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmdm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Stayed for 3N, 4D with 3 other friends. Service and staff was good. If we were around the Cantina area, staff would ask us what we wanted for breakfast the next morning. Despite this, our orders were wrong a couple times, but they gladly corrected the order when we mentioned it.
Our room was adequate with 2 beds. The room seemed a bit outdated and the bathroom was small, but had everything we needed, although the shower water pressure was low.
Staff organized our tours and even got a driver to take us to Honda Bay when our excursion was decided last minute.
We want to especially thank the driver, Kuya Val. He was more than a driver to us. He told us the best restaurants and ways to get around the city using local transportation. He looked out for us and made sure we were taken care of. Even haggled the tricycle price down when the tricycle driver wanted more than what we should have been paying. He even waited at the airport for 3 hours when our flight was delayed arriving from Manila.
Thanks Kuya Val!
Our stay in general was good. Quiet area, friendly staff and nice little look of the cabanas.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelbug1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Nico cabanas 
my girlfriend, her parents and myself stayed here on one of their 4nights/3days, all-inclusive packages. this package included accommodation, food, and 2 and a half (day) tours. 
the rooms were very good. clean, big and with comfortable beds. 
the swimming pool area was a welcome rest stop after full day tours and was itself spotlessly clean - they could maybe change the patio chairs for a few more sun-loungers but if, like me you spend more time in the pool that out it doesn't really matter. 
the staff couldn't have been more helpful (I've never been called 'sir' so much in my life!).
the tours (underground river, honda bay, city tour) were really nice, organised with an external agency. at times they felt a little hurried and some of the 'stops' (eg the cheapest souvenir shop in puerta princesa) weren't exactly needed while others (city cathedral) might have been worth stopping at, but overall they were good. 
the food was good. for me the only downside was that you couldn't choose what you wanted. at the same time it was all nice. one great thing about the food on this package was that we were taken to what is know as 'possibly the best restaurant in Palawan' (kahlui) and it was fantastic - fresh and just plain different. 
if there was a single problem it was getting and paying for our booking. nikos required us to pay 25% of the total bill by bank transfer in Philippine Pesos. this turned out to be a little tricky as some banks don't allow you transfer in this currency. thankfully we were able to do through a UK bank but were charged £20 for doing it and then the charge at the Philippine end was deducted from our bill. all in all we lost £40, to transfer about £100. 
just something to remember - nikos do not accept any credit cards. cash only for this place but you can pay in pesos or us dollars.
would I recommend this to other people? definitely yes. if, like ourselves, you've arrived after flying for quite a while and don't want the hassle of actually having to do anything and also want a relaxing few days before getting into the 'real travelling' then this is an excellent starting point. out of 10 I'd give this about 8

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karnold2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

This hotel is 15 minutes from town and up a dirt road. We arrived late from Manila.
The hotel staff were welcoming and the room was nice. We had dinner there and it was fine. However, getting around town and seeing things was a bit time consuming from this remote location. Remoteness also brings quiet except for the roosters. The rooms only have 2 full size beds but have aircon, nice bath with hot water. TV is decent but wireless internet is weak. Breakfast is included and is fine.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigjim001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

I would like to thank Rushelle and staff for a great accomidating stay before and after my liveaboard dive trip. All my emails were politely answered in response and an AC van pickup was made available at the pier after my divetrip.Nikos is about 15 minutes outside Puerto Princess on the National highway and about 500m off that which makes for a quiet place to relax,enjoy a welcome drink and lounge by the waterfall pool.Tour excursions to the Underwater caverns, Honda Bay Island hopping which is close by and fun or massage therapy were handled courteously. The Cantina provided great food,drink and conversations. Rooms were niceley appointed and the all important AC and hot water shower was nice.Grounds are neat and well cared for with security present after dark for increased comfort level..Any transportation needs were met on time as requested.It was nice that immediate response from Rushelle made my decision to stay there easy when other places did not respond. It was nice to be known right away by name when I arrived. When the new Robinson Mall is completed more fine dining and shopping is a couple of kilometers away.Definately would stay again.Thanks for having me at Nikos

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sportdiver15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
3.8 mi away
Filigans Hotel
Filigans Hotel
#40 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
6 reviews
4.5 mi away
Munting Paraiso
Munting Paraiso
#20 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
37 reviews
4.9 mi away
Casa Mila Inn
Casa Mila Inn
#25 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Panja Resort Palawan
Panja Resort Palawan
#14 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
72 reviews
4.2 mi away
Liberty Park Pension
Liberty Park Pension
#42 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
32 reviews
3.2 mi away
A&A Plaza Hotel
A&A Plaza Hotel
#48 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niko's Cabanas & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niko's Cabanas & Restaurant

Address: Rodriguez Road | Barangay San Jose, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Price Range: $40 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The serene location is an invitation to comfort and leisure. This is a great place for rest, relaxation or a point of departure to the many attractions Palawan has to offer. Niko's attention to relaxing detail and modern comfort is evident in its spacious rooms. All rooms are equipped with air-conditioner, cable tv, refrigerator, private bath with hot/cold water. A soothing swimming pool set amidst wild grass and coconut palms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Niko's Cabanas & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niko`s Cabanas And Restaurant
Niko`s Cabanas & Restaurant Hotel Puerto Princesa
Nikos Cabanas Hotel
Nikos Cabanas Puerto Princesa
Niko's Cabanas & Restaurant Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing