We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not suitable for first-time travelers/tourists to Puerto Princesa”
Review of Astoria Palawan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astoria Palawan
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Why?

1. It's far & they don't offer free hotel transfers. It's a 90-minute van ride from the airport/city proper where most of the tours (e.g. Underground River, city tour, etc.) take place.

Other downsides:

2. Beach is not yet fully 'operational'. You CAN'T SWIM & WALK on the beach, yet. Maybe next year, staff says.

3. You can do kayaking for a fee (P350/pax)! This should have been given as a freebie because we can't go the beach & there's nothing much to do inside the hotel/resort due to the on-going construction of other amenities.

4. There's too much insects flying (& biting!) so be prepared to bring & apply mosquito repellant esp. In the dining area called The Reserve. We thought it was due to those boats holding the lights over the tables that are attracting the insects!

5. No nightlife. Again, because it's far from the city.

Redeeming factors:

1. Refreshing, picturesque infinity pool (divided into three: 2.5 ft-deep jacuzzi, 4 ft. adult pool, 2ft kiddie pool)

2. Big rooms with 2 queen beds; retro-styled/theme interiors

3. Attentive service staff from the lifeguard to the dining area crew (2 thumbs up!)

4. Delightful & reasonably priced food tho' choices were limited

5. Future amenities like the kiddie water park, which my kids have already set their eyes on next summer.


Other reminders for future guests:

1. While their rooms have 2 large queen beds, please be sure that you're booking the correct number of adult & child guests. Because even if you can all fit inside the room & the beds, they will charge you extra if your reservation doesn't indicate so.

2. A hotel van can accommodate only 6 persons & will cost you P2,800/way. It's higher compared to honest & efficient van drivers cum-tourist guides charge. You will find them right outside the airport. We got ours @ P2.5k/way for a van that accommodated 11 of us (7 adults, 4 kids).

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
16  Thank Sofia_Helena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Public Relations Manager at Astoria Palawan, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2015

Dear Sofia,

Thank you for your entry last July 24, 2014 on your stay at Astoria Palawan. The management truly appreciates you taking the time to write about what you liked and what you did not about our resort.

Your kind words describing the service our staff is a testament to our commitment to giving nothing but the best. Your comments will definitely be read by all our staff to further motivate them to provide excellent service.

We have also taken note of your comments regarding the lack of transfers, the construction of our other amenities or lack thereof, and your problems with insects in the dining area. Rest assured we will make them known to the Resort Manager so we can take appropriate measures to correct them.

As a senior contributor for Trip Advisor, We are thrilled to be one of the properties to have merited a four star review. Again, our sincere thanks and we assure you that we will continuously improve our facilities to better serve you in the future.

We hope to welcome you back to Astoria Palawan.

Sincerely,

John A. Tanjangco
Corporate Branding, Creatives & PR Head
Astoria Hotels and Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 242 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014

A few days for a quick break away from Manila, lovely new hotel complex, friendly and professional staff, great rooms, lovely pool and good food, only the weather put a dampener on it but better than the typhoon in Manila. staff organised a day trip out to the Underground River at St Paul bay well run and organised. Prices are at the top end but is a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kojomenu62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Public Relations Manager at Astoria Palawan, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2015

Dear Kojomenu62,

The management of Astoria Palawan would like to thank you for your view posted on July 19, 2014. We take great pride that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully with the weather being a little better.

If there is anything else you would like for us to improve, please let us know at
jtanjangco@astoriahotelsandresorts.com


Sincerely,

John A. Tanjangco
Corporate Branding, Creatives & PR Head
Astoria Hotels and Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Sixty two kms. or an hour and quarter away from Puerto Princessa, Palawan. Astoria is the new resort in Puerto P. I decided to bring the family and got the 1 bedroom suite. The staff was great though still in the improvement stage since the resort just opened two months ago as of this writing. Check in time was 2pm. They allowed us to be checked in by 10am since we arrived too early. The room was spacious with a fully functional kitchen where you can cook. It also has two TVs and a huge bathroom occupying almost a quarter of the floor area. You can see the beach from your bedroom and living room and the pool is just a stone's throw away. Food is great and starts at $5 per meal. Some even at $3. YOu can reach this place via rented van at $60 one way or take public transportation ( van going to San Rafael ) at $2.30 per head. I chose the latter. At night you can hear the wildlife ( not the human kind ) and the beach head stretches 300 meters at low tide. Having said that. The beach isn't white sand.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank saxisip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Public Relations Manager at Astoria Palawan, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2015

Dear saxisip,

Thank you for your review on Astoria Palawan submitted on June 20, 2014. We are happy that you found our services to your liking despite the resort being relatively new. Rest assured we are going to constantly improve to provide top notch hospitality and service.

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. If there is anything else you would like us to improve you can reach us at jtanjangco@astoriahotelsandresorts.com.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Astoria Palawan.

Sincerely,

John A. Tanjangco
Corporate Branding, Creatives & PR Head
Astoria Hotels and Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Astoria Palawan, although at it’s soft opening, impressively provided us with comfort, tranquility, bliss and a very strong sense of nature that is more sufficient than what we were expecting. While we can speak highly about the overall quality of the facilities we enjoyed here (well designed room, infinity pool, relatively fast internet connection, food…) we particularly highlight the courtesy and good intentions of all staff that assisted us. It is very noticeable that they are well mannered and professionally trained. They understand customer needs and anticipates it whenever possible.

Astoria appointed Island Getaway to take care of our travels around Puerto Princesa and we were not disappointed. Maricel and Rael represented Astoria and their agency so well that we highly recommend this “riding in tandem” tour guide to family and friends who will visit Palawan in the future.

We were able to enjoy Astoria Palawan because of the timeshare we bought a year ago. Comparing this purchase and the posted price of the accommodation at this resort, the math simply indicates that this timeshare is worth it. Plus, the discount on meals as part of the entitlement is well appointed. We were able to save roughly USD 1,000.00 worth of accommodation this year and I would never complain on an exquisite meal for 3 at less than USD 20.00

We are happy to enjoy the worth of our Astoria membership and we look forward to more of Astoria Palawan in the future and the rest of Astoria properties that we are entitled to experience.

Note:

San Raphael is quite far from the city proper of Puerto Princesa. Astoria is for those who wants seclusion and it is an ideal place "just to stay." Arranging for travel through the hotel may be costly but exclusive for the arranging party. An option is to arrange for Puerto Princesa tour before coming to San Rafael. This also includes securing permit for the underground river days before the desired date of visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimbo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Public Relations Manager at Astoria Palawan, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2015

Dear obmijnasnauj,

Thank you for taking time to write about Astoria Palawan. We are very pleased that you found our staff to be well mannered and professionally trained. We remain committed to providing excellent service in all of our properties so that you are able to maximize and enjoy your club membership.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Astoria Palawan or any of our other properties in Ortigas, Boracay, and Bohol.

Sincerely,

John A. Tanjangco
Corporate Branding, Creatives & PR Head
Astoria Hotels and Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

From start to finish, I cannot find fault with Astoria Palawan. The staff, service, food, everything is perfect. If you love relaxing, being treated like royalties without pretentiousness, experiencing service like none other, natural beauty, incredible facilities, the warmest hospitality and a place where your worries simply disappear, then this is the place for you! What more can I say about this place. It is pure Paradise! Just go there and enjoy every penny you'll be spending!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DhelAguilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Public Relations Manager at Astoria Palawan, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2015

Dear DhelAguilar,

Thank you for your wonderful review for Astoria Palawan last June 19, 2014. We are thrilled to know that you found your paradise with us. We will make sure to continue improving our services to better serve you and other future guests.

We look forward to your next stay at Astoria Palawan.

Sincerely,

John A. Tanjangco
Corporate Branding, Creatives & PR Head
Astoria Hotels and Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Great service. a relaxing stay..my home away from home experience! Staying in a resort like this give me inner peace, truly a stress reliever. Makes me want to come back and stay a few days more.. this time with my family or special someone.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edchua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Public Relations Manager at Astoria Palawan, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2015

Dear Ed,

Thank you for your review submitted on June 13, 2014. We are very happy that you were able to relax and feel right at home during your stay. It gives us great motivation to continue to provide excellent service and a relaxing stay for all our guests.

As we are continuously upgrading the resort, your next stay with us will surely be more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Astoria Palawan.

Sincerely,

John A. Tanjangco
Corporate Branding, Creatives & PR Head
Astoria Hotels and Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I did not expect to see a very modern, yet rustic resort in Puerto Princesa like Astoria Palawan. The rooms are big and the colors they used for the beddings are happy colors like yellow, orange, blue which was a nice touch to the all-white wall of the rooms. It was so nice that I hardly left my room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Public Relations Manager at Astoria Palawan, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2015

Dear Kevin,

Thank you for your review on Astoria Palawan posted on June 13, 2014. We are delighted that you were very happy with our vibrant and spacious rooms. We really want our guests to feel that charming and unspoiled Palawan lifestyle whenever they stay with us.

We are continuing to upgrade our facilities to make your next stay even more enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back to Astoria Palawan.

Sincerely,

John A. Tanjangco
Corporate Branding, Creatives & PR Head
Astoria Hotels and Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
21.9 mi away
Princesa Garden Island Resort & Spa
Princesa Garden Island Resort & ...
#9 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
509 reviews
22.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Ho...
#6 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
279 reviews
15.4 mi away
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
#7 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
527 reviews
18.8 mi away
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princ...
#5 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
752 reviews
15.3 mi away
Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Palawan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Palawan

Address: Km. 62, North National Highway | Barangay San Rafael, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range: $74 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Astoria Palawan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Astoria Palawan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Palawan Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing